We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely day - look no further!”
Review of Maria Pic-nic

Maria Pic-nic
Price range: $11 - $29
Description: Maria Pic-nic its a family-friendl restaurant that creates unique and traditional Azorean picnics for you to take-away and enjoy at your own leisure. Picnics are a popular practice in the Azores. Our nature has unforgettable places for picnics, such as the banks of the lagoons, the deserted beaches, our belvederes. You can choose to perform a picnic at sunset in the mosteiros or enjoy the interior of the island and make a picnic at the pico da vara. The different menus were selected for you to experience the Azorean culture along fresh, local food. Maria Pic-nic is a company dedicated to providing moments of sharing in nature and in the family, for that reason we also have a menu dedicated to the babies, adapting us to any type of request. We prepare wedding parties, birthday parties, corporate events, groups that are looking for nature to perform physical activities, as well as yoga retreats (We have special conditions for large groups). The picnic baskets are delivered with plates, cutlery, serving dishes, cups, bottle opener, napkins, tea towels and any other utensils necessary for each specific menu.
Restaurant details
Description: Maria Pic-nic its a family-friendl restaurant that creates unique and traditional Azorean picnics for you to take-away and enjoy at your own leisure. Picnics are a popular practice in the Azores. Our nature has unforgettable places for picnics, such as the banks of the lagoons, the deserted beaches, our belvederes. You can choose to perform a picnic at sunset in the mosteiros or enjoy the interior of the island and make a picnic at the pico da vara. The different menus were selected for you to experience the Azorean culture along fresh, local food. Maria Pic-nic is a company dedicated to providing moments of sharing in nature and in the family, for that reason we also have a menu dedicated to the babies, adapting us to any type of request. We prepare wedding parties, birthday parties, corporate events, groups that are looking for nature to perform physical activities, as well as yoga retreats (We have special conditions for large groups). The picnic baskets are delivered with plates, cutlery, serving dishes, cups, bottle opener, napkins, tea towels and any other utensils necessary for each specific menu.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Maria is incredibly knowledgeable of all the best things about São Miguel - and her food is delicious! Her suggestions of hiking treks were amazing and the picnic she prepared us made it all so special and unique. We highly recommend Maria Pic-nic and will certainly be getting in touch next time we're on the island.

Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariapazpimentel, Owner at Maria Pic-nic, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Maria packed us a wonderful lunch to take on our hike at Sete Sidades. The tuna sandwiches were delicious with lots of fresh lettuce, and fresh bread. She was very easy to work with and brought the food right to our hotel. Definitely recommend! Thank you Maria

Thank daniellek994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariapazpimentel, Owner at Maria Pic-nic, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

What a wonderful time we had spending the time cooking with Maria and Lisa. This young lady has started a wonderful business. She is personable, and talented and certainly made us feel more then welcome in her home. Her desire to meet peoples needs in picnics etc is evident and we would highly recommend this cooking class as part of your trip plans.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 557sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariapazpimentel, Proprietário at Maria Pic-nic, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure to meet you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

Maria's perfectionism makes her food really exceptional. She provided our group of 42 with excellent picnics on two separate occasions and also prepared wonderful traditional food in the hot springs at Furnas. This really is a culinary experience unlike any other:

Thank Gentlemanoftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariapazpimentel, Proprietário at Maria Pic-nic, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure to prepare a meal to your group. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Maria organized brunches, snacks and picnic lunches for a 12-person group for our weeklong yoga retreat. Maria did an outstanding job developing a robust menu while meeting a mix of dietary restrictions. Maria delivered meals for our group on-time and made serving the meals seamless. She also packed several snacks and to-go lunches to make it easy for our group to explore the island.

Of note, Maria's picnics are one of a kind; we arranged for her to meet us mid-hike in Furnas where she arrived early, set the table, blankets, pillows and when we arrived on the picnic spot on the lake it was truly a dream come true. Our guests were amazed.

Maria loves food and you can taste in every bite. She offers healthy and traditional cuisine using the best ingredients on the island.

We will be using Maria Picnic for any group we work with in the future!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RimiChakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Pic-nic also viewed

 
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel
 
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel
Rabo de Peixe, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Maria Pic-nic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing