We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Italia
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port d'Andratx
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Villa Italia is a real find. It's all about the views and the sunsets. They only had a basic room left when we booked. We were worried but were assured all rooms are 'good'. And this is absolutely true, I don't believe there's a bad room in the entire hotel! Great decor, fair size, great bathroom (small but fantastic quality) - but each room has a terrace with incredible views over Andratx and out to sea.
If you're staying in the rear building behind the swimming pool, and you don't mind (even!) more steps, you might want to request a 2nd floor room for an even better view, but we were on the lower floor and our view was still pretty incredible.
This is a hotel to have sundowners in! Sitting on the upper terrace of the hotel watching the sun sink behind the sea is very special.
The hotel is very calm, there aren't too many rooms, and it's slickly run.
Service is adequate, although I wouldn't say staff were particularly warm or going beyond the call of duty (which is what makes a truly great hotel). This won't prevent me coming back - like I say, service is adequate.
Our only criticism is the spa. In their marketing material they really push the spa.... This is definitely not a spa hotel! This is fine for us, we might have had a massage or two, but we weren't there for the spa facility. There was no early evening availability for massages over a 5-night stay. I would think 90% of people on holiday in warm weather want an early evening massage (not during the day when it's hot)! Yet, not once did we see anyone have an evening treatment (there must have been some, but certainly not fully booked at all). We think it was probably under-staffed (there only seemed to be one person).
They have a sign up outside the spa saying "daily special, Shiatsu massage'. This didn't change once during our stay, which was a bit odd. OK, not the end of the world, but it's just a bit tacky since the sign is very prominent and right by the pool!
For us, these spa issues were minor, but worth mentioning as might be more frustrating for others.
We thought the hotel was very good value.
We will definitely return and highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality, good decor, amazing location, great food, views, views, views, sunsets, relaxing, beach time etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    27
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

great hotel in a brilliant location with views across the scenic harbour at andratx,if you choose one of the rooms in the old section they are very good,but be aware the hotel lift doesnt go to the top three floors!lots of steps.the openpool on the third floor is small but good,breakfasts were a bit limited but very good.the main restaurant is very good,sunday lunch particularly very good and popular,parking is in the road outside which is quite busy and narrow,this hotel is a must do!

Room Tip: top three floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks,england
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Villa Italia was built in the 1920's and was the residence of the Italian ambassador. The hotel rooms (16) are now either in the original building or in the new one which sits above and behind the original one but externally mirrors the original architecture.Throughout the building the designers have managed to blend the grace and charm of a bygone era with contemporary fixtures and fittings.We had a room on the top floor of the new building; from the balcony we had a spectacular view, from the sea on our left, across the beautiful port/marina and to the hills beyond on our right.The only downside of being so high up was that we had to climb 170 steps to get to our room from street level!(NB there is a lift but this only takes you from hotel reception to the pool area. There is a stair lift from the street to the restaurant for wheel chair users).
The hotel has a spa with a warm indoor plunge pool and an outdoor unheated swimming pool, surrounded by decking and sunloungers. Across the road from the hotel one can access the sea - by climbing down rather precarious steps!
Free wifi; English newspapers, excellent breakfast choices, no hotel car park but parking in the road outside not a problem; live music every evening; fabulous views from the restuarant and terraces.Very popular 3 course Sunday lunch with live music.Restaurant very popular with those staying in the many sensational local villas plus the yatching fraternity, so best to book, especially for a table with a view.
From the hotel one can walk to about 20 restaurants in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, so your choice should be based on your budget and how fit you are! The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondieBucks_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Celebrating a 30th Wedding Anniversary brought a party of family and friends to stay at Villa Italia.
The hotel stands above the Port giving great views of the sea, inner port and hills beyond whilst being only a short walk to the many bars and restaurant along the waterfront. Full breakfast was served in the dining room and two terraces at the front of the hotel provide areas to sit and relax, or enjoy a coffee/drink and are perfect venues for private parties. Dinner was both delicious and the portions plentiful. The rooms were comfortable each offering a balcony to just take in the views and relax. The staff were attentive, friendly without being intrusive providing a five star service. There are a lot of stairs but despite a lift being available I was happy to have a room on the second floor of this intimate hotel offering a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs take a room on the top floor where the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel very relaxing,great staff and pleasant breakfast with great view from the dining room.
Had one dinner at the hotel very disappointing and over priced. Lots of steps so not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Best rooms are obviously front line ,rooms at the rear of the hotel have many steps so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

An unrivalled position and views over a working harbour and sailing marina. Tastefully decorated for the season. Caring, highly professional and unobtrusive service in hotel and restaurant.
The food was superb especially the Christmas Eve 'special meal'. The considerable local patronage for lunches and dinners speaks for itself. Delicious wines - a range of prices that reflect the quality.
Easy walking distance into Puerto Andratx for shops, bars, cafes, taxis and local buses.
An ideal place for a warm, winter break; we even had a dry weather.
The ascent of steps in the hotel (Hence the view.) means you leave fitter than on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask how many flights of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liz_applegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Through my wedding planner we had our wedding here on October 13, 2012 and it was absolutely amazing! The scenery and hotel is breath taking. The staff were very professional and took great care of us. I love that the hotel has only 46 rooms making it intimate and private for our small wedding. Though our guests and ourselves did not use this as our accommodations we could only imagine the service one would receive here if one did. However, my husband and I did get to stay in one of the rooms on the night of our wedding and had the best sleep during our trip in Spain. I love the decor of the hotel and its room.

The food at our wedding was absolutely delicious. We were all impressed with the taste and presentation. As well, we were duly impressed with the service, as there was always someone around to fill our glasses before it even got half empty.

If you are looking for a venue for your wedding look no further because you will love this hotel and what it has to offer. Did I mention the hotel and surrounding area makes for great photos?!

My husband and I plan on returning to Mallorca for one of our anniversaries and will definitely be staying there for a couple of nights.

Thanks to Alfonso and the rest of the staff at Hotel Villa Italia for making our wedding day so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Andratx
0.5 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#2 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brismar
Hotel Brismar
#4 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
155 reviews
17.1 mi away
Valldemossa Hotel
Valldemossa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Valldemossa
225 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Italia

Property: Hotel Villa Italia
Address: Camino Sant Carles 13 | Puerto de Andratx, going to La Mola, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port d'Andratx The exclusive location at the hillside above the bay of Puerto d'Andratx and the new modern equipment make this little hotel an exclusive place. Comfort and personal service are of great importance for us. Side Just 5 minutes away from the promenade, which offers various amusements like restaurants, cafes and boutiques. By car Palma is just 20 minutes away. Infrastructure The hotel has total of 21 rooms and offers double rooms, superiors, suites and royal suites which are modern renovated lately. We recommend also our exclusive restaurant with mediterranean and international kitchen. Sports and Wellness The hotel has a Spa-area with indoor pool, massage, beautycare, sauna and steam bath and a outdoor swimmingpool with terrace. 7 golfcourts in an ambit of 20 km. Diving and sailing possabilities in the harbour. Acommodation Double rooms are decorated in a country house style and have bath/shower/wc,hairdryer,aircondition/heating,minibar,safe,satellite tv.Wonderfull views to the harbour. Suites have the same acommodation but are larger. The royal suites are aproximatly 75 sqm and have a spacious bathroom with whirlpool. Specials Breakfast buffet with harbour view. Solarium with free use of the sunbeds and sunshade by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Andratx
Hotel Villa Italia Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing