We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserved 5 Star status”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deserved 5 Star status”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My large well appointed room had the most comfortable bed and duvet, an ensuite bathroom and all the little touches that oozed quality and care. It had a conservatory-type extension and overlooked right onto the beautiful gardens and the beach. Rosemary and Humfrey are great hosts and they deserve all the 5 Star ratings that they receive. I've travelled around the World and when you combine good weather with this location and a quality B&B, Britain cannot be bettered. Is there anything that the new hosts can improve on for next year? Yes - I think the conservatory area which covers the seafront bedrooms needs a proper partition wall rather than a thick curtain - if that was done then Pebbles would be worth 6 Stars.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lighthouse has an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
146
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really can't add more to all the other stellar reviews already here. Outstanding B and B, obviously the innkeepers put their heart and soul into this. Not to mention their backs, they carried my extremely heavy suitcase up and down those 2 flights of stairs! We stayed on the top floor, in the sail loft, it was so clean, everything seemed new, beautiful crisp linens and a wonderful view. Left windows open to hear the sound of the waves on the beach. BS is a lovely little sea town - quite different from our home (southern California). Great visit!

Room Tip: Don't let the bathroom not being en suite dissuade you, it is steps from the bedroom door. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

An extremely welcoming, relaxing and comfortable place to stay with lovely hosts and delicious food. Our room which was at the top of the house looking out to sea was beautifully presented and extremely comfortable. We weren't surprised to find out at breakfast that the other guests, who had all been before, had booked for 3 or more nights we just wished we had too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemma110011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Recently sayed at Pebbes for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. The welome from Rosemary and Humphrey was lovely. We stayed in the Boathouse room with conservatory and private bathroom across the landing and just for our own use. The room was large and spotless clean. The bed was so comfy with top quality linen and big feather pillows. There was a good selection at breakfast which included Rosemary's homemade bread and marmalade. We had full English breakfast and I had smoked haddock and scrambled eggs one morning and all were cooked to perfection.
This was our first visit to Budleigh Salterton and Pebbles but will definately not be our last, looking forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found this little gem via Alistair Sawday's website, and read Trip adviser reviews before going, so we had pretty high hopes before we arrived and we were certainly not disappointed. Rosemary and Humfrey are excellent hosts, the rooms are spotlessly clean, and well decorated and the beds are incredibly comfortable. A special mention for the lovely pillows and crisp linen! We were incredibly lucky with the weather, and it was wonderful to leave the windows wide open and enjoy the sight and sound of the beach, a pebble's throw away from the conservatory/balcony of our 1st floor room.

Breakfast is served at a communal table, and is a great way to get to know the other guests and share ideas for days out and things to do. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and the wonderful homemade bread meant the diet was trashed for the weekend!

Budleigh Salterton itself is a quiet town, and most shops are closed on Sundays. Maybe it was a little early in the season, but we were surprised to be the only customers in the restaurant we chose for the Friday evening, and noticed that it was closed before 9pm on the Saturday. Having said that, there are several good places to eat in the town, both pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Lighthouse' and could not fault it for comfort, and the amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Came here with my fiance and mum a week before our wedding so that we could have a few days of pre wedding relaxation. We hired the sail loft (one double & one twin) so that we had the whole floor to ourselves. It was fabulous, what a location! The view from the main bedroom looked straight out onto the beach, simply beautiful. We had delicious homemade cake and biscuits on arrival, terrible for the wedding waistline but irresistible. The couple who run this place are lovely and have put a lot of thought and detail into making your stay comfortable. They were so accommodating, I needed to have my wedding hair trial and it was no problem to have it in the room. They even gave us a card and some yummy locally made chocs when we left, which was so kind (the chocs were so good too!!) We learned that they are handing it over soon and we only hope that the new people run it as well. The whole place is absolutely spotless too. Breakfast in the conservatory was delicious, loved the smoked fish with scrambled eggs. They used hot pebbles to keep the toast warm, genius! The place is the perfect balance between cosy, homely and luxury. The garden is THE place to be on a summers day and it leads straight down on to the beach. Not a single fault. A wonderful, peaceful and unique stay. Thank you. I could go on but I'd recommended just booking and experiencing the place for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A return visit for us.
As you pulled into the drive you felt the tranquility of Pebbles wash over you.
Pebbles is conveniently located in the centre of Budleigh Salterton so park your car and explore. We spent a day exploring by buses and trains. Humfrey and Rosemary kindly printed off all the necessary timetables etc for us. In the evening go for a stroll along the promenade, then return to the luxurious rooms, enjoy the sea views from your room then have an exhilarating shower, relax in the wonderful robes then slip between the smooth Egyptian cotton sheets to be lulled to sleep by the waves breaking on the beach.
In the morning be woken by the smell of fresh bread wafting up the stairs. Whether you want the full English for breakfast or prefer something lighter you'll be tempted by the homemade yoghurt, muesli and marmalade.
If you're looking for a quality place to stay with good food, comfort and views to die for then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.4 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 16 Fore Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BED AND BREAKFAST BY THE BEACH!! Set just a few feet from the famous beach at Budleigh Salterton with panoramic East Devon sea and coastal views from each of the bedrooms. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea, stunning sea views while eating your breakfast, Pebbles really is 'Bed and Breakfast by the Beach!' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Pebbles b&b By The Beach
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing