We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in an old fortress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Hondarribia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in an old fortress”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in a lovely room with a view of the Rio Bidasoa andBay of Txingudi. The hotel has so much character - the pictures need to speak for themselves. The staff was extremely helpful - brought our bags from the parking lot and very helpful with dinner suggestions. Our stay was a truly unique experience. A bit of advice on the parking lot: we stopped the the tourist information office near the port first, and received a map with directions to the hotel parking lot. But since the road is one lane and two ways, you need to pull over in front of the red light (in the marked box) to get the light to turn green for you to proceed to the parking lot. As in a previous review, it can take some maneuvering to park your car, but once you're there you don't need to move it except for day trips to France (Saint Jean de Luz) or San Sebastian. Everything in Hondarribia is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    215
    85
    31
    14
See reviews for
91
430
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent one night at the Parador in Hondarribia in May 2012 and found the hotel to be charming and the staff to be very helpful.
When were first arrived in the town the Parador was difficult to find as our sat-nav tried to direct us through a pedestrian precinct. However, once we turned it off and followed the yellow tourist signs we soon found it. Warning: - the road up to the car park is narrow and two-way- so take care. Also the car park is situated below the level of the Parador, so you do have to climb a some stairs to reach the reception.
The reception staff were helpful and very friendly. They then helped us to take our luggage to our room - which was useful as we were on the second floor of the old part of the building, which deoes not have a lift!
The room itself was large and well laid out, as well as being very clean. It was a bit dark, due to having rather small windows, but that is a small price to pay for staying in such an impressive building.
Overall we had a very pleasent stay in this hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.
The building in which the Parador is located

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Upon reading some other reviews I can see where there might be some issues at this property, but our night worked well, hard to find and get to but location superb once there. Very few other guests when we were there so room selection was good, very clean, common areas majestic, service only adequate, restaurants close by, no help with luggage, view and surrounding area outstanding, wish we had spent more than 1night

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomkmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I had requested a room with a view and was contacted by the staff prior via email to tell me a view would cost 30EUR more per night. Okay, I paid and thus was sad upon arrival to our tiny room with a small window. Okay, so size of the room and the small window make sense since it is a historical building and a bit of fortress. I write this for those of you who may read the review of others who had a "huge room." Expectation setting is important and since I had expected a bigger room with a bigger view I was a bit disappointed but got over that. I What I can't get over was the poor service.

Rafe at the front desk could barely be bothered to answer our Qs. After we carried out own bags up the stairs from the parking lot and through the front door to the front desk, I would have at least expected him to hold the door that went through to where we had to catch the elevator, especially since he accompanied us to show us where it was. No luck, he went through and we were left struggling to balance it open for each other. We came back later to ask several Qs about the area and once again he offered the most minimal answers.

At breakfast the first day there was a wait of 20mins to get in to the breakfast room since it was too cold for eating on the patio. Once again, I can let this slide but the fact there was only one poor girl trying to service 40 people (room capacity), clean tables, bring coffee, etc. seems cheap on the part of hotel that was completely full. Girl was nice enough but just could not keep up.

I am sure the nice patio with view make it a bit more worthwhile but if you happen to go when it is cold and rainy, like we did, and are stuck in your small room with cruddy service it seems too expensive for what you get. I still gave it an Avg rating rather than poor because historical builiding adds great value - after all, that is why you went there right?

Ps. Also, paying an additional 15EUR per night for parking made it all quite expensive.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and was glad there were not people above us as you can hear people walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calendar21PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Character and history of the building adds to a wonderful view over the harbour and sea. Room is smaller than usual but ok. Position is great to visit San Sebastian- a 30 min bus ride away. Hondarribia smaller town but easily accessible on foot, with quite a few restaurants available and bars including pintxos.Bar service friendly but note no restaurant in the parador itself (other than for breakfast)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MareeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The Hondarribia Parador is housed in a magnificient old castle in the heart of the old city, within walking distance to many good restaurants and tapas bars. Service is excellent, and fully up to the Paradores standards, but the rooms are a bit noisy and perhaps rather oldish. A great place, although somewhat pricey.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was an amazing place to stay and definitely a highlight from a recent trip to the Basque area. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic. Our room was on the small side but had a spectacular view of the river and we could see France which was on the other side of the river. We were at amazing time as the villagers were celebrating a festival and the little square outside the hotel was filled with people dressed in red and blue playing music and some on horseback and marching through the village. The Parador is a converted castle and so much attention was given to restoring all the detail and throughout the hotel are lovely sitting areas both inside and out. The breakfast was delicious and we sat in an atrium space overlooking one of the walls of the castle. Beautiful property and village and would definitely go back and the village has great pintos restaurants and gorgeous beach. I liked it much more than San Sebastian

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra to get a room with a view of the water definitely worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susannahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 8 in Hondarribia
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 8 in Hondarribia
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#5 of 8 in Hondarribia
228 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Serge Blanco & Thalassotherapy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Property: Parador de Hondarribia
Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing