We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a beautiful building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Chinchon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chinchon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in Chinchon and were very impressed by this hotel. We parked in the bull ring in the middle of town, which was free, and the hotel confirmed for us that there were no bullfights planned!

The hotel itself is a beautiful building with a lovely courtyard for relaxing in with a cold ice cream.

The room was perfectly adequate (twin room although we had requested a double) and looked out onto the street. Room was air conditioned so we slept with the windows shut and were not disturbed at all.

The staff were helpful and provided maps of the local area.

We didn't eat in the hotel but there is a cafe across the road that did a very nice breakfast of tostada con tomate for a very reasonable price.

Highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Chinchon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 728 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Chinchon is a charming village with an impressive large plaza with lots of places to eat and drink. A bull ring was being constructed in the plaza for busy weekend a couple of days later. The parador is in a lovely building with a charming and relaxing courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really great hotel. restaurant was superb. Eat there after a very long drive from Malaga. Food and service was excellent. Probably the best meal of our 10 day trip. Room was spacious, clean with a view over pool and gardens. Breakfast was well worth the money. As a place to visit as a getaway from the hustle and bustle of Madrid, I couldn't rate it higher. Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chinchon was not easy to find and we would have been lost without sat nav however once there the Parador was easy to locate being a minutes walk from the centre square of the town. We visited at the end of August, the week following the towns festival, the bull ring was till in place in the towns square. Although August lots of the restaurants etc. were closed and the town was extremely quiet, we struggled to find somewhere to eat and ended up in a cafe rather than restaurant. We should have eaten in the Parador which had an attractive outdoor courtyard/ dining area.Parking is in the street, in fact we parked in the bullring for no charge after unloading the car at the hotels main door. We were unable to use the hotels secure car park as we had a roof rack on and there is a height restriction. The rooms were large even with an extra child's bed in but unlike most Paradors there was no balcony in the room. The hotel has maintained the charm of an old building. The pool area and gardens were very well maintained. Wifi was very quick even in the bedroom, this pleased my son. I used my Parador points to pay for this stay which made it even more pleasant. Staff shortage in the bar area and we couldn't locate anyone to serve us a problem I have never experienced in a Pador.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Parador is in the buildings of the former monastery of St. Mary of Paradise, and you really get a sense of the history of the place. This was our second visit, and again it didn't disappoint. Large, comfortable rooms, atmospheric communal areas, lovely gardens and swimming pool, and good food. Also reasonably priced for the location (170 euro for B&B, 2 adults 1 child). Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falakros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was an overnight stop between Bordeaux and Marbella, for which it is well situated (though our initial approach via the M3 might not have been as easy as the route we took back to the M4 to continue south). The parador is not well sign-posted and we drove round the town a couple of times before realizing we had been driving past the massive stone structure each time. Once inside on this hot Spanish summer day it was a world of peace and coolness, with efficient and polite reception. Our room was very spacious and well appointed, overlooking the trees on a side courtyard, with good average sized bathroom (a bit more shelving would be useful. The price of the room at 155E tax included was not cheap but when the quality, service, and comfort was compared with a similarly priced room in France the previous night started to look very good value.

The hotel appears to be a recent construction on a centuries old site, with a courtyard in the middle where a dinner is served outdoors in the evening (with precautions taken by the hotel against the pigeons - wires have been strung across the courtyard to prevent them entering, we did however unusually see a flock of large birds (cranes?) who swirled around the building before dusk for about 15 minutes and attracted excited attention from the waiters. We were not sure whether to feel privileged or unlucky that one of them pooped expertly from a considerable height into my water glass, but it could have been more serious, it could have been the wine! Dinner was efficiently served and was delicious, and the ambiance in the courtyard was elegant and pleasant.

There is a good sized private hotel pool which you reach by going down two levels through bowers and courtyards behind the hotel For the secure garage 50 metres away, which we used and which has impressive double metal gates, you pay extra 11.50E, but if your car is fully laden you may not want to park it in the adjacent town square (which seemed to have recently doubled as a bull ring when we were there as the ampitheatre seats were still in place)

Room Tip: We stayed in 125 which was a large comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and always enjoy the peace and tranquility. Secure parking is also an added bonus.
We had a lovely large room facing the gardens and pool. The pool area is very pleasant and a good place to relax after a long drive.
We did not eat at the hotel on this occasion as we wanted to try one of the many restaurants around the bullring.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinchon
0 mi away
Hotel Condesa de Chinchon
11.2 mi away
Occidental Aranjuez
Occidental Aranjuez
#2 of 8 in Aranjuez
1,455 reviews
12.2 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Aranjuez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Aranjuez
15.8 mi away
Sercotel Princesa De Eboli
23.9 mi away
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Parador de Alcala de Henares
#1 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Chinchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Chinchon

Address: Calle de Los Huertos, 28370 Chinchon, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Chinchon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chinchon
Price Range: $88 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Chinchon 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Chinchon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Chinchon Hotel Chinchon
Parador De Hotel Chinchon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing