We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Don't think of staying anywhere else in Hondarribia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jaizkibel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jaizkibel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't think of staying anywhere else in Hondarribia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. It is really quite outstanding and I hope we will be able to return there sometime! The receptionists and all the staff were charming, The room (we had a junior suite) was excellent (the standard rooms looked more than adequate) with a huge comfortable bed, and the restaurant served an excellent meal. In parador style you can have a 3 course meal from the a la carte menu for €24. It was fantastic value and included perhaps the best fillet steak I have ever enjoyed. Good choice of wines at a very reasonable price. There is secure underground parking with very relaxing gardens around the hotel. The hotel is in a quiet residential area above the town some 10 minutes away downhill with escalators and lifts. The town is very attractive with very old interesting buildings and the sea front is charming. Plenty of bars and restaurants there and wonderful views across the estuary to France if you drive through the town and up behind. We have stayed in the parador in Hondarrhibia twice before but Hotel Jaizkibel is in our view far superior and when we stayed this time much cheaper. Only minor criticism was the buffet breakfast where the food selection was rather limited (nothing hot either on display or available to order) and we felt it was expensive for what was provided.

Room Tip: Better views from 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicHeald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    74
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
174
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September 2011 on a camping holiday! We got to Hondaribba on our motorbike and it had been raining very heavily so we did not want to camp! I asked in reception for a room for 2 nights (in full motorbike kit cold and wet!) The staff were very helpful sorted a room for us and let us dry off in the basement car park until the room was ready.

If you are driving to the hotel the car park is very secure warm and dry!

The room was lovely spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and a good size too. View from bedroom window was of rooftops and surrounding mountains.

Food at the hotel wad very good and not too expensive. The wine was really good value.

Loved it here and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room, the cleaning, the service, the staff, the location... everything was just perfect.
Me and my husband were there on our honey-moon, and it was completely the right choice. It's a 4 stars hotel, but it feels like 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceG957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Fantastic location on the edge of town so it's very quiet, but a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants down the escalators. Ten minutes walk from the historic old town and the sea front. All receptionists speak English and everyone was very helpful. Parking underneath the hotel is a great advantage over other hotels in Hondarribia. The third storey is a fabulous sun terrace with sun loungers and lovely panoramic views. The food in the restaurant deserves a mention as this was also of an extremely high standard and good value. We stayed for only five nights in September but will come back to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dino H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed one night at this really nice small hotel in Hondarribia while making a long trip from France to Portugal and making a stopover in the San Sebastian area. This is a small hotel that was made with a lot of attention to details and that offer great comfort. It's. True 4 star that will make you feel at home. The rooms are simply yet comfortable, the breakfast is very complete, the service is as good as it gets. I truly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Great hotel close to San Sebastian
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepitoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A very good and well run hotel. The whole place is clean and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts and restaurant meals were excellent. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English.
It was rather hard to locate as the satnav just kept taking us near but not quite there, they apparently have a problem with that which they are trying to sort out, but at least you get a tour of the vicinity.
Within a reasonable walking distance of the town.
It is in a pleasant quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
274 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with our 18 month old daughter and couldn't have chosen better. The hotel is a stylish building, very modern and our junior suite was large and really well decorated. Also perfect for a baby as there was a sitting area with a sliding door to connect to the bedroom. Bathroom decorated with nice touches. Reception staff incredibly friendly and played with our little girl - for whom they also arranged a babysitter when needed.

The hotel was quite quiet when we were there except for one night when there was a big conference which was pretty loud. Didn't bother us though. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was of a very, very high standard and incredible value. The chef is clearly very talented. I imagine that in season it would have a very nice atmosphere, as it was it was a bit quiet when we were there.

Location of the hotel was great, maybe a 10 minute walk into town which is no problem. Can't believe anybody could have an issue with that. Hondarribia itself is very nice with a hushed, beautiful old town and a new town with some brilliant pintxo bars where everybody was very friendly. Seafront is nice to wander around too. We also ate in Sebastien and Alameda which were top notch - Sebastien very beautiful and slightly old fashioned, Alameda very stylish and Michelin starred.

Room Tip: Junior suites are worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#7 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#2 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#3 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Serge Blanco & Thalassotherapy Center
0.2 mi away
Villa Lorenea
Villa Lorenea
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaizkibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaizkibel

Property: Hotel Jaizkibel
Address: Baserritar Etorbidea 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jaizkibel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jaizkibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaizkibel Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing