We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Escaleta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port d'Andratx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Escaleta
Save
You added Hotel L'Escaleta to your Saves list
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a week there with our one year old child - hopefully we didn't ruin anyone else's holiday with our little one having a few grizzly nights....

The breakfast was much better than we have come to expect from 'continental'. We ate dinner at the hotel one night which was delicious - luckily we got along well with the other couple eating with us or the "double date" type set up could have been uncomfortable.

The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. We loved having a balcony (I think we were the only room with this luxury). We were not at all bothered by the cockerel outside because we closed the window and put the aircon on for a little bit rather than having the window open. Our only very tiny complaint would be that the shower head was rubbish and could do with being replaced.

The garden was particularly beautiful and it was wonderful seeing so many hummingbird hawk-moths!

It was also lovely that there were children's toys that my little girl could play with and that there was a highchair, cot and plastic plates provided.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We originally booked to stay at Hotel L'Escaleta for 2 nights but extended our stay to 4 nights as soon as we arrived as it was such a welcoming, comfortable and friendly place. Just 5 minutes by car away from Andratx and Port D'Andratx its location is nice and peaceful in a local village so you get the best of both worlds - a relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel close to all the touristy attractions. Lots of rural walks nearby too - Sant Elm 1hr 50min walk with an easy bus back to the hotel. Very pretty garden with great pool. If you get the chance to book for dinner while you are there definitely do so; the best food we had all holiday, the cheesecake was to die for! Thanks Dorothy and Suzanne, such a wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweeneytLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Far from the commercial clutter and noise frequently expected of the island, Dorothy and Suzanne have created in Hotel L'Escaleta, an oasis of soothing calm and peace. Our room overlooked the beautiful garden with the wooded slopes of the hills in the distance and the quiet sounds of the countryside all around. Suzanne worked as a chef on private yachts for many years and she brings all that experience to her catering - make sure you book for her evening meals which should not be missed. The village is unspoilt and tranquil, a great base for hikers, and very close to the family friendly beach at Sant Elm and the chic restaurants of Puerto D'Andratx. However it is such a pleasure to relax by the pool in the lovely garden, you may want to stay there all holiday! Cannot recommend too highly.

Room Tip: Tall guests might prefer the higher ceilings of the first floor, although the 2nd floor back has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoutthetinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just back from a wonderful holiday staying at this hotel for 10 days. S'Arraco is a real Mallorcan village, not one given over to tourism. The hotel is small - 6 rooms to let - but has all the conveniences we needed and Dorothy and Suzanne were great hosts. We didn't hire a car but this was not a problem as the buses and taxi's were sufficient if we were not walking. We took the bus to Palma one day which involves a change in Port Andratx but it all went smoothly. There are a multitude of paths along the valley and up into the hills but they are not well marked - make sure you get directions from Suzanne before you set out! The only drawback we found is that several of the restaurants in the village had closed and so food - good food - was only available at one bar, otherwise you need to go to Port Andratx or St Elm to eat - and there are very good restaurants at these two places. We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has excellent views and is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

S'Arraco small village, very friendly. The hotel is great, especially with pool now added. Dorothy and Suzanne perfect hostesses. Lots of information about walks which we did - quite strenuous some of them!! Easy without a car. Local buses to Sant Elmo, Porto Andratx and Andratx stop at the square, or walk to them and take a bus or taxi back. One of the best holidays we have had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel L'Escaleta is an excellent property and right up there with the very best European boutique hotels. L’Escaleta is decorated to a high and standard and is run perfectly. Throughout my stay I was impressed by the underlying quality which you can see everywhere – this place is stylish and tasteful but also modest and perfectly measured: Whether it is the drapery in the bedrooms, the spot-on breakfasts or the wonderful background music which trickles out onto the brilliant outdoor terrace. What Suzanne has created is a subtle premium experience that hides the huge amount of thought and work that has gone into every area of the business.

The location is great. Far better to be here than in the tourist pits. The island is easily accessible by hire car, bicycle or taxi. If there are two or three of you in a cab it costs very little to pop along to the wonderful Port Andratx for dinner in the marina. Just ring the taxi firm (or the hotel will happily do this for you) and they are there in five minutes. Another five minutes and a few Euros later and you’re there. If you do have the opportunity though, visitors should try and sample Suzanne’s incredible cooking for at least one lunch or dinner. She’s a professional chef, and it shows. Just like the accommodation, the food is fantastic and to the same impeccable standard. The keen eyed will notice the Miele cooker further cementing the attention to quality, most will be too busy scoffing down the delicious meals.

There is an honour bar which is convenient and good value. A cold beer and a plunge in the pool is a wonderful way to see out the afternoon.

I will certainly be returning to the hotel, I am grateful to the friend who first tipped me off about this place and I will be telling as many people as possible about Hotel L’Escaleta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intentionally_blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the perfect venue for a base on Majorca. Suzanne & Dorothy have matched a warm, inviting location with perfect hosting and fantastic, authentic cuisine to suit various tastes. They are flexible to your needs and their knowledge of the island was very helpful. I am missing them already and I have only been back a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDoe307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Andratx
2.2 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#2 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Italia
Hotel Villa Italia
#3 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Brismar
Hotel Brismar
#4 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Universal Aparthotel Don Camilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Escaleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Escaleta

Property: Hotel L'Escaleta
Address: Calle Porvenir 10 | S'arraco, 07159 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful, peaceful valley in the southwest corner of Mallorca you will find the charming village of S’arraco. Here is the family-owned Hotel L’Escaleta, a delightful, converted schoolhouse, rich in history and style, with stunning views and comfortable accommodation.S’arraco is located at the foot of the magnificent Serra de Tratumantana mountain range and is a traditional Mallorquian village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Escaleta Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing