We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute best !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heath Close

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heath Close
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The absolute best !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the delightful Heath Close. The house is absolutely stunning and our room (Cornwall) was just perfect with everything you could wish for but with a luxurious touch. We also had dinner both evenings, the food was fantastic and it's a long while since we've had such fresh vegetables. The surroundings in the dining room and lounge are just so relaxing, you just feel like you want to spend all evening sunk in one of the lovely squashy sofas with a glass of wine ! As for the beautiful garden, its just perfect. All of this makes for lovely surroundings to spend a lazy weekend in lovely Budleigh Salterton, but what is the icing on the cake,is the welcome you are given by Eileen and Graham, they are the nicest couple you could wish to meet, nothing is too much for them to make your stay the best ever, and their warmth and kindness will stay with us for years to come. If you are visiting this part of east Devon, you really should stay at Heath close, you will not be disappointed, it's an absolute gem.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Smiley_Happy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel for the first time . We had previously met Eileen and Graham at their previous business, The Durants ,and were therefore not surprised at the very high standard of accommodation and service which they now offered at Heath Close. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the double doors and into the spectacular entrance hall. The whole house is tastefully decorated but still offers home from home comfort whilst offering modern touches like walk in wet rooms in the bathroom and flat screen TV.

We were able to eat both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and found both to be of excellent standard .

The hotel was busy when we stayed and , unforunately, we were able to stay for only one night ; this was our loss and we shall definately return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Heath Close Budleigh Salterton and if anything it was even better than our first visit. Lovely hosts, superb clean accommodation - and the best breakfasts ever.
Combine that with good weather and a good location - what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Devon and Cornwall Rooms are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecheshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

What a great B&B!
My advice to all B&B owners in the south is to spend a couple of nights here to learn how it should be done!

Room Tip: Stayed in the 'Devon' room but reading the other reviews all the other rooms are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Why would you entrust your stay to a five star hotel when you can book into a house as luxurious as Heath Close and a couple like Eileen and Graham who care so much about their guests' welfare! Nothing was too much trouble, the house and garden are stunning, stylish and immaculate, and the welcome from Eileen and Graham (not forgetting the two cats!!) could not have been friendlier. Budleigh Salterton itself is a truly delightful seaside village and very easy to get to, and a stay there on the historic Jurassic coast is highly recommended! As for where to stay, we could not recommend Heath Close highly enough including value for money - this level of luxury and attention does not normally come cheap and is very hard to find - we won on both counts and we can honestly say that our break was absolutely faultless in every respect - thank you for looking after us so well and we shall be back!!

Room Tip: As far as we could make out all the rooms are of equal high quality- the only thing is whether you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We booked all the rooms at Heath Close for a weekend break for the whole family to get together to celebrate our special wedding anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better place! Eileen and Graham couldn't do enough for us - everything was just perfect. The chef cooked excellent meals - our grandchildren enjoyed the food so much they had extra helpings, and some of the adults did too! We were made to feel really welcome, and left knowing that we would be back!. Overall we would rate Heath Close as outstanding, and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret642555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were very well looked after. The annex was very well presented. A real shame the weather spoiled our stay. The food was very well presented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
1.3 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
3.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
5.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Close

Property: Heath Close
Address: 3 Lansdowne Road, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heath Close is a luxury 5 star bed and breakfast on the outskirts of the picturesque seaside town of Budleigh Salterton in East Devon, one of the most beautiful areas of the South West. Just a short walk from the South West Coastal path which follows the Jurassic Coast and only 15 minutes drive from J30 on the M5 at Exeter, Heath Close B and B offers stylishly furnished accommodation with 5 en-suite double and king-sized bedrooms. Owners of Heath Close B&B, Eileen and Graham Ellis extend a warm welcome to all of their guests, offering exceptional quality in terms of accommodation and food. Dinner is available on Friday and Saturday evenings for bed & breakfast guests. Dinner is on a pre-booked only basis, so don't forget to book your table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heath Close Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing