We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Gruta de las Maravillas
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Aracena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The guide did not speak English, our Spanish is pretty poor so we maybe did not get the best out of the visit but we still enjoyed the visit, it's definitely worth a look if you are in the area of Aracena.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    337
    69
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hugely impressive, luckily there was only four of us on the tour, able to take our time.
English translation available via iPods from tourism office adjacent to booking office.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcossebre, Spain
Level Contributor
260 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Really a marvel!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

One of the most beautiful caves I´ve ever seen. I was really lucky and thankful that they decided to do a tour for only 4 people. Rules are: minimum 25 before they start a guided tour. The cave is in the middle of the lovely village of Aracena, where you can find art scattered around the village. Interesting Geology to see and to discover. You won´t be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IlseSomodiwongso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayamonte, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Several visits over a few years”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spectacular place, the tour is in spanish only but the place is amazing. I love visiting the caves and the town.

Helpful?
Thank noneallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best days out on holiday I have ever had!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

These caves have to be seen to be believed, the caves (all 12 of them) are better than any other that I have seen anywhere.

the whole trip was a bit much for our toddler and our 4month old but children over 5 will marvel at the sights, some of the caves just take your breath away (and that's not because of the temperature or humdity)

Wear sensible shoes as it can be slippy (as my mother in law found out!)

The town is just amazing as well - a real jem!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveNelson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruta de las Maravillas also viewed

Aracena, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park
Aracena, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park
 
Minas de Riotinto, Province of Huelva
Aracena, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park
 

Been to Gruta de las Maravillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing