We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Abarka Jatetxea

Abarka Jatetxea
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely people, great food and somewhere we would go back to. The lobster was as good as we've eaten anywhere. It's not quite where the 'see on a map' facility on trip advisor says it is, but on the actual street of the address.

Helpful?
Thank Dino H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    103
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a good three course dinner here. Fresh ingredients. It's located just out of the centre. Quiet place, which was a nice change from the busy downtown places.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M_NL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We walked in without a reservation....”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

After noting that this restaurant was rated highly by Tripadvisor we took the chance and walked in without reservations.They couldn't have been more accommodting and we were a party of 7. Be sure order Menu #2 with red wine - Castillo wine from Riojo area. Menu meal includes appetizers to dessert. Whatever you do, be sure to order anything with Iberia ham.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best value for money. Season products at their best”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

David from Sussex recommended it to me. We could see that it's based on traditional cooking, treating the products with great respect so to as to keep their flavours intact.. I want to highlight the main course we had: "grilled red tuna fish and season vegetables". The fish was juicy, soft, full of flavour. A touch of real finesse. We were also recommended to try some Cava Rose, named Elixa. Excellent, too. It's a restaurant for people tired of eating courses that hide the hatural flavours of the products, It also has a wide offer of Rioja and Ribera del Duero wines Friendly atmosphere, nice service, quiet place. Hope to come back as sson as we can

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concarneau, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The best restaurant on the Basque coast”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

One of the best restaurants on the Basque Coast!!!!! The food was superb, the wine well prized and the service exceptional !!!We arrived 15min before it was open for lunch(1p.m.) and decided to wait in the nearby park. The owner opened the restaurant earlier to welcome us. It was so refreshing to be treated like a "customer"( not always the case , especially without reservation).
I will go back there without hesitation. Great food & great people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krys303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Mari B, Propietario at Abarka Jatetxea, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi very good, I want to thank the written opinion after visiting us in our restaurant, is a great feeling to collaborate to make your stay with us of the most satisfactory.Thank you and greetings cordialesLuis Mari Bujanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abarka Jatetxea also viewed

Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Abarka Jatetxea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing