We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Belmonte
Ranked #1 of 7 Belmonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we visited on business and we're not able to fully enjoy this hotel, but it really impressed us on our short visit. Breathtaking view, great breakfast, friendly staff, big/clean/comfortable rooms and beautifully designed hotel. On our 12 days business trip around Europe, this was by far the best value! Nothing but praise for this hotel! I would imagine a weekend here would be incredibly relaxing :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank NikkiTxSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Convento de Belmonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've stayed at the Pousada, Belmonte 6 times now, on our return trips from the Algarve to the UK. The hotel is in a stunning location overlooking a valley and the Serra de Estrella mountains. Although at the end of a country lane, it is well sign-posted and easy to find. The staff are always very welcoming and the decor is rustic, but done by someone with a great eye for detail. It is very peaceful at night. We have only eaten in the restaurant once and thought the food was of a high standard. Normally, we have a simple bar meal (eg a toasted sandwich) and a glass of wine on the terrace and watch the sun go down behind the mountains. Breakfast is typical of the Pousada hotels and is probably its weakness if you like a comprehensive menu. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore the natural park of the Serra de Estrella.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, the ones on the lower floor have larger terraces/balconies.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was just an overnight stop for us en route from Algarve to Bilbao, but what a delightful surprise, though it takes a bit of finding around wibbly wobbly roads! Charming lady welcomed us and they made us a proper pot of tea - it was 4 o'clock and we are English! Breathtaking view from bedroom (and elsewhere around the hotel) and all manor of little nooks and crannies to explore.
I'm a bit surprised at the slightly negative tone of some of the restaurant reviews as we had a superb dinner, though it was quite expensive. Vowed we'd have a pizza the next night!
Highly recommended hotel in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the valley, but, if not, ensure you book one that does.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyhs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Pousada is lovingly restored with lots of interesting corners and the views across the valley are beautiful, but the restaurant is overpriced and Belmonte itself has nothing worth making a detour for. The breakfast was disappointing with only canned fruit but the staff are lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The views are stunning, the staff are very friendly, The restoration of the complex is very good indeed mixing the old with the new. The dinner we had in the restaurant was lovely if a little pricey. Belmonte itself was a little disappointing, very drab, no where to get a beer. We got a taxi from the hotel into the town expecting a good evening, but after trying the bars and the restaurants, we got a taxi back to the hotel as it was much better.

Room Tip: The views overlooking the valley are heavenly all rooms overlook the valley so you can't go wron...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 901SteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The grounds and facilities were beautiful and the views looking across the valley were stunning. Throughout the building were numerous nooks and crannies with comfortable furniture that made it possible to relax in a bit of privacy. Additionally, the staff was very nice and friendly. Unfortunately, however, the restaurant was not on par with the hotel. The breakfast was only ok with a very limited selection, and the dinner was a lesson in patience. The Pousada restaurant was elegant in style, but challenged in execution. The partridge was not available as it is seasonal, and the wild boar and all sides were extremely salty. The veal steak though was super.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This boutique hotel is situated on top of a hill with beautiful views of the surrounding area. To reach this remote location you travel over narrow winding roads at the end of which you reach this ancient edifice. An abandoned convent which has been restored to maintain its medieval character but with modern facilities. There were many nooks and corners where you can lounge privately. It is perfect for a quiet relaxing honeymoon. The restaurant also provides wonderful meals with good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmonte
9.8 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
16.0 mi away
Hotel Belsol
Hotel Belsol
#1 of 1 in Belmonte
81 reviews
9.0 mi away
Purala Wool Valley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
355 reviews
6.7 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
44 reviews
14.9 mi away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Belmonte

Address: Convento de Belmonte | Serra da Esperança, Belmonte 6250-073, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Belmonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmonte
Price Range: $105 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Belmonte 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the slopes of the Esperança Mountain, at just over 1 km from the town of Belmonte, the birthplace of Pedro Álvares Cabral, the Pousada Convento de Belmonte results from the renovation of the former Nossa Senhora da Esperança Convent dated 13th Century.Inside, the chapel and sacristy have been converted into a lounge and bar a good example of the harmonious blend of historical architecture and modern construction and comfort.The Pousada hotel has preserved the Monastery’s heritage intact, included amphitheatre architecture layout in the pine woods on the slopes of Esperança Mountain, and stunning landscape with views over the Cova da Beira region and Estrela’s Mountain. Guests can use this historic luxury hotel as a base for exploring the many historical monuments is the region, including the castle, the burial vault of the Cabral family, the Jewish Quarter, as well as the natural beauty and folk traditions of Serra da Estrela (Estrela´s Mountain), one of the Europe’s most important natural reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Convento de Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento De Belmonte Hotel Belmonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing