We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11th century fortress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Hondarribia
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

the best of the best. if you only do one parador, make it this one. this is a real kick. dating back to, i believe the 11th century, this fortress has been transformed into a top quality hotel. there is not one negative about this parador. be sure to eat breakfast in the atrium with the old walls right there and enough good food to satisfy the most fussy of tastes. the rooms are a good size and the beds are very comfortable. excellent location for san sebastian and st. jean de luz, even biarritz. enjoy a paseo in the new town of hondarribia and some of the local restaurants

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view toward the water. they tend to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have stayed at this parador for just one night and I don't think we will be coming back.

As some previous reviewers said, the location is fabulous and the old fortress where the hotel is located is very impressive, but the level of service and quality of rooms is far below the 4* standrad.

When you see the impressive lobby with antique furniture and ancient weapons on the walls, you expect that rooms should match, but this was not the case. Our room (201) was very spacious, with beatiful view of the town, but poorly planned and decorated (yes - very 1990s), and with terrible smell - like the windows were never opened and the cleaning staff doesn't have an idea of deodorants. Lack of air conditioning also didn't help either. Luckily the weather was not too hot so we could open the window to get some fresh air inside.

So, the castle is worth a visit, maybe a breakfast or dinner (breakfast was good and it is nice to sit in the inner yard), but I wouldn't recommend spending your nights here unless you get a very good deal. We paid almost 340 euros for one night including breakfast and parking and it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A typical parador with pleasing medieval external architecture and a 1990's internal decoration. Beware the hotel has no air conditioning so unless you want to bake bread in your room in the summer, this is a place to avoid. There are much better values with more charm nearby.

Room Tip: avoid the 3rd floor which has direct sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is really a phantastic castle. It is right in the middle of pleasant Hondarribia. It has beatiful rooms and an attractive hall. To sit in front of the Parador on the Plaza is a must do. Best about the place is the view on the old town and the bay, even across to France. If you want to discover the charmes of Biscaya, book a room here !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ! It is expensive to book a suite, but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent the last three days of our travels here at this wonderful Parador. It is set up on the hill in the old part of Hondarribia overlooking the main town and the harbour. It is clearly signposted as you approach the town - just head up the laneway until you see a gate on the right and press the intercom for hotel assistance. The staff were all very kind and very helpful. The building itself is a wonder, dating back to the 10th Century. The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was of a typical European standard but the setting in the courtyard was magnificent. As they do not offer dinner the front desk gentleman recommended Sebastians which is only 50metres away, past the church. The meal was one of the best on our trip of France/Spain.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the first floor with one window overlooking the square, the other overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago and still can't get it out of out minds. It is the most romantic and beautiful little castle imaginable. We had a view of the sea, through small, turret, windows and spent at least an hour just exploring the hotel itself. it's not grand but rather compact and truly ancient. It's comfortably updated and in no way spoiled. We just loved it. The town is delightful and you can take the ferry to France for an afternoon at the lovely botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

stayed 2 nights had views over the bay, which were excellent. Really narrow roadway leading to it and 15 euros a day parking a bit expensive. Nice area around with narrow streets and quaint houses. 10 mins walk to the main town along the bay. Most amenites for shopping available and worth a walk around. As the parador is high up there is an outside public lift closeby which saves a demanding walk back up the steep hills. Breakfast was adequate, no restaurant and a small bar with minimal amount of snacks. Room and building kept very tidy and clean. Bit disappointed the male receptionist did not offer to take the case to our car when leaving and we had to struggle down a dozen steep steps to it. (we also had to carry them in) Overall would go back again although a bit more expensive than many paradors, possibly because it is fairly small with only few bedrooms. (used the 5 night parador discount) finally no tea/cooffee facilities in room and NO IRON available so take a travel one!

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the bay, highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 9 in Hondarribia
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 9 in Hondarribia
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Serge Blanco & Thalassotherapy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hondarribia
Price Range: $158 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing