We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising hotel in a spectacular setting”
Review of Peneda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peneda Hotel
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had a weekend in this hotel recently. The setting in the rough Peneda-Gerês national park (partly in Portugal, partly in Spain) dominated what would otherwise be just a nice weekend away. We were enormously lucky with the weather, which made the surrounding area look even more spectacular and we took advantage by taking several hikes in the immediate vicinity.
The hotel is clean, although the rooms and beds are smallish, almost as a reminder of its cloister origins. Overall, the hotel is fairly spartan but not unpleasant. It is so small that it cannot afford to retain personnel during the night, so you need to make your own way out between midnight and 08:30h. Personnel is very helpful, and the hotel has lots of useful information on the surrounding area. Breakfast is definitely so-so, with lots of room for improvement. Dinner is of great quality although some will find the limited choice perhaps less than ideal. We resolved that by going for a late lunch in Castro Laboreiro, a village further up in the same park; then there's no need for dinner afterwards. The market in front of the hotel during the weekend is interesting, with lots of people visiting the sanctuary for part of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank flightwithadutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

We spent three nights in the Peneda Geres national park, and this was a modernised hotel in a lovely location. A Waterfall is immediately behind the hotel and passess undereath, it is next to a church of pilgrimage, similar to Bom Jesus, but smaller and during the week we were there, very quiet. It can be busy at weekends and holidays I should imagine, with walkers, climbers etc. there's a good, steep walk from the hotel up to a peaceful lake.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, nice bathroom and seating area. There was a lift. We had a personal problem whilst there and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative was the restaurant menu was rather limited and there isn't any where else you can eat nearby, unless you want to risk a long car ride along the mountain roads at night with roadside cows. Yes, we would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chloelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank MikeRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcos de Valdevez
13.1 mi away
Luna Arcos Hotel
Luna Arcos Hotel
#1 of 4 in Arcos de Valdevez
137 reviews
16.4 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
362 reviews
14.9 mi away
Convento dos Capuchos
Convento dos Capuchos
#1 of 3 in Moncao
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Fonte Velha
Hotel Fonte Velha
#2 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
28 reviews
11.8 mi away
Moinho do Azere
Moinho do Azere
#3 of 4 in Arcos de Valdevez
1 reviews
10.5 mi away
Monte Prado Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peneda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peneda Hotel

Address: Lugar da Peneda | Gavieira, Arcos de Valdevez 4970-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Arcos de Valdevez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arcos de Valdevez
Price Range: $67 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peneda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Peneda Mountain's shaded you can live the thrill of the discovery by the amazing landscape. UNESCO World Heritage and elected has one of the Portuguese Seven Wonders, part of the PANPARKS group, o Espaço Peneda materialize the true highland spirit of contemporaneity.The Peneda Hotel, built next to Nossa Senhora da Peneda Sanctuary, has 20 rooms equipped with private bathroom, telephone, cable tv, WIFI Internet and desk. Join us in our restaurant where you can taste the best of Portuguese cuisine - specially from Minho region.Peneda Hotel is located about 40km from Arcos de Valdevez and 26km from Melgaço. The Francisco Sá Carneiro Airport (Porto) is 150km away while the Peinador Airport (Vigo) is only at 40min away from the Peneda Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peneda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing