We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely place with a personal touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I booked into this B&B as there was nothing else open in February and we wanted to meet with friends. We were welcome with a warm smile and shown to our room. The rooms are very basic and we were a bit unlucky with the weather. However, two electric heaters ensured that we were warm enough during the night. This is a lovely base to explore the island from and some really nice restaurants and bars are just a short walk away. Although it was too cold when we visited I can see how charming the garden and terrace would be when the weather is warmer. The breakfast is served in the restaurant/tv room and you might get some attention from one of the cats or even the little dog they have. If you’re after the personal touch and a friendly family run place, this is a nice place to stay. As we travelled hand luggage only it was a little disadvantage that there were no toiletries in the bathroom at all. The other thing is that the rooms aren’t insulated – so we could hear all activities in the next room. As with all things in life you get what you pay for – but here you get it served with a warm smile and a nice chat. I would certainly stay again for a weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aroundtheworld57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hostal Catalina Vera in Port d'Andratx. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards from sunny Mallorca,

Pablo López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed in this Hostal for a week as part of a touring holiday in Majorca in September and was delighted with my choice. To find a Hotel such a short walk from the sea and yet has it's own garden with on-site car parking and at such a good value cost it was just such an amazing find!
Bear in mind that this classed a Hostal and is not a 5 star huge concrete hotel with air-con, swimming pool and bar, but if you want somewhere that is clean, comfortable, individual and superbly situated this ticks all the boxes.
I was given excellent service and help from the time of my arrival (suitcases carried to my room) until the time I left. I asked for a room with few stairs and my own bathroom, and was offered a choice of two on arrival. I chose a downstair room which had its own small patio with table and chairs looking out on to the garden situated towards the rear of the Hotel just behind the main building which was perfect for coping with my intermittent back problems and very quiet. The room was half tiled in Majorcan style, large enough to easily contain a very comfortable double bed and a single bed, a huge wardrobe, and a spotless new tiled bathroom with very good shower inside a low bath. The towels were changed daily and the sheets regularly, and my patio and room swept/mopped every day. Breakfast was served in the main house which was again furnished in more traditional Spanish style with lots of plants, collections of ceramic plates and pictures. Guests each had their own breakfast tray brought with fresh rolls, local bread and some cake together with cheese, jam and yoghurt, orange juice and freshly made tea or coffee - more than ample. The one time I used the cloakroom in the main building it was delightful and again spotless, and contained more interesting collectables, and fresh flowers. Towels were quickly found for two guests who wanted to go to the beach and had none of their own, and was typical of the help provided if you asked for anything. Internet access was available if you required it.
The situation is a quiet oasis away from any noise at the sea front, and only slightly marred during my visit as builders were working next door and started at 7.30am so I got an early wake up call in the morning. With the added convenience of a supermarket nearby for supplies of bottled water etc and the sea front and cafes all such a short walk away, Most guests were independent travellers like myself and spoke English, as did the owner and manager, so language was no problem if you do not speak Spanish and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I was more than comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this Hostal and lovely harbour area and will definitely return again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a down-stair room if you have any mobility problems or just find stairs a bit difficult when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neeca68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I was delighted to read your kind words which I have passed on to the great team here. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the Hostal to your liking. I do hope you get a chance of a return visit soon to our Hostal Catalina Vera.

Warmest regards from Port d'Andratx - Mallorca!

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

From the first email, to the warm welcome on arrival our experience could not have been better. Booking a large group for a wedding, I received a prompt and professional response to all emails. This accommodation has rustic charm, rooms are basic but immaculately clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for Pablo and his team.

The location is excellent, set just back from the front with it's many bars and restaurants which are a just a short stroll from the accommodation. Beds are very comfortable but the showers are a little weak but overall, this is a great little place which is excellent value, bearing in mind it's central location.

On our next trip to Andratx we will have no hesitation in returning to this charming, family run hostal .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LiveLoveLaugh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hostal Catalina Vera in Port d'Andratx - Mallorca.

We are all delighted to learn that all of you had a wonderful experience at our Hostal and to learn that we were able to create special memories of your son’s wedding celebration. Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback.

I have communicated your positive comments to the entire team at the Hostal who are very pleased to have received the same. We are certain that your words of praise and encouragement will inspire us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable holiday.

Warmest Regards,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked a double room with en-suite bathroom for three nights. We were given a room with a separate communal bathroom which you had to walk outside to reach. The shower was so weak that you could not use it. The place was dirty and very run-down. They have clearly not invested any money in maintenance for a very long time. The bed was broken and tipped over to one side. Before booking, the manageress had insisted that the bathrooms had been recently renovated, but this was a complete lie. There were cockroaches in the bathroom and when we told the staff about it they just shrugged. It was absolutely disgusting.

When we checked out, the manageress tried to charge us for an ensuite room. When we politely pointed out that we had not been given an ensuite room she became aggressive and rude. We had to argue very strongly just to avoid being cheated.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They charged us €70 per night and it was not even of 1 star standard. How this dump stays in business is a mystery.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobertH407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear RobertH407,

We thank all kind of opinions. They help us to improve our service and facilities we offer at our Hostal.

Facts are:

Regarding your stay, we apologized at your arrival for not being able to accomodate you in your booked double room with en-suite bathroom due to an error.
At the next morning, you moved to a double room with en-suite bathroom, coincidentally being same room as your last stay in September last year.
Shower, toilette and bed mattress are new and room has been renovated this year.

After your first night stay, guests were complaining about the noise caused in your room moving the furniture during the night, between 3 - 5 p.m.!
The other two nights we received again complains about couple's noisy disputes in your room!

Furthermore, you did not pay €70 per night, we reduced the night price for any inconvenience caused.

Please notice, reputation could suffer damage if you don't follow first principles.

Kind regards

Hostal Catalina Vera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

we have been coming to Puerto Andratx for years and have just discovered the delightful Cataline Vera, the small hostal set with a short walk to the harbour in its secluded gardens was a real treat.
The accomodation was simple but the rooms very clean and very helpful staff, we have already booked to return.

Room Tip: ask for large room, some are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockchickNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalcatalinavera, Public Relations Manager at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are happy with our service.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Elena Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a great little family run hotel and good value for money in this up market resort. The location is excellent and the hotel is set in the most wonderful garden. Don't expect five star luxury; this is basic, comfortable, friendly, tranquil and clean. The family made us very welcome and the rooms, though basic, were lovely, traditionally furnished and surprisingly comfortable - we slept really well and there was no 'tourist noise' as this is not that sort of resort anyway. We were within a short walk of some excellent restaurants and a good supermarket is just round the corner. The breakfast was good with fruit juice, tea or coffee, yogurt, semi-sweet buns, bread, cheese and jam. We loved it, it made such a change from the usual plastic palaces, which we try to avoid!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalcatalinavera, Public Relations Manager at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are satisfied with our service.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Elena Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Andratx
0.5 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#2 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Italia
Hotel Villa Italia
#3 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brismar
Hotel Brismar
#4 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera

Property: Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera
Address: Calle Isaac Peral 63, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of hotel is unbeatable, in the midst of nature and just a few steps from the promenade of the Port d'Andratx. It is ideal both to relax and to enjoy an active stay in this cosmopolitan resort in the southwest of Majorca. Located just a few kilometres from some of the most beautiful beaches of the island it is also the perfect starting point for many excursions of scenic and cultural value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing