We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical sanctuary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

There’s something very special about Pebbles. We’ve been to many B&Bs over the years and nothing compares to the perfection you find here. We were last here two years ago and it just gets better.
The ‘basics’ are superb: wonderful location with sea views, welcoming tea and home-made cake and delicious breakfast (the arrangement of numerous cereals in glass jars is worthy of a contemporary art gallery, as is the fresh fruit – never mind the real art throughout the building) But it’s those other many ‘extra’ touches that really have the added ‘wow’ factor: beautiful bedding, immaculate cleanliness, home-made flapjacks in your room beautifully wrapped to take home.
And then of course there is the warmth from Humfrey and Rosemary who really are ‘host and hostess with the mostest’ for whom nothing is too much trouble. This is our third time back – and certainly not our last - especially before they leave early next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabchicktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 259 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

One night was all too short to fully enjoy this wonderful setting. The accommodation at Pebbles is top notch - we were in the Boat Room, which was spotlessly clean, totally comfortable and tastefully put together, with many of the furnishings being hand made by the multi-talented hostess. The bedroom's view across the raging sea was quite spectacular - a real treat on a rough morning. Our wonderfully friendly, welcoming hosts, Hum and Rosemary, couldn't have done more for us to feel at home and make our stay enjoyable and the breakfast was just as good as we had expected, from the first wafts of freshly baked bread early in the morning to the last mouthfuls. Certainly somewhere we would love to go back again.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse and The Boathouse both look out to sea. From the bed in the Boathouse, you can sit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyinEX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Pebbles and its a fantasitc B & B, in fact calling it a B & B does not do it justice the accommodation, facilities and brilliant breakfasts are equal to those at luxury boutique hotels. Hosts Humfrey and Rosemary are amazing - so welcoming and friendly and only to happy to accommoate guest needs - in our case serving full breakfast at 7am so we could attend a Passing Out Parade at Royal Marines base in Lympstone. This is a wonderful place to stay for a few nights as so relaxing and sea views from both house, rooms and garden are breathtaking. We stayed in the Lighthouse room which was very large and airy, the bed was so very comfortable and had magnificant sea views from both room and conservatory. Budleigh Salterton is a delightful town with lovely unusal shops and some great restaurants and pubs for eating out in the evening. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Lighthouse and Boathouse rooms have magnifiicant sea views and their own conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have just spent a couple of nights at Pebbles, in the Lighthouse room, and the accommodation is excellent, and the hosts Humfrey and Rosemary are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and set in a beautiful conservatory which was light and airy and had a most wonderful view of the sea.

We had the windows open in the Lighthouse room at night and the sound of the sea on the pebble beach lulled us to sleep - bliss!

Highly recommended in every respect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Could not fault it, more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. Delightful hosts who have done, and do, everything in their power to ensure guests have a wonderful stay. Location, facilities, food, fixtures, fittings are all top quality. Can't believe some one criticised the Christian ethos in a previous review, it is a joy to have hosts who care so much for their guests. Everything has been provided to make the stay sumptuous; the quality of the linen, toiletries, beds, etc, and the attention to detail such as fresh milk for use with the tea and coffee in the rooms, choice of breakfasts etc, etc. Only disappointment is that Humphrey and Rosemary are leaving, doubt that anyone else can maintain this standard. Thank you so much, we will be back before you leave.

Room Tip: They are all great, I would be happy in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TricoWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this excellent b&b in Budleigh Salterton, Devon. We stayed in the Lighthouse bedroom which is a very light large room. It has a lovely light bathroom too. The room has a small conservatory overlooking the sea and is lovely to sit in and relax enjoying a cup of tea and one of Rosemary's lovely cakes. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.
Downstairs there's a large residents' lounge and conservatory overlooking the garden and the sea, where breakfast was served.
Breakfast was wonderful. There was a good selection of various sliced fresh fruits, homemade yoghurt, cereals and delicious cooked eggs, bacon etc. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were a great hit with my husband. A vegetarian breakfast was also on the menu. All the bread was freshly baked.
Humfrey and Rosemary were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
We have already booked for next year!!
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lighthouse room and it was lovely and bright with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very special place. We spent two nights here and wished we had arranged our trip to spend more time here. Everyone was so friendly - the fishermen with their boats on the pebble beach, the members at East Devon Golf Club and everyone we came across. rosemary and Humphrey made us feel perfectly at home and breakfasts were terrific.
The East Devon Golf Club is a must for any golfers visiting this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boat House room and were very very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.4 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
473 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Syon House Hotel
Syon House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Stoneborough House Bed and Break...
#2 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 16 Fore Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BED AND BREAKFAST BY THE BEACH!! Set just a few feet from the famous beach at Budleigh Salterton with panoramic East Devon sea and coastal views from each of the bedrooms. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea, stunning sea views while eating your breakfast, Pebbles really is 'Bed and Breakfast by the Beach!' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Pebbles b&b By The Beach
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing