We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hondarribia
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Historic Center of Hondarribia
from $84.35
More Info
from $249.94
More Info
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
600
323
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
600
323
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town cobbled streets basque country historic center seafood main square day trip lots of restaurants french border pretty place from france tourist office wonderful medieval town stay overnight small town wonderful visit bygone era
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 943 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We found Hondarribia to be a wonderful medieval town. The outer stone walls are tremendous and you can walk all around them. The castle is now a Parador. You can see the cannonball marks on the outer walls. There is a small cafe in the Parador lobby for coffee. We also took the 5 Euro boat ride from Hondarribia to France - to Hendaye - and walked along the beach in Hendaye to the Salle Antoine d'Abbadie which has indoor tours.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank redelson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

We decided to spend afternoon in Hondarribia. Started with the loveliest walk on the promenade along the River Bidasoa, then walked up to the delightful old town full of typical colorful Basque houses, so bright and cheerful... We enjoyed the views from the hill top, stoped at the old church perching on the hill, and started on our random pintxos crawl. We stopped at four different bars, tried delicious bacalao, seafood and anchovies pintxos, sparkling txacoli wine and Rioja Vino Tinto.

Relaxing walks along the old hilly streets, colorful old houses, breathtaking views of the sea and the river - what is there not to love?

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Noraatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

This is the main pedestrian thoroughfare and incredibly busy, even on a Sunday. There are some fantastic tapas bars on this street to cater for all tastes.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank PBY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Loved this authentic Basque town for so many reasons. A walk into living history- the architecture so colorful and beautiful, food and restaurants are excellent- so unique, so old world. Even the trees were unique - unusual shape trees line the pedestrian zoned streets, flowers all over, sounds of school aged children playing in nearby courtyards, wonderful views of bay from our castle window.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Chabrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

There is so much to see and do in such a small town. All walking friendly and of course, their harbour is beautiful.

Loved the architecture of the Basque region. Almost felt like Switzerland. Very unique. And the food is fantastic.

Sure wish we stayed more than one night here!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews