We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant surprise”

Restaurant Vanatorul
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My recent experience there is unfortunately a bad one. I know this restaurant for more than twenty years and I considered the best place to eat in Poiana Brasov. Till this year. The menu has changed in a bad sense, the main courses are fewer and side dishes, beside boiled vegetables resumed to just one, horrible and greasy chips served with everything. The service and atmosphere is very good as it was, but the prices are higher with no reason (the prices in this restaurant was always higher than average but, at least the food was alright). So the only reason for my rating is the pleasant memories I have about good food and great time spent in this restaurant in the past. For the present it worth maximum two stars (poor), For the future, will see.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucho_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    75
    46
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“big surprise!!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I haven-t been there since last autumn and ... surprise! the menu was totally changed, the food very good and very beautifully arranged on the plate .. Master Chief's ...
Very good atmosphere, waiters smiling and attentive if you needed anything .. we were three couples and we had a great time! You can enjoy a romantic dinner, the surrounding scenery is great, but also you can have fun with friends.
Another plus that I must mention is the bill ... lower than expected ....
I recommend ... worth trying, definitely we will come back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive and food not so good”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Amazed by the view i've decided to eat lunch there but i've paied lots of money on poor meal got hornets flying around,lots of them.
I don't recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“maybe for drinks and desserts”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

not impressed with the food. quite expensive. desserts are good. service is also fine even if we had to wait a bit for the food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classic location, good food.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A nice restaurant with good food. A beautiful view, a classic mountain restaurant. The waiters are a little old fashioned, some are friendly, others less kind. Worth trying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ionescu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vanatorul also viewed

Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Restaurant Vanatorul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing