We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!”
Review of Hotel Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Obispo
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel has a great location with a great view.
The service of the staff is excellent, they are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is small but nice with a good variety of fruits, omelets drinks and breads.
Rooms are much smaller as I expected and look bigger on their website too, this was a bit disappointing considering that it is not a cheap Hotel
The building has been well upgraded to provide comfort and style to the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. I think it has been rebuilt from a ruin but what a splendid job they have done. family run, this place is like a second home, warm friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and very spacious with our very own turret terrace with a magnificent view.

Staff were warm and friendly and most speak Spanish, Basque, English and French. Parking was easy, short walk to the tapas bars, and look for the elevator on the other side of the church - saves heaps of stairs.
Great stay.

Room Tip: get the room wit the turret terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

With a charming welcome, an historic building, a great location and being amazing value, this was a brilliant place to stay. It was a former archbishop's palace, I think, and is monumental in construction. A steep stone flight of stairs to the entrance might put off some, but there is a warm welcome waiting for you from the front desk, and a cosy foyer. The bedroom had stone walls and was quite spartan but had a nice feel to it and the beds were comfortable. A free drink is offered in the bar for guests and they know how to make a mean gin and tonic. The breakfast was similarly generous with eggs and bacon cooked to order and nice meats and cheeses. This hotel is not high end luxury but it is charming and generous. I don't know how they do it for the money!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Converted from a Bishop's Palace, this small hotel features charming rooms right in the historic center of Hondarribia; it has seven parking spaces next to the building and lots of free parking nearby. Rooms are comfortable, with large bathrooms and many have gorgeous views of the area. This is really like a small boutique hotel; serves a first-rate breakfast buffet; very helpful staff speak English, French and, of course, Spanish! Clean and comfortable, with tons of delight, this is NOT a modern and sterile chain-branded hotel.
It doesnt have a lift, but the helpful staff moved our cases up to the room; there are many excellent restaurants and tapas bars nearby, including Alameda, one of the finest restaurants in the Basque country. The hotel is located on the edge of the old Citadel, and spectacular walks along the bay-front are a few steps away.
Hondarribia is a great location for exploring the Basque country in both Spain and France; every interesting spot seems to be no more than twenty or thirty minutes away by car. The hotel and the town are easily accessible from motorways and main roads, making it easy to get around the region. We stayed ten days, and would go again in a minute!

Room Tip: Ask fro rooms with a view of La Rhune or the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super atmosphere in this old building within the walled city area. A bit creaky but comfortable. Breakfast very good with friendly service. Find a restaurant early in the day to reserve for dinner, otherwise most of the better places are fully booked and the hotel do not serve dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located. The view from the top of the medieval citadel is great. The service of the staff is excellent, they are very helpful. The breakfast is quite enjoyable with a good variety of fruits, omelets drinks and breads.
I agree that it is not for everyone. Rooms may be a bit small and 'quirky' as someone stated but my family enjoys buildings with a touch of history. We think the building has been well upgraded to provide comfort and style to the guests. We'll be back in our next trip to Hondarribia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globoterraqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you like old and qiuirky buildings you will love this place, but it is not for everyone. If you want or need a lift - forget it! There isn't one and the the stairs are narrow and wind round like a medieval tower - which it probably is. Getting two heavy cases up them was an experience! On the plus side, the room we had was very nice with a balcony and great views. Breakfast was good and the evening meal - although the selection was modest - was palatable. As for lunch, we were told that there were a number of good restaurants nearby, but nothing in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hondarribia hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 9 in Hondarribia
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#5 of 9 in Hondarribia
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 9 in Hondarribia
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obispo

Address: Plaza del Obispo, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hondarribia
Price Range: $94 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obispo Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing