We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to unwind”
Review of Pico Do Refugio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pico Do Refugio
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent 5 very relaxing days at Pico Do Refugio. The lofts are beautifully decorated and look over the pool and green pastures. The hotel is centrally located and you can get to either end of the island in under an hour.

The hosts are extremely friendly and have great recommendations around the island

I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumantra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at Pico do Refugio for 2 nights, and it was a perfect introduction to the Azores. The location is stunning, and only 15 minute drive from airport, but very tranquil, both the houses themselves and the pretty grounds. The staff were very nice and helpful in recommending nearby restaurants. Breakfasts of fresh squeezed orange juice, local breads, cheeses and jams were delicious. Rural stay with high kevel of comfort. Good base for exploring Sao Miguel. Next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apphia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My girlfriend and me have been to Pico Do Refugio end of january till beginning of february. It´s an amazing place to recover, take a breath of fresh air, enjoying the silence and the amazing landscape. The entire area of Pico Do Refugio is superb, you can feel the historie of the plantage and its´buildings. The appartments are lovely and individually furnished. The service that is provided (daily cleaning, tv, everyday fresh wood for the fireplace, coffee) is amazing, manuel and his team are doing a great job to satisfy you. We will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 870ralphb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this place, beautiful location, close to so many wonderful sites. Manual and Marie were wonderful and although they did not speak english, we were able to communicate. The rooms were huge and the bedding was cozy. The breakfast was the best we had the entire trip. Im shocked this place doesn't have many reviews, a true gem! I still day dream about this place and we will certainly go back!!!! Marie makes amazing jams and we brought a few back, still enjoying them six months later!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can't believe this place has only got one review and it's average.... It's excellent!!!! We arrived on Saturday morning and were welcomed by Manuel & Marie. Manuel was fantastic, communication was hard as we didn't speak any Portuguese and he didn't speak English but it didn't matter. He went out of his way to help us, booking an amazing fish restaurant for our first night and driving us, arranging car hire, booking surf lessons, whale watching & just being so helpful and welcoming. Marie made sure our beautiful loft was cleaned and looked after every day. The accommodation is stunning, we stayed at the top of the hill. Our loft was great, we loved it. We enjoyed spending time there and often cooked in the evenings and stayed in watching films, great selection of movie channels! Our biggest tip is to get a car, we considered getting one for just a few days but you definitely need one for the whole time. It's in a great location, you can easily get around the island and it's so easy driving out there. The main reception is great for using wifi and having a coffee, there's loads of games, books & info about the island. Visit Furnas, we had a great local meal and enjoyed the hot springs there.The scenery is absolutely stunning, the island is so beautiful. Massive thank you to Pico Do Refugio, we'll be recommending you & hope to come back day!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Globetrotter2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os quartos são bons e bem localizados.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anacmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandro_R_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Grande
14.8 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
2.6 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
328 reviews
5.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
7.0 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#6 of 41 in Sao Miguel
422 reviews
8.6 mi away
Pestana Bahia Praia
Pestana Bahia Praia
#1 of 2 in Vila Franca do Campo
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pico Do Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pico Do Refugio

Address: Roda do Pico 5 - Rabo de Peixe, Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel 9600-501, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ribeira Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Ribeira Grande
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pico Do Refugio 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Pico Do Refugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pico Do Refugio Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing