We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Spain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Obispo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Nieuwpoort, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old Spain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super atmosphere in this old building within the walled city area. A bit creaky but comfortable. Breakfast very good with friendly service. Find a restaurant early in the day to reserve for dinner, otherwise most of the better places are fully booked and the hotel do not serve dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    92
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located. The view from the top of the medieval citadel is great. The service of the staff is excellent, they are very helpful. The breakfast is quite enjoyable with a good variety of fruits, omelets drinks and breads.
I agree that it is not for everyone. Rooms may be a bit small and 'quirky' as someone stated but my family enjoys buildings with a touch of history. We think the building has been well upgraded to provide comfort and style to the guests. We'll be back in our next trip to Hondarribia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globoterraqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you like old and qiuirky buildings you will love this place, but it is not for everyone. If you want or need a lift - forget it! There isn't one and the the stairs are narrow and wind round like a medieval tower - which it probably is. Getting two heavy cases up them was an experience! On the plus side, the room we had was very nice with a balcony and great views. Breakfast was good and the evening meal - although the selection was modest - was palatable. As for lunch, we were told that there were a number of good restaurants nearby, but nothing in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barx, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The Obispo has been sympathetically refurbished to provide comfort, albeit with some quirks! Great location in the old town with magnificent views across to the Pyrenees and France. A convenient lift from the Old Town delivers you to the seafront, 5 minutes from the hotel. Our 3rd floor ( no lift), very spacious and comfortable room was light and airy. The breakfast was very good and could be taken in the small courtyard garden. No restaurant, but one literally outside the door which was very good value for money and plenty more within 3 minutes walk. Hondarribia is a lovely town to visit. We would definitely use the Obispo again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was wonderful, once it was located. It is not readily apparent how to enter the hotel grounds. There are three posts in the road leading to the hotel. When a button is pressed, one will lower to the ground. Then, the road opens.
This is a charming hotel with a fantastic view of the seaside and surrounding mountains. The rooms are very comfortable and romantic. The windows open to allow one to go out onto the balcony.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar downstairs has a fireplace and many antique furnishings, which are very comfortable.
The breakfast was very good with much fresh cheese, meat, yogurt, coffee and tea.
The hotel area is very quiet even though it is in the middle of the town.
The townspeople are very friendly and eager to be of help. The shop keepers were also friendly. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxing.

Room Tip: The room where we stayed was on the second floor (must walk up as the building is very old). It had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

What a place to stay, the place is like a Palace. A desperate entrance into the city walls, parking on the doorstep, complimentary drink on arrival. The decor is delightful, big bedroom with view over the bay, website, minibar, every comfort. Staff welcoming and helpful. The location is within the walls next to the church and Parador. Terrace and bar are good for winding down. Sitting room with authentic fire place. Furniture is old or reproduction, original artwork. This feels like being the king of the castle. Breakfast was cooked to order, plenty of variety.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Obispo and couldn't have been happier. We chose the most inexpensive room on the top floor, so had a massive skylight and small window but not the beautiful balconies of the superior rooms on the lower floors. Nonetheless, we thought it was a fantastic deal, charming room, wonderful service, and delicious included breakfast buffet (including made-to-order eggs).

We also took advantage of the free bicycles available for use, and took a lovely albeit short ride along the river and harbor out to the tip of the pier a few miles away.

Location of the hotel is superb--right in the old city although on a quiet square so not touristy at all. There's parking available in front of the hotel for free, but it was full, so we parked on a street below the old city for free and had no problems.

Hondarribia is fantastic and well worth a visit, and I'd highly recommend this charming hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hondarribia hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lorenea
Villa Lorenea
#5 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obispo

Property: Hotel Obispo
Address: Plaza del Obispo, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obispo Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing