We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid rate hotel and fine for a few nights in the offseason”
Review of Ana Hotels Poiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ana Hotels Poiana
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Poiana Brasov
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Fine for a few nights in the off season but would not come back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austen824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a package with a well known UK operator catering for the over 50's. On arrival the place was empty and cold, devoid of any semblance of warm welcome. The rooms allocated all looked out over very large Fir trees which are no more than twenty feet from the rooms and obscure any view completely. Even though it was sunny and warm outside the room felt cold as little sun penetrated the dense trees. Building work was going on for the duration of our stay with continual noise from 0700 to 2100 hours.
Food consisted of very poor quality buffet style evening meals with poor choice and a number of our group suffered from sickness or diarrhoea The price of drinks was exorbitant by local standards and consequently the bar was a dead and devoid of humanity after dinner. .
For elderely guests the hotel is hardly ideal with many steps leading either up to the main entrance or through a number of cold corridors with steep steps through to the dining room.
Hot water was not always available and if we had chosen to use the SPA or pool we would be expected to pay 20 euros per person extra.
All in all a hotel to avoid like the plague

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umanbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is my first time in Romania and one of my only stays in a 3 star hotel, usually I stay in more expensive hotels, but this time the hotel was picked by the package tour operator. I stayed for 6 nights on a half board plan.
Poiana Brasov is a one street strip with more than 10 hotels, in a mountain area covered with scenary forests. Good place for multiple one day tours in the area. Climate in June was pleasant.
The Bradul biggest advantage is its sharing of facilities with Sports Hotel, which is a 4 star hotel. We stayed in a mini-suite which is only 15% more expensive than a standard room, but has 70% more space. Guests of Bradul can use the lobby, SPA, restaurant, terrace, and bar of the Sport hotel, which are excellent facilities. We liked the morning and evening buffet meals and used the SPA for massage and sport activities.

The staff was polite but not very fluent with English. There were several problems during our stay, which were not fixed. Bath water was luke-warm most of the time but hot once or twice. The window curtain fell off, but this was not fixed throughout our stay. I'm not sure if this is typical to the service culture in Romania or just to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scope_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anahotels, Manager at Ana Hotels Poiana, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel during your stay.We are always flexible into offering our guests the best experience in our hotels.Since you benefit from our services as Spa facilities and Restaurant meals and you enjoyed them,we welcome you to stay again with us in the future and we will make sure you will not have anything to worry about except too much relaxation:)

With our consideration,

Mihai Moisescu
Social Media Manager
Ana Hotels Romania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I totally agree with one of the previous reviews depicting a negative experience in the Hotel. I have been there for a 5-day training and was not able to attend the training at all and even left before it ended. I got a soar throat after the first night and then got colder and colder. The management refused to provide heating even though during the night temperatures were around 5 degrees Celsius. Everyone in our group got cold and they still refused to provide heating. I find that totally unacceptable!

Moreover, the small rooms and the very small matrimonial beds cannot explain the expensive rates.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMatei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We booked a room with a balcony and a "mountain view" several weeks before arriving in Poiana Brasov. On arrival we were given a room with no balcony and, well, an extreme close up mountain view - the window was a few feet away from a slope covered with pine trees. We were told there were no better rooms available; a coach party was in at the same time as us and it looked like we'd been bumped to a poorer room so they could have the better ones.

The other thing that really irritated us was that nearly everything incurred an extra cost. For two people to have a shot in the jacuzzi cost forty pounds! Even borrowing a pack of playing cards cost about 50p - it's not on their website, but there's a pack in the rooms that details all the charges.

If you were staying as part of a package holiday and were sure you'd get a room at the front of the hotel, it might be ok. But if you're travelling independently, don't bother. We ended up bailing after one night - we'd booked for three - and found a much better guesthouse in Brasov itself for half the money.

We'd intended to do a bit of hiking but were glad we'd moved; I don't know what Poiana Brasov is like in the winter, but in the summer the whole resort was soulless and expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I have stayed 6 nights and many times there was no running water (cold or warm) or heat. They explained us that the twin hotel "Sportul" is under renovation but this is no excuse. They should close both hotels. During the week there were few customers so getting breakfast was quite an experience because we had to chase waitresses through kitchen to get something.
There is no possibility to have fun in the hotel during evening because of course hotel Sportul is closed all leisure possibilities was in that hotel.
Renting ski equipment or paying for a ski instructor is more expensive then if you take directly near the slopes.
If you make reservation to hotel using internet then call the hotel to be sure your reservation is booked otherwise you can have unpleasant surprises.
I'll recommend you to avoid this hotel until the renovation of Sportul hotel is complete.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The hotel is really good value, and in truth probably a better standard than we were expecting for the money. The bedrooms are pretty modern with nice bathrooms and are perfectly clean and tidy.

The restaurant is shared with the Sport hotel and all the food was a decent standard (hot buffet style) with a choice of meals morning and evening. All inclusive Drinks are also very good, the beer is Skol or Carlsberg, the red wine is OK and the coffee is especially good.

The best part of the holiday is the Ski school which is well organised and run which gave all 7 of our party excellent tuition at different levels. I would definitely recommend this place to any novices or beginners.

Nightlife is not exactly plentiful but we were so tired every evening that a few beers at the hotel bar was all that was needed. If you are going for more than a week you may need to be a bit more adventurous and seek out the local pubs/bars so you don't get cabin fever.

The only down side is the long transfer from the airport but considering the money you pay it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wem_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poiana Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Ana Hotels Sport Poiana Brasov
Ana Hotels Sport Poiana Brasov
#2 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crisalpin
Hotel Crisalpin
#6 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
ALPIN Hotel Resort & Spa
ALPIN Hotel Resort & Spa
#3 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ana Hotels Bradul
Ana Hotels Bradul
#7 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Zorile
Vila Zorile
#14 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Teleferic Grand Hotel
Teleferic Grand Hotel
#1 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Hotels Poiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Hotels Poiana

Address: Valea Draga | Valea Draga, Poiana Brasov 500001, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Poiana Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Poiana Brasov
Hotel Class:3 star — Ana Hotels Poiana 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by fir forests next to Poiana Brasov's ski slopes, Ana Hotels Poiana is a beautiful holiday destination. Romania's largest ski slopes and the after-ski fun welcome the winter sports enthusiasts. Over the summer, Ana Hotels Poiana offers days of relaxation and an entertaining atmosphere for children themed summer camps. Poiana Hotel provides a combination of the peaceful scenery, fresh air from the surrounding forest and the warm atmosphere inside. The large rooms, offer complete comfort: from internet to TV's and comfortable beds allowing for a good night's sleep after a full day on the slopes. The studios and suites comprise a parlor and extensible sofas. Located near the Bradul ski slope, Poiana Hotel is the ski-in/ski-out destination where winter fun can be enjoyed to the full. From the rush of winter sports with the instructors at the Ana Ski School, to the delicious hot chocolate by the fire at After Ski Poiana. In the summer, the scenery turns into a green paradise, ideal for hiking enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ana Hotels Poiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Hotels Poiana Poiana Brasov, Brasov County, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing