We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Convento de Belmonte
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belsol(Belmonte)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solneve Hotel(Covilha)
$50
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Eufemia(Covilha)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purala Wool Valley Hotel & Spa(Covilha)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel(Covilha)(Great Value!)
$66
$63
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Lagar da Alagoa(Serra da Estrela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Sao Roque(Serra da Estrela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
335
113
25
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
113
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted conventwild boarbeautiful hoteloverlooking the valleyrooms are largethe air conditioningdining roompublic areasstunning viewsfirst rateexcellent restaurantice creaman amazing placepea soupnice pooljewish museummonastery
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 480 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Pousada convento de Belmonte in early July 2012. We've been coming to Portugal for more than twenty years and have stayed at many pousadas. We had chosen the Belmonte Pousada because it was supposed to be one of the best and supposedly had an excellent chef. The Pousada itself was beautiful as we'd expected and the location was very good but other than that just about everything was disappointing. When we arrived we decided to eat lunch at the Pousada since it was 1:00. We went to the dining room and there was no staff in sight. We went back to reception and they called someone. We wanted something light so we sat on the terrace and ordered from the bar, a sandwich on bagutte and a ham and cheese tostada. Both arrived after a 40 minute wait and were probably the worst sandwiches we've ever had anywhere. Stale bread, cheap ham and cheese, etc. We still kept our reservation for dinner because of the chef's reputation. We assumed he had no connection to the person who'd made the sandwich. To make a long story short, dinner was also a huge disappointment. We ordered lamb. It was a small portion, tough and loaded with fat! It came with a huge non descript portion of polenta. Salad was dressed with dressing that tasted like it came from a bottle with croutons that looked like they came out of a bag in the U.S. The couvert was a basket of toasties, not even any fresh bread. BAD meal! Breakfast was also inferior and had the look and feel that eveything had been sitting around for days. On one positive note, the staff were pleasant and helful but there were very few people (staff) around and the ones that were there were running around trying to do everything that normally is done by a much larger staff in other pousadas. Compared to two other Pousadas we stayed at during the same trip, Viana and Braganza, the level of cleanliness was below par. We would not return to this Pousada nor would we recommend it to any friends or family. We highly recommend Viana and Braganza (not the restaurants but most are not noted to be especially good) which are EXCELLENT in every way! A recommendation the manager of Pousada Belmonte. If you're cutting back on staff and quality because of economic problems your financial problems will get worse, not better as you get fewer and fewer guests because of negative reviews and recommendations. We hope you take this and other recent reviews to heart and do your best to bring your Pousada up to the standards that should make you proud.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buildings7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This pousada has not the same level as other pousadas but they have a great restaurant (with an other management as the pousada itself)

Room Tip: You can better ask for the greater rooms if you want to stay at the hotel (in order to visit the surroundings)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The pousada at Belmonte is maybe 2 km from the centre of town at the top of a high hill looking across a broad valley to the Serra da Estrela.It is one of only two pousadas which are not part of the Pestana chain. It is a sympathetically, but not luxuriously, converted monastery. Rooms don't have numbers but names - ours was Frei Pedro! We liked the atmosphere and the ambience and the staff were unfailingly helpful. Our one problem was a hard, hugely uncomfortable bed. The restaurant is not run by the pousada but by an independent chef. The menu was large with a big choice of dishes. The range of choices and the standard of what was on offer was vastly higher than in any of the other 20 or so pousadas we have visited.

Room Tip: unless you like a very hard bed, avoid having the room called Frei Pedro
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having stayed at other pousadas, I highly recommend this charming pousada, a converted monastery, is located on a hillside on the margin (about a 5 minute drive from the centre) of Belmonte.

Staff are very friendly, clean (tiled floors), modern rooms are beautifully decorated (tiled floors) and have small balconies with a table and chairs (ask for a balcomy overlooking the ravine). There are also many common/seating areas inside the hotel.

The restaurant on the premises serves lunch and dinner. We only ate there for dinner which was above average quality (as with other restaurants in Portugal, the price tag for the bread, butter and olives was pricey at 4.5 Euro). The is a very large balcony used by the restaurant in when the weather is warm.

There are hiking trails that start a 5 minute walk down the road. The quiet trails offer great views of the valley below.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On this trip, we stayed at three Pousadas. Nothing particularly wrong with Belmonte, but we did not feel it is at the same level as the other two. Room felt like it had only been cleaned superficially. I found a price tag left on the carpet in the room, garbage can had been left near full. Walking in front of the linen room, we could smell smoke coming from inside, where clearly the cleaning staff had been smoking.

Old convent is the central part of the pousada, with rooms on one side, and restaurant at the other end being newer constructions.

Restaurant was good, and we felt a bit sorry for them that on that Sunday night, they served only two tables, ours and another one with four people. Recession, I suppose?

While the food was good, it could have been warmer; it felt like transit from kitchen to our table was very slow? Not really bad, but noticeable, which is a pity because otherwise we realy liked it.

Other issue: wine list was nice, but our first three or four picks actually were unavailable. Recession again?

(Apparently the restaurant is a separate business from the pousada, since we had to pay separately. Perhaps we should place the review separately? Still, the restaurant would be on the plus side...)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews