We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than San Sebastian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Hondarribia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than San Sebastian”
Reviewed August 7, 2005

We built a 3 week trip to Spain and Portugal around the San Sebastian Jazz Festival at the end of July. Instead of opting for the larger and better known city of San Sebastian we stayed at the Parador Hondarribia for a week, in the village of Hondarribia about 15 kilometers away. It was spectacular. and very reasonably priced. The parador is in the old walled part of the village, walking distance from great Basque restaurants. Our spacious room looked out at the Bay of Biscay and the coast of France less than 2 miles away. All the hotels we've stayed in in Spain have beautiful bathrooms and this was no exception.

The dining room where breakfast was served was lovely, and you could eat in the courtyard which was inside but open to the sky. There is a wonderful bar and a beautiful outdoor patio for drinks before dinner. The parador is on a large square with cafes where you can have drinks, tapas or full dinners. There's not much in the way of beaches in Hondarribia but there's a lovely boardwalk along the marina and cafes to sit and enjoy the view.

We rented a car and took a couple of day trips to Biarritz and Bayonne in Southern France, as well as to the Guggenheim in Bilbao. The train from Paris comes into Irun, about a mile from Hondarribia, and flights from Madrid come right into the city as well, although we took an overnight train from Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    210
    82
    29
    14
See reviews for
90
410
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2004

Beautiful location in medieval town with great views over the bay. Lovely terrace and public spaces. Moderate sized rooms. Charge for parking.

Helpful?
7 Thank bristolcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2004

We spent a week here as our base for exploring the Spanish Basque country. The area is amazing and is steeped in history and culture. We were very impressed by the cuisine - especially the monkfish. The little town is very quaint and relaxed. The castle is next to an old church, both of which are impressive. But the inside is what amazes one. There are 20 foot sets of armor that don't even reach the ceiling. Inside the very large rooms, you get a sense for the thickness of the castle walls as you look out the tiny windows that are carved through several feet of stone. Rooms are very clean and well decorated. Service was outstanding. This place is truly memorable and worth a special trip. Plus a great base for seeing northern Spain and the Basque country.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2004

My family spent one night in December at this parador. After seeing it we wished we had planned a longer stay. The parador doesn't look like much from the outside but it is beautiful inside and seemed like such a magical place to us. The rooms are lovely with huge bathrooms. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next morning in the parador's gorgeous dining room. This was a wonderful place to stay, one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Spain, and we would stay there again without a doubt!

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2004

We typically stay in chain hotels so staying here was a treat. We had a corner room with wonderful views and modern facilities. One night we were exhausted from sightseeing and didn't feel like going out for dinner. We sat in the bar and had a glass of wonderful sangria and a sandwich which was delicious. It was amazing to look around and realize that we were staying in a Parador that is hundreds of years old. THis is quite a treat!!!

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mjdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 8 in Hondarribia
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 8 in Hondarribia
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#5 of 8 in Hondarribia
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 8 in Hondarribia
138 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Property: Parador de Hondarribia
Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing