We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant I,ve been to in Majorca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Italia
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port d'Andratx
Certificate of Excellence
warrington uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant I,ve been to in Majorca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Been using this restaurant for nearly 20 years and still love it!! We stay in a Villa on Sa Mola so only slept at the hotel once ( but spot on). Treat yourselves and go!!! I suggest a taxi as parking outside is restricted or walk , its 5 mins from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    27
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, though expensive. It's fairly small. Our superior room overlooked the sea and was immaculate. The balcony was adjoining another balcony so not really private. the pool quite small, and a bit cold as in shade most of the day (due to October sun being a bit low I think) there is also a small and delightful little rocky beach area directly across the road from the hotel, we watched octopus just a couple metres away from us feeding. The breakfasts are not as good as most hotels of this price, so a bit disappointing, but adequate. The hotel feels very grand and the restaurant looked lovely. However everything is port d Andratx is about 50% more expensive than in port soller for example.
There is no hotel car park....not a problem except at Sunday lunchtime when it seemed very busy. There are lots of restaurants around the delightful port to eat, but a premium to eat overlooking the sea. If staying in this area I think this is probably the best hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Villa Italia is a real find. It's all about the views and the sunsets. They only had a basic room left when we booked. We were worried but were assured all rooms are 'good'. And this is absolutely true, I don't believe there's a bad room in the entire hotel! Great decor, fair size, great bathroom (small but fantastic quality) - but each room has a terrace with incredible views over Andratx and out to sea.
If you're staying in the rear building behind the swimming pool, and you don't mind (even!) more steps, you might want to request a 2nd floor room for an even better view, but we were on the lower floor and our view was still pretty incredible.
This is a hotel to have sundowners in! Sitting on the upper terrace of the hotel watching the sun sink behind the sea is very special.
The hotel is very calm, there aren't too many rooms, and it's slickly run.
Service is adequate, although I wouldn't say staff were particularly warm or going beyond the call of duty (which is what makes a truly great hotel). This won't prevent me coming back - like I say, service is adequate.
Our only criticism is the spa. In their marketing material they really push the spa.... This is definitely not a spa hotel! This is fine for us, we might have had a massage or two, but we weren't there for the spa facility. There was no early evening availability for massages over a 5-night stay. I would think 90% of people on holiday in warm weather want an early evening massage (not during the day when it's hot)! Yet, not once did we see anyone have an evening treatment (there must have been some, but certainly not fully booked at all). We think it was probably under-staffed (there only seemed to be one person).
They have a sign up outside the spa saying "daily special, Shiatsu massage'. This didn't change once during our stay, which was a bit odd. OK, not the end of the world, but it's just a bit tacky since the sign is very prominent and right by the pool!
For us, these spa issues were minor, but worth mentioning as might be more frustrating for others.
We thought the hotel was very good value.
We will definitely return and highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality, good decor, amazing location, great food, views, views, views, sunsets, relaxing, beach time etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

great hotel in a brilliant location with views across the scenic harbour at andratx,if you choose one of the rooms in the old section they are very good,but be aware the hotel lift doesnt go to the top three floors!lots of steps.the openpool on the third floor is small but good,breakfasts were a bit limited but very good.the main restaurant is very good,sunday lunch particularly very good and popular,parking is in the road outside which is quite busy and narrow,this hotel is a must do!

Room Tip: top three floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks,england
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Villa Italia was built in the 1920's and was the residence of the Italian ambassador. The hotel rooms (16) are now either in the original building or in the new one which sits above and behind the original one but externally mirrors the original architecture.Throughout the building the designers have managed to blend the grace and charm of a bygone era with contemporary fixtures and fittings.We had a room on the top floor of the new building; from the balcony we had a spectacular view, from the sea on our left, across the beautiful port/marina and to the hills beyond on our right.The only downside of being so high up was that we had to climb 170 steps to get to our room from street level!(NB there is a lift but this only takes you from hotel reception to the pool area. There is a stair lift from the street to the restaurant for wheel chair users).
The hotel has a spa with a warm indoor plunge pool and an outdoor unheated swimming pool, surrounded by decking and sunloungers. Across the road from the hotel one can access the sea - by climbing down rather precarious steps!
Free wifi; English newspapers, excellent breakfast choices, no hotel car park but parking in the road outside not a problem; live music every evening; fabulous views from the restuarant and terraces.Very popular 3 course Sunday lunch with live music.Restaurant very popular with those staying in the many sensational local villas plus the yatching fraternity, so best to book, especially for a table with a view.
From the hotel one can walk to about 20 restaurants in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, so your choice should be based on your budget and how fit you are! The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondieBucks_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Celebrating a 30th Wedding Anniversary brought a party of family and friends to stay at Villa Italia.
The hotel stands above the Port giving great views of the sea, inner port and hills beyond whilst being only a short walk to the many bars and restaurant along the waterfront. Full breakfast was served in the dining room and two terraces at the front of the hotel provide areas to sit and relax, or enjoy a coffee/drink and are perfect venues for private parties. Dinner was both delicious and the portions plentiful. The rooms were comfortable each offering a balcony to just take in the views and relax. The staff were attentive, friendly without being intrusive providing a five star service. There are a lot of stairs but despite a lift being available I was happy to have a room on the second floor of this intimate hotel offering a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs take a room on the top floor where the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel very relaxing,great staff and pleasant breakfast with great view from the dining room.
Had one dinner at the hotel very disappointing and over priced. Lots of steps so not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Best rooms are obviously front line ,rooms at the rear of the hotel have many steps so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Andratx
0.5 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#2 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brismar
Hotel Brismar
#4 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
17.1 mi away
Valldemossa Hotel
Valldemossa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Valldemossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Italia

Property: Hotel Villa Italia
Address: Camino Sant Carles 13 | Puerto de Andratx, going to La Mola, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port d'Andratx The exclusive location at the hillside above the bay of Puerto d'Andratx and the new modern equipment make this little hotel an exclusive place. Comfort and personal service are of great importance for us. Side Just 5 minutes away from the promenade, which offers various amusements like restaurants, cafes and boutiques. By car Palma is just 20 minutes away. Infrastructure The hotel has total of 21 rooms and offers double rooms, superiors, suites and royal suites which are modern renovated lately. We recommend also our exclusive restaurant with mediterranean and international kitchen. Sports and Wellness The hotel has a Spa-area with indoor pool, massage, beautycare, sauna and steam bath and a outdoor swimmingpool with terrace. 7 golfcourts in an ambit of 20 km. Diving and sailing possabilities in the harbour. Acommodation Double rooms are decorated in a country house style and have bath/shower/wc,hairdryer,aircondition/heating,minibar,safe,satellite tv.Wonderfull views to the harbour. Suites have the same acommodation but are larger. The royal suites are aproximatly 75 sqm and have a spacious bathroom with whirlpool. Specials Breakfast buffet with harbour view. Solarium with free use of the sunbeds and sunshade by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Andratx
Hotel Villa Italia Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing