We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality meal for your €.”
Review of Alabote

Alabote
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good quality meal for your €.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had lunch on the terrasse of the Alibote while visiting Ribeiro Grande on June 29. Although it was late (after 2pm) we were received with curtesy. We were facing the sea, on the terrasse. Great service and Great food for the Price. Only négative point: I was expecting a bit of originality in the recipes that are somewhat the same throughout the island. Competitive price for an original setting and decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janson Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    347
    98
    48
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, amazing ocean view”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent food, great service and enjoyed by all. My family, 3 children, my parents and our niece celebrated our 15th anniversary at Alabote and had a very memorable experience. The view and ambience overlooking the ocean and Ribeira Grande beach is truly one of the best settings for a meal on the island. Five in our party enjoyed seafood and none were disappointed....my wife enjoyed her fish so much she was reluctant to share any with me. Our children shared a portuguese steak and french fries and it was grilled perfectly. Great service as well, Veronica was very attentive and took great care of our group helping make our anniversary very special. Highly recommended, one of our best meals on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, Nice staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had very good lunch! Sea food is recommended. Staff is nice, the restaurant is new and very well located with a sea view. We'd recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good fishrestaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The view from the restaurant is amazing, and the fish is really great. An extra plus for the pinapplejam and cheese for starter. But I don't recomend choosing a meat-dish, since the standard of their fish-dishes is so much better!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Novle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Diner was something we didn't enjoy.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We first had lunch here that was good and good coffee.
It's allowed to smoke in the bar but that doesn't bother me, there is free wifi that's handy.
But the second time a few days later we had diner on the terrace overlooking the sea, so the location is nice and easy to find at the end of the boulevard.
But the food then was terrible we had a Portuguese steak that had a better function under my shoes then for food.
A shame but maybe we had a bad chef in the kitchen at the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabote also viewed

 
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel
Rabo de Peixe, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Alabote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing