We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, 2nd visit & still didnt want to leave”
Review of Hotel Moosmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moosmann
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerlan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing, 2nd visit & still didnt want to leave”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

In the summer this hotel offers a fantastic getaway in an amazing location. The price is so reasonable given the fact that the rooms look over straight onto the lake and you can swim straight from the hotel. It now one of my fave places to go. Combined with the authentic restaurants and charming village, can't wait to come back for a 3rd visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NazDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For our 20-year wedding anniversary we went to Italy, Switzerland and France in late September. I booked the Moosmann prior to going on the trip. It looked like a fun place to stay of all the choices in that region. We were blown away by the little town of Gandria and especially the Mosmann. No cars in Gandria...just walking through the skinny walkways between the tightly woven buildings. The Moosmann operators (husband and wife) are fabulous and super friendly. hey told us about the rich history of the hotel and the village of Gandria. The breakfast was the best of our 7-day 3-country trip. If you go to Gandria or Lugano don't miss the 3-hour bout ride around the whole lake! Hats off the the Moosman for how absolutely pristine it is...not a spec of dust, a chip in a wall, nothing...absolutely pristine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high that overlooks the lake with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we spent 3 lovely days in Lugano area
The hotel was very well located and we enjoyed the surrounding
the staff was extremely welcoming and made our stay a pleasure
I recommend this place and will find a way to get back

Room Tip: choose a room with view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is our second visit to Gandria and this hotel. The staff remembered us from our first visit and we were made most welcome. It is a shame that they do not still do evening meals but they do provide some meals and snacks until 6pm which was just what we needed. There are several other restaurants in Gandria which serve later meals. The bed was comfortable and we had a room with a balcony so we could sit and relax looking out over the lake. There is also a terrace where breakfast is served and a garden where you can relax which are lake side. Easiest access to the hotel is by boat. We flew in to Milan Malpensa airport the took the bus to Lugano and the boat to Gandria. We also bought two 3 day Ticino discovery cards. which gives free access to all boats, buses, trains and attractions in the Ticino region. The boat journey to Lugano and back every day covers the cost of the pass.

Room Tip: We had a room with a partial lake view which was good value for money as it had a balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WenHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In general the reviews before me give a good picture of the hotel, except for the one by the cranky guy from Birmingham UK.

The main selling point for the hotel is that it is the only real hotel in the tiny village of Gandria. And since the village is so tiny, you can't take your car down to the hotel. You will see that the "streets" are so narrow that it would be literally impossible to widen them enough to even accomodate a subcompact. In order to address this you get a key pass from the reception to drive your car to the point closes to the hotel, where there is an electric luggage elevator that you can use to get your luggage to the 5th floor of the hotel, where then you can take the elevator to your room.

Parking in the only parking lot costs 1 CHF an hour from 7 AM to 8 PM. The meter also takes EUR coins at EUR=CHF.

Yeah the decor is from the 1970's but I didn't see this as a significant minus. It would be nice if they updated it but 1970's decor is pretty common in Swiss hotels.

The real draw, as commented on before, is the lake view. There are no roads on the opposite side of the lake because it's too steep. So you are looking across at a forest, maybe 5 kilometers from Lugano. It's so dark at night, in fact, that I was able to take pictures of the stars with my camera.

Breakfast is served out on a lakeside veranda which is open to guests from 7:30 AM to 10:30 PM so you should not feel that you have to take a lake view room in order to see the lake.

As for the CHF being too strong and this somehow explaining problems at the hotel, no. The price of the Moosmann was somewhat more expensive than hotels we stayed at in Maggiore or Como, but given the unique circumstances (pedestrian village, unparalleled lake view) I think it is justified.

I think you could probably lose a pound a day staying at this hotel, between all the swimming you will do in the lake and all the walking up and down stairs you will do in the village and getting to the car park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhhaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were there in late April 12 and stayed there for one night. The room from our lake view room was incredible, especially the gorgeous view from the bathroom bathtub! The amenities in the room were basic but clean. Seriously, you don't need much with such a view, just a balcony and a couple of chairs. Such beauty with good privacy. Breakfast was adequate with warm coffee served at your table. Owner Enrico is also very friendly and helpful. Gandria is a small village but we like it because it is away from the crowds with fun winding streets to wander. There is a good regular boat service from Lugano that can bring you all the way to the end of the lake in Porlezza, Italy where you can get off to walk around and buy a gelato before taking the next boat back to Lugano. Gandria is also connected via hiking paths including the Olive path. We walked from Lugano to Gandria via Monte Bre Village. We took 1.5 hours, descended 2400 feet and walked a total of 3.75km. But you get to catch beautiful views of the lake and descend through the woodlands in well-marked paths. You do need moderate fitness and strong knees though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at the Moosmann hotel from 29th to 01st August 2011.
Hotel is located at the italian frontier and is a car free "village". I mean " as it is for me more a place with some houses, restaurants than a village. To reach the hotel you need to park your car outside and walk abut 100 meters. You need to know that they are some steps too as the hotel in situated directly on the lake. Rooms are quite simply decorated (70th style which is not really my case) but very clean (which is for me more essential). I have some reserved concerning the balcony. We had a room with balcony and you have 2 types of them. One is a french balcony where you can nearly put 2 chairs on it without hurting your knees and the other rooms have a bigger balcony. Don t know if the prices are different but in case you want a water front room ask for the bigger balcony. Anyway not traumatic as there is a huge terrace as well as a little green area where you can relax under the sun. As I mentioned before the hotel in directly on the lake so you can dive in it nearly from your balcony (so to speak).
Very friendly staff and the breakfast buffet has everything one needs to start a good day. To reach Lugano you can either walk (1 1/2 hour part of the path is on a quiet and beautiful path the rest unfortunately on the road) or take the boat or the busses. The parking for your car is CHF3 per day so not a problem I guess. Anyway all in all very calm, relaxing atmosphere.
The "village" does not offer much. A few restaurants that s basically it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gandria
2.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
651 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
3.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Property: Hotel Moosmann
Address: Gandria, Lugano CH-6978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moosmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing