We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite traditional looking”
Review of Coliba Haiducilor

Coliba Haiducilor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite traditional looking”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to Coliba Haiducilor with some friends while in Poiana Brasov. The experience was nice. My lamb was good, well cooked. However, the soup i had for the first course wasn't really delicious. It was ok. The portions i felt were small for the money you pay - it's not very expensice compared to other countries but for Romania it can be pricey.

What i loved the most was the freshly baked bread - that was very nice.

My piece of advice for the administration would be to renovate the toilets in a proper way (i know, completely unrelated but you can make an opinion just by looking at toilets).

Helpful?
Thank Raouth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    133
    55
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

horrible...the rudest waitresses i've ever seen.the foof is horrible.the cook is very bad.old food.they only want to cheat you

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank irimarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yahel, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hansel and Gretel Shoot Winnie the Pooh!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Vegetarians and Animal Rights Activists should stay away, but if you want to taste venison, wild boar, or bear in a venue you won't quickly forget, this place'll do you proud! After a short walk (with ski boots it was more like a trek!) up a path through the woods near the base of the two gondolas, we arrived at a building that looked like Hansel and Gretel might have once lived there. Greeting us hanging upside down from a tree near the entrance were two dead pigeons, but we did not let this deter us. We peeked into the pantry downstairs - all I'll say is that it's worth a peek - and then climbed up the stairs to the restaurant. We were seated immediately, and looked around at the incredible "hunting lodge" decor. I didn't much care for the appetizers, though my companions liked them just fine, but I thoroughly enjoyed my combo platter of bear and venison, and the service was just fine. After the meal, I wanted to quit skiing for the day and go back to the hotel to rest, so I asked the waiter to call me a cab. They couldn't manage that, but the waiter offered to drive me (and my skis) back to my hotel, and I gladly accepted his offer!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EladLending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very nice experience - felt authntic even if fabricated”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a lovely meal here with 2 adults and 4 teenagers. The restaurant has been designed to be like a traditional "old" restaurant filled with lots of hunting equipment and dead animals ( skins !!). The kids loved it and we were able to get good food and wine.

We had the cheese and meat platter to start and found the lard a bit heavy but the others very nice. We ordered a litre of house wine which was very palatable and only cost 60 li ( €13).

A traditional gipsy band played a few tunes but were not obtrusive. Finally and importantly there were locals there.

All in all a nice experience and reasonable food and service - a good tourist experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

It is a good restaurant.The food are great (i recommend "Borcanul bunicii").The price are a little bit higher but the food and the services are excellent

Helpful?
Thank Claudiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coliba Haiducilor also viewed

Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Coliba Haiducilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing