We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Restaurant and Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarri Restaurante

Sugarri Restaurante
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great wait staff, amazing food, beautiful restaurant, great prices! This was hands down one of the best meals we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. The daily lunch menu with 3 courses and wine and coffee included was only 22 Euro. If you are going to be in Hondarribia, do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdrgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipema, Director Comercial at Sugarri Restaurante, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We love to have critics like yours thats why we try to do our best.
Thanks, thanks, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Rio Bidasoa for a week on holiday and had booked the restaurant for our first evening in Spain. I chose from the set menu which cost 22 Euros for three courses which also included a very decent bottle of Rioja. The starter was a seafood risotto which was topped with a delicious foam tasting of the sea. Tiny fresh mussels and small pieces of different types of fish were mixed in with well seasoned rice. The main meal consisted of a perfectly cooked fillet of hake which was presented on a layer of savoury potatoes and a garlic and parsley sauce. I can honestly say that it was the finest piece of fish that I have ever eaten. Sublime! The sweet course was similar to a caramelised bread and butter pudding (without the fruit) and was served with ice cream-delicious. A fabulous meal and one I shall never forget.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spikelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipema, Director Comercial at Sugarri Restaurante, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for your message. We are trying to do our bests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

One of the best but unpretentious restaurants in the best town of the north of spain for fine dining

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I went to Sugarri upon a friend's recommendation. It's in Hondarribia, a fisherman's town just 30 mins drive from San Sebastian. Our friend was living in the Basque Country for more than two decades and continously updating his knowledge about restaurants and chefs.
It was a Sunday afternoon and Sugarri was empty. That made us feel a bit uncomfortable at the beginning. But later, we realized that local people started to come after 3 o'clock.
I can easily say that all dishes were great, wine (Remelluri) was excellent and the desert was incredible. Ourserver tried to help with some explanations and suggestions.
Totally, it's a work of art. Chef Bixente Munoz creates something special that you can never taste somewhere else. It's like having your own portrait by a talented artist.
Once in a lifetime experience. Never miss it if you're around!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarri Restaurante also viewed

Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Sugarri Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing