We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you dislike freezing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hof van Wageningen WICC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hof van Wageningen WICC
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you dislike freezing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at :Hof van Wageningen" in December 2012, and the issue that overshadowed everything else was the freezing cold nature of the rooms. The windows leaked a lot of the cold from outside, and the heaters were merely lukewarm so practically useless, except for an hour or two in the morning. Try to deal with this by using an extra blanket? They don't have one for you. They only had 4 extra blankets for the whole hotel, and given the cold rooms these 4 are of course always checked out. I heard from one receptionist that some desperate hotel guests had in the past asked for a bunch of towels to spread on their beds. I was pretty close to following suit. The receptionists also mentioned that they have submitted many guest complaints about the cold to the management ... but the management couldn't care less.

Given this, I frankly didn't care about any of the other features of the hotel, whether good or mediocre. If I am freezing in the hotel to the point that I have a hard time falling asleep, I am not going to come back here no matter what.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    38
    60
    32
    14
See reviews for
7
33
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronde, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always wondered why a university town like Wageninge, which hosts scores of conferences, does not have a better place. This one is like a student dormitory, with tiny, spartan rooms without any comfort. The staff was friendly, though, and the restaurant is much better than the hotel in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wageningen hotels

North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I just stayed here 1 night and it was pleasant enough.
My single room was quite small though comfortable. Most strangely in the bathroom the sink unit was stainless steel.
Restaurant was very good with excellent breakfast.
Convenient for town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed 9 nights in this hotel. It is very conveniently located near the center and quite close to the university. It offers free internet with very good wireless quality. However, the comfort and cleanliness leave room for improvement. As a person suffering from dust mite allergy I asked for a room without carpet, was given no clear reply on that and was booked into a room with carpet, to be told later that that's all they had. That's agreeable as long as the carpet is clean, but I found that I could paint in a dusty white layer close to the walls and near the bed, and wipe off layers of dust from the bed frame. Same impression for all the carpets I have seen, apparently they only vacuum the middle of the hallways/rooms, not the edges. And despite repeated inquiry for a more thorough cleaning, this did not happen until I presented the front desk with a dust wipe. Opening the window at night was almost impossible because of a cooling container with a very noisy cooling aggregate in the backyard and an overall high noise level from the surrounding traffic, and closed window made the allergy worse. The mattress felt like it has not been changed since the hotel was built, was too soft and had a nastily persistent pit from all the users before me that required that my body conformed to it, which it didn't and resulted in sore back and neck in the morning. The bathroom was clean, with the exception that the shower drain must have been stuffed with things I don't want to imagine which made the water level rise quickly and sink slowly. Breakfast was monotonous, with little choice, and either too greasy or too sweet, dinner lacked the side dish (potatoes?, salat?...) but was tasty and closed at 9.30pm.
Unfortunately, due to a conference at the same time all the hotels were fully booked and I was not able to change hotel.
Overall: In my opinion too high room prices and halfhearted staff.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at a lower floor (I stayed at 8th) are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I went to a conference in this hotel. It is well located in Wageningen but the room is like a student house. I think the reception staff consists of students that really had a hard time to check in everybody for the conference. And it was a hot week but no air conditioning in the room. The mattress is too soft and I had a bad time sleeping there for 2 nights. I didn´t have a meal there but enjoyed the breakfast. Compared to hotels in Ede, the price was a bit more expensive for less confortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmvi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel several years ago, and the truth is that I didn't like it at all. However, I stayed again here in April and I was surprised by quite a few changes. It is a big hotel and it is focused to host meetings, students, etc. The room I stayed was very small but it was OK, with a good desk, TV and a decent bathroom. perhaps the only complain I have about the room was that the heating was not working during my stay. The hotel also has a laundry room with two washing machines and a drier machine. For just a couple of euros your an wash your clothes, compared to other laundry services at other hotels (of course you need to wait at least an hour and a half to have the clothes washed and dried). The restaurant at the hotel is good. Breakfast provided there has a good variety of items. The location is also great, being in downtown Wageningen is always good. I'm just giving average because it meets all the basic needs.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor, great view of Wageningen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshrie
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Bedrooms slightly small, but as this is a conference hotel, that is pretty much to be expected. Nice and clean though. Restaurant was good and the meals we were given as part of the conference were excellent - superb choice with fabulous food.

Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms are nicer than the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wageningen
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Wageningsche Berg
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Wereld
Hotel de Wereld
#2 of 4 in Wageningen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nol in 't Bosch
Nol in 't Bosch
#3 of 4 in Wageningen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel 't Paviljoen
Hotel 't Paviljoen
#1 of 1 in Rhenen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Kruller
8.6 mi away
Het Wapen van Elst
Het Wapen van Elst
#2 of 2 in Elst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof van Wageningen WICC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Wageningen WICC

Property: Hof van Wageningen WICC
Address: Lawickse Allee 9, 6701 AN Wageningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wageningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Wageningen WICC 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hof van Wageningen WICC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing