We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful space”
Review of Casa do Rio Vez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcos de Valdevez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa do Rio Vez
Reviewed October 3, 2013

An idyllic location, sorrounded by a crystalline river where, among the fertile vegetation, frogs and even otter can be seen. Decorate with a very fine taste. Every morning is a celebration, wonderful breakfast. A green valley rounded of mountains, trails and amazing places nearby.

Casa do Rio Vez is a space to rest and forget about the stress, with natural relaxing enviroment. That is the reason Casa do Rio Vez exists. You are not able to realize what you will find in this place, it is quiet, clean, peaceful. The precious views, the nature everywhere makes it an unique place. There you can read, think, practice yoga, meditation.

Spain is really near, so we can not miss the opportunity to visit this wonderful place. I can recommend as one of the very best places to visit. We had been visiting Casa do Rio Vez everytime we can since 2007 and we will keep doing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseSJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

The place is amazing, I've already been there for 4 times ! It's the only place I did that, as I usually try to find new places. We feel so welcome by Anibal and Valerie, and the breakfast are like 5 stars hotel, done with so much care. The house is such well decorated aThe surrond is beautiful, like a magic forrest.. I went there in summer, winter and spring and it is great in each season. I recommend !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaraMagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm always thinking about go there any opportunity I have. It is a very nice place, peaceful and relaxing. The river sound during the night, all the birds around the trees. This is something not easy to find. The breakfast is great, tasty and you can eat whatever you want or can. The quiet place invites to read. I had done a lot and enjoyed very much.
The people around is very kind, but the owners are great. A place to forget the noise, stress, hurries. It is a charming magic house. My friends and relatives had enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaGrajedaRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've been to Casa do Rio Vez for a calm family weekend (parents and two children).
It's a country chic house where you have all the modern amenities. At the same time you are surrounded by nature and at a doorstep of one of the most amazing natural parks of Portugal. There are plenty of outdoor activities for nature lovers.
Regional gastronomy is a must try experience. The owners, Valerie and Anibal, are very helpfull and they make you feel at home! We hope we can soon be back!

Room Tip: The loft is ideal for families with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We travelled as two families of four and as such booked the four rooms in the main house. We were on arrival given information of the facilities and what the area offered. We were told that nearby restaurants offered good reasonably priced food and some also offered takeaway services.

We were told we had use of the house and that the separate annex was just that - separate. We were advised that locking the front main door was unnecessary. At no point was it mentioned that the guests using the separate annex would also be using the lounge and have full access to the house or that at any point it was communal. The lounge in itself was not big enough to accommodate us as 4 adults and 4 children so how another family could comfortably have 'relaxed' there is ridiculous. Our bedrooms had no locks as you would expect in a boutique hotel - which is how the owners also chose to describe the place. If it is their intention for the main area to be communal then changes need to be implemented and security more of a priority.

Given the above and the total lack of clear communication on the part of the owners it became a very stressful time. It was pointed out to us that we had to eat any takeaways outside and not use the main dining table. Again this was not communicated at the beginning. We cleared and cleaned the table for breakfast to be laid the following morning but the owners were very rude in pointing out our 'faux pas'.

It is not possible to eat outside as the area is extremely badly lit. The footpaths and walking areas are uneven stone clad and very easy to lose your footing. I would suggest that if it is the owners intention for the guests to eat outside then make sure there is proper lighting and not a few tea lights to serve the purpose.

The 'kitchen' is outside and consists of a small table, a couple of chairs, fridge and sink, cutlery and plastic crockery. The entrance to it is extremely precarious and taking food and drink in and out was a real mission! In the dark very irritating and dangerous.

It is a very confused set up on the part of the owners. If it is their intention of offering a boutique hotel service then clearly the amenities have to be in place. There is no bar, used crockery has to be washed up by the guests and the general expectancy one would have of a boutique hotel is just not offered. Having pointed out that we had a colony of ants in our rooms, we were given an insect spray to deal with the problem.

The owners own residence is situated next to the guest accommodations. It is a shame that guests are not left alone to enjoy their stay. They were fully aware 4 children would be staying in addition to the guests already booked and as such toys would be found at various stages in the day and the pool would be utilised. However umbrage was also taken to this even though our belongings were always cleared up being mindful of the other guests in residence at the annex.

Anibel and Valerie were very rude and arrogant. Having booked after reading the positive comments on trip advisor we were shocked at their behaviour. It would seem that complacency has set in.

It is a beautiful area but if anyone is thinking of staying at this residence more than a few days - think again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayfairgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadoriovez, Proprietário at Casa do Rio Vez, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Since the comment Mr. Budhdeo is the continuation of what was said by Mr. Bansal in he's previous remark, has they are part of the same group, we repeat the previous response which is equally adequate.
Note: We assume to have the right to reveal guests names as in their statement our own names are also uncovered.
***
Indeed the guest who wrote this inopportune comment has a confused idea regarding what is the offer, better said, proposed, at Casa do Rio Vez.
Indeed the guest in question, rented four of our five rooms, not the full state in self-catering, circumstance not previewed in our commercial policy.
The following notices which are sent to ALL guests together with the confirmation of the reservation, clarifies any doubt regarding many of the claims wrongly expressed by the guest, since he can't deny to have received, in time, this information:
• In the basement, swimming pool and garden level, during high season, we provide a fridge, glasses & cutlery, so guests can prepare light meals. In the garden there are several tables w/ chairs for guest use. Also as all restaurants nearby provide takeaway, guests are welcome to use the garden tables to take meals.
(for security reasons all plates and glasses to be used in the gardens are in plastic)
• The kitchen in the main house is for exclusive use of the staff
• The table in the lounge is only intended for breakfast service. We ask our esteemed guests, please to not use it for any other purposes including taking meals.
Since the Loft is not "more than an annex", but our most expensive room, obviously guests staying there have access to the lounge to relax, make use of our free computer corner and library, therefore the door accessing this facility can´t be closed.
In height years since we open to the public it was never necessary to remind any guest the basic norms of civic behavior and respect for the privacy and tranquility of the other customers, but unfortunately this was not the case we faced with this group:
• The lounge became a office with papers all over the place.
• Shoes, socks, all sort of cloth, toys, pizza boxes could be found in the lounge and gardens.
• the 16 seated places we provide in the gardens were permanently occupied.
• the swimming pool was used as the family exclusive play ground.
• Every morning we had to collect glasses, wine bottles and garbage which was left in the lounge and gardens the previous night.
• Though we provide 3000 sq/yd of gardens per person, guests staying at same time in the Loft could hardly find a tranquil place to enjoy outside .
We tried with gentle words to get things back to normal, but unfortunately without success.
In many occasions we thought the best was to invite the group to leave our premises, but instead, decided to wait patiently for their departure.

Valérie Thille et Aníbal Cunha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Gorgeous location beside the river, very friendly hosts. Valerie and Aníbal couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Further the contemporary renovation done by the owners, rooms and lounge are spacious, luminous and cozy. Breakfast his generous and excellent.
We had a fantastic stay
Thanks so much for sharing this place with us

Roger H.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Whilst Casa Do Rio Vez is set in beautiful surroundings we felt the owners have a confused idea of what they were offering. Two families of four traveled together and we booked all four rooms in the main house. We were told on arrival that we need not lock the main door during the day so we had a very secure feeling about the house. We used it as though we were the only one's in it which we were. Breakfast was set out for eight and there was no room for any more tables. However, it turned out that the owners became annoyed with us for leaving our books and cameras downstairs whilst we were at the pool as apparently the 'loft' (which was more of an annex) was also allowed to use the lounge area in the main house. We did not know this and had we known we would have locked the doors after us each time we left. We had also taken meals on the dining table as the very good local restaurants provided take-aways but the owners said we could only eat on the outside tables which were insufficiently lit for the children. There is an outdoor 'kitchen' provided which consists of a sink and some plastic plates and which have to be washed up by the guests. A fridge is also provided but this means that if you want to relax in the evening someone of your group has to go outside in the dark to the fridge to get cold drinks which was very annoying. We were reprimanded by Anibel and ignored by Valerie. We felt very unwelcome after this. If the main house was rented out as a self catering house with the use of the kitchen it would be far more appropriate. But the owners think they are offering a boutique hotel service. For the avoidance of doubt, there is no bar, any crockery used has to be washed up by you, the water is not replaced in the rooms everyday and the tea making facilities in the rooms do not even have milk. These things do not matter but I would probably expect them in a boutique hotel. We also had ants in our bathroom and whilst that is not such a big issue when we mentioned it to the owner he said it was probably because we had left crumbs of food lying around. In the bathroom!! He was very offensive. I would definitely not take my children here again as they even got told off for splashing in the pool. An 8 year old generally splashes in a pool!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadoriovez, Proprietário at Casa do Rio Vez, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Indeed the guest who wrote this inopportune comment has a confused idea regarding what is the offer, better said, proposed, at Casa do Rio Vez.
Indeed the guest in question, rented four of our five rooms, not the full state in self-catering, circumstance not previewed in our commercial policy.
The following notices which are sent to ALL guests together with the confirmation of the reservation, clarifies any doubt regarding many of the claims wrongly expressed by the guest, since he can't deny to have received, in time, this information:
• In the basement, swimming pool and garden level, during high season, we provide a fridge, glasses & cutlery, so guests can prepare light meals. In the garden there are several tables w/ chairs for guest use. Also as all restaurants nearby provide takeaway, guests are welcome to use the garden tables to take meals.
(for security reasons all plates and glasses to be used in the gardens are in plastic)
• The kitchen in the main house is for exclusive use of the staff
• The table in the lounge is only intended for breakfast service. We ask our esteemed guests, please to not use it for any other purposes including taking meals.
Since the Loft is not "more than an annex", but our most expensive room, obviously guests staying there have access to the lounge to relax, make use of our free computer corner and library, therefore the door accessing this facility can´t be closed.
In height years since we open to the public it was never necessary to remind any guest the basic norms of civic behavior and respect for the privacy and tranquility of the other customers, but unfortunately this was not the case we faced with this group:
• The lounge became a office with papers all over the place.
• Shoes, socks, all sort of cloth, toys, pizza boxes could be found in the lounge and gardens.
• the 16 seated places we provide in the gardens were permanently occupied.
• the swimming pool was used as the family exclusive play ground.
• Every morning we had to collect glasses, wine bottles and garbage which was left in the lounge and gardens the previous night.
• Though we provide 3000 sq/yd of gardens per person, guests staying at same time in the Loft could hardly find a tranquil place to enjoy outside .
We tried with gentle words to get things back to normal, but unfortunately without success.
In many occasions we thought the best was to invite the group to leave our premises, but instead, decided to wait patiently for their departure.

Aníbal Cunha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de Valdevez hotels
1.3 mi away
Luna Arcos Hotel
Luna Arcos Hotel
#1 of 4 in Arcos de Valdevez
130 reviews
0 mi away
Casa nos Penedos
Casa nos Penedos
#2 of 9 in Arcos de Valdevez
4 reviews
12.4 mi away
Peneda Hotel
Peneda Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arcos de Valdevez
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quinta do Fijo
Quinta do Fijo
#6 of 9 in Arcos de Valdevez
3 reviews
0 mi away
Paco da Gloria
Paco da Gloria
#9 of 16 in Arcos de Valdevez
11 reviews
8.1 mi away
Casa da Gandarela
Casa da Gandarela
#3 of 9 in Arcos de Valdevez
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Rio Vez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Rio Vez

Address: Estrada de Seleiros cx., Arcos de Valdevez 4970-130, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Arcos de Valdevez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Arcos de Valdevez
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel-design " Contemporary Charme " • An Old Olive Oil-press, Built 1886, Moved By The River Vez, Restored In 2004 To Offer An Unexpected Architecture; Gathering Generous Contemporary Spaces With Old Granite Walls And Surrounding Nature.• 4 In Suite Rooms W/ Double Bed + 1 Private Loft, 4 Pax, Self-catering.• 300m Of Natural Swimming Pools. • Out-door Swimming-pool.• Tv - Wireless Web.• 10.000m2 Of Gardens, Among Mimosas And Oaks Alongside The Banks.• Arcos De Valdevez – Minho – Portugal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing