We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Moosmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moosmann
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Absolutely lovely. The food was very good and the atmosphere wonderful. The terrace overlooking the Lake was very romantic, a great place to drink Sangria on a warm Aug. evening and watch the lights twinkle along the shore as the little fishing boats slipped silently by.
As a American/French Swiss, I loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Moosmann
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel and its setting are amazing . No cars, just the sound of lapping water from the lake and passing boats.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the view from our room was stunning.The staff are welcoming and helpful . The food that we tried was excellent and a good variety.The waiting staff are briiliant and they have the ability to speak many languages, including English!
The surrounding area is breathtaking and the village totally wonderful.
We had a fabulous 5 days, more memorable by the changeable weather which constantly changed the scenery. Altogether wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Having travelled through France and Italy for 14 days it was a breath of fresh air to arrive at beautiful Gandria. My family, including a 2 year old, was met with a happy and fresh welcome which was a great omen for the rest of our stay. The hotel and its setting was extremely relaxing and made even more so evident by the welcoming and accommodating staff. Having arrived tired we decided to dine in the hotel's restaurant and were amazed at the culinary delights that were served to us, which resulted in us eagerly looking forward to dining each night and trying new dishes from the rustic swiss and italian menu. The wait staff were outstanding with their recommendations and their ability to speak many languages, including excellent English. My family left Gandria looking forward to returning one day soon to relax and enjoy one of the world's premier relaxation destinations! Thanks to all the staff from Hotel Moosman, we look forward to meeting with you again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dainjarmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed in the Moosmann Hotel for one night, booked it by phone and received a written confirmation by e-mail just a few hours later.

When we arrived in early afternoon, the room was yet ready.

The room was quite big, but the furniture definitely old-fashioned, it seemed as if there was no refreshing in this room for the last 30 years! Unfortunately, we weren't able to get a room with a balcony, but a big window facing the lake was almost the same. And that's is now definitely the best about the hotel --> the view! Looking out of the window and enjoing the great scenery of Lake Lugano is amazing!

Don't forget the garden, it is a peaceful, quiet oasis, towels and deck-chairs are available.

Staff was nice, breakfast buffet ok, don't miss to have the breakfast on the wonderful terrace!

All in all a nice hotel, charming village Gandria is wonderfully peaceful and quiet (no cars!), unfortunately, the room was a bit pricy for the standard, but as the Moosmann is the only hotel on spot, the can do this... :-)

Anyway, I would go again and can recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

we stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. Wonderful location, beautiful hotel, rooms very clean. We had a double and a single room overlooking the lake (it is worth paying for the view) and even the single room was a good size. The restaurant is excellent, with a god selection of meat fish and pasta and lovely ice creams! Gandria is an ancient carfree town, well worth a wander. You can swim from the hotel garden or just sit and stare at the lake! Getting around is easy by regular boat service. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

The staff at the Moosman Hotel is hostile to Americans who do not speak Italian. The food is good, but the attitude of staff spoils the visit at this costly hotel.

2  Thank RickyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 23GIO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gandria
2.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
2.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
3.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Address: Gandria, Lugano CH-6978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range: $155 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moosmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing