We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very classy B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Stoneborough House staying in the Wisteria room. We had a very pleasant stay, the breakfasts were superb and even the weather behaved for a few hours allowing us to walk the path along the river to Otterton. The furniture and soft furnishings in the house are first class. Well done to the owners, they have worked hard to make this a very comfortable place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Goldfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed here on several occassions and will definately go back again, the decor is first class throughout and the presentation, quality and choices on the breakfast menu is superb. Catherine and George are really nice people, they are very welcoming and friendly which really does enhance your stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here in The Wisteria room just before Christmas 2013 for 2 nights. Very very comfortable large bedroom and lovely ensuite. Extremely well furnished and decorated throughout the whole house. Excellent breakfasts with homemade marmalades and jam. We can confirm that the website description of breakfasts as "includes a spectacular platter of seasonal fruit, freshly made porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, as well as, of course, the option of a 'full English'." is fully justified as we sampled all of this and it was great.
A lovely 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourists-from-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

It occurs to us that the way Stoneborough House is run, is a simple lesson in how to present the perfect B&B. Extremely comfortable, very tastefully furnished and with so many thoughtful touches.
Kathryn is warm, charming and helpful. Breakfast, chosen the night before, is all you could want. It's within 15/20 minutes of Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lympstone etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but on this occasion we got the last available room, a twin. Slept very well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife has always said " why stay somewhere that's not as good as home" - well Stoneborough exceeds in just about every way - beautiful furniture, decor,a lot of space, clean,fresh, stately rooms - tea and cake on arrival much appreciated after 6 hours in the car - and finally a wonderful breakfast - a warm welcome, without fault.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We received a warm welcome on our arrival and shown around this lovely house.
Bedroom very nice, bed very comfortable. Breakfasts delicious with varied selection complete with homemade produce. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Hosts very hospitable.A treasure in a beautiful part of the world. No shower in the room we had unfortunately, however I believe there were showers in other rooms. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

i was greeted by Kathryn who was warm and welcoming,my room was the wisteria room with a kingsize very comfortable bed,tea and coffee and china teacups biscuits and water.the ensuite had a bath not shower but not a problem for me.
breakfast was a good selection of quality products,i chose the full English the night before and it was lovely.the homemade jams and marmalade was a lovely touch.
a very elegant house with lovely areas for guests to relax in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budleigh Salterton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Syon House Hotel
Syon House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#5 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21A East Budleigh Road, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range: $135 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneborough House is a fine Edwardian home situated within walking distance of Budleigh Salterton town, the Otter Estuary and the sea front which forms part of the Jurassic Coast. We offer three elegantly furnished, very comfortable en-suite bedrooms, two doubles and a twin. We also have a beautiful large guest sitting room and a stunning conservatory overlooking the garden. There is ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneborough House Bed And Breakfast Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing