We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of serenity on a mountain top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Belmonte
Ranked #1 of 6 Belmonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Oasis of serenity on a mountain top”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Pousada do Convento de Belmonte sits on top of the Serra da Esperanca, above the town of Belmonte, and is an oasis of serenity and beauty. There are several elegant sitting areas in the extensively renovated medieval monestary, and over the course of a week we enjoyed having drinks before dinner in varied surroundings. The views of the Serra da Estrela, the highest mountain range on the mainland of Portugal, are outstanding. At night the lights of towns on the lower mountain slopes are dazzling. The pool was too cold for swimming, except for the hardiest souls, in an unusually cool spring, but the area around is attractive. . There are numerous interesting antique artifacts all around the site, with surprise ruins inviting exploration. All the rooms face the view, and are roomy and nicely decorated, with beautiful, dark wood doors, granite counter in the bathroom, and tile floors with throw rugs. The restaurant is top notch, and our week-long package included several choices from the menu, with wine. The AC is central. Service is friendly and attentive, and the staff remember you and can keep everything straight to charge your drinks to the right room at the end. This is a genuine 4-star experience, much better than the typical big city 4-star rated hotels. I was there on a walking holiday tour, and we travelled to a different walk about an hour’s drive away, every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    97
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
209
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This converted convent is a beautiful place. It sits on top of hill overlooking a lovely valley. They have done a wonderful job of preserving the feel of the convent, while making it a very comfortable place to stay. The rooms are named for monks, instead of given room numbers. We stayed in Frei Malavasia. The service was top-notch. My only complaint was the bed. It was the hardest I've ever slept in. I think it must have been left over from when the monks actually lived here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjtkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely big airy rooms, soft cuddly blankets, really tasty properly sized (not huge, not too dainty) portions of food. The service is amazing - all staff are friendly and seem to say yes to everything. The two waiters in the restaurant are lovely - smiley faces and very attentive. As for the lady on reception (the one who was there most of my week) she is a gem!

And the view from the rooms - almost unreal (except those on the very left didn't get any sun on the balconies until the evening which was a bit disappointing - ask for a room near the main stairs if you are on the left extension).

Room Tip: Rooms on the left (upstairs and down) don't get any sun until the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had anticipated staying in a place that had the standards that we had seen in other Pousadas. Unfortunately, we were to be disappointed. This establishment is apparently a franchise and it lacked many of the features of others in the chain.

We arrived in the afternoon to be greeted by a not very inviting receptionist. Our room was quite a distance away and we were expected to manhandle our cases over uneven pathways and up stairs. Not a great start. The room was very tired with stained carpet and the bed was very hard, These and other matters were raised with another receptionist when we left the hotel and to her credit she was very understanding, listing all the problems and significantly discounting our bill.

This part of the experience was a great pity because belmonte is a very nice town with a most interesting history

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Belmonte is a small village set high above a valley. The convent that the hotel is set in dates back to the 13th century. While the hotel manages to retain the atmosphere of the original historic building, the rooms are comfortable and modern. The food is world class. I had the degustation menu, which was one of the best I've ever had. The different courses were all extremely tasty and quite diverse. I would highly recommend it to any food lover. The staff are also friendly, courteous, and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was originally a convent, now beautifully restored to a luxury hotel. The furnishings were beautiful, with little nooks and crannies everywhere. Great to explore all areas, and the atmosphere at night was lovely. Subdued lighting in all areas. Our room was huge, called Frei Pedro, a superior room, with a huge private decked area, with sun loungers, and breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and valley!
Our evening meal was one of the best meals ever! Cooked and presented to a very high standard! If in the U.K, stars would be awarded. The waiting staff, there only was one, Tiago, was brilliant, very attentive but not obtrusive! The restaurant was quiet, as only ourselves and one other diner were eating, but it was midweek.
My one criticism was the swimming pool and terrace area. The pool was uninviting, and the terraced area needed a lot of maintenance, but the staff told us we arrived on their first day of summer! Charming staff throughout, nothing was too much bother!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Rooms and hotel itself are very nice and have authentic feel of Portuguese pousada. All our rooms had balcony with a great view of the surrounding area. Hotel has excellent restaurant which must be visited. We had one of the best dinner here during our vacation in Portugal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmonte
9.8 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
16.0 mi away
Hotel Belsol
Hotel Belsol
#1 of 1 in Belmonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
11.8 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Santos
Hotel Santos
#1 of 9 in Guarda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
14.2 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Belmonte

Property: Pousada Convento de Belmonte
Address: Convento de Belmonte | Serra da Esperança, Belmonte 6250-073, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Belmonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Belmonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Convento de Belmonte 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the slopes of the Esperança Mountain, at just over 1 km from the town of Belmonte, the birthplace of Pedro Álvares Cabral, the Pousada Convento de Belmonte results from the renovation of the former Nossa Senhora da Esperança Convent dated 13th Century.Inside, the chapel and sacristy have been converted into a lounge and bar a good example of the harmonious blend of historical architecture and modern construction and comfort.The Pousada hotel has preserved the Monastery’s heritage intact, included amphitheatre architecture layout in the pine woods on the slopes of Esperança Mountain, and stunning landscape with views over the Cova da Beira region and Estrela’s Mountain. Guests can use this historic luxury hotel as a base for exploring the many historical monuments is the region, including the castle, the burial vault of the Cabral family, the Jewish Quarter, as well as the natural beauty and folk traditions of Serra da Estrela (Estrela´s Mountain), one of the Europe’s most important natural reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Convento de Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento De Belmonte Hotel Belmonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing