We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Convento Arraiolos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arraiolos
Certificate of Excellence
Ille-sur-Têt
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

As I have already pointed out somewhere else, last november we took a brife tour os Portugal. We stopped for one night at this beautiful and extremely well renovated and decorated Pousada de Portugal, with a fantastic mixture de modern and old. The service is very good and the meal at the restaurant was superb, above all because of the two attendants. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergioPalazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    91
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you enjoy excellent modern design contrasting with remarkable historic character in a country setting you will enjoy this Pousada. There were very few customers at the end of October 2012 so we enjoyed the solitude. The restaurant was excellent for breakfasts and dinner. Staff were attentive and well trained in hospitality. The nearby town of Arraiolos is picturesque and pleasantly void of tourists, within a 30 minute walk. Town and country in beautiful balance. Evora is worth a visit, only 10 minutes away by car. The grounds with their remote chapels and meditative places were inspiring.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Spazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A perfect if remote venue for winding down 20km from Evora. Rooms are a bit soulless especially those that face North.
Restaurant was being upgraded so can only comment on Breakfast room which lacked atmosphere.
Food ok if unspectacular.
Policy of charging €3 for in room water and €4.50 for a small tin of Pringles at odds with value for money deals being currently promoted.
Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was one of four pousadas we stayed at on a recent tour, and a place it would be a pleasure to return to. Arraiolos is a small town and the hotel is a kilometer or two out into the countryside, so you should probably count on eating and drinking 'at home' in the evening. The bar will prepare a (rather basic) sandwich if you had a substantial lunch somewhere and just need a snack after you get in. Architecturally this is a great blend of restored convent (including an in-house church, unusually blue-tiled throughout) and a stylish modern wing with sun terrace and pool. We stayed in the old part (cheaper?) but our room had been adventurously revamped: it was interesting in design, had two separate spaces as well as a huge bathroom, was peaceful, comfortable and very appealing, and looked out over a very large courtyard. Just great. This is a good centre for trips out, handy for the motorway but not too near it, should also be OK for walks and cycling, and has pretty extensive grounds where horse-riding seems to be on offer. Probably a good place to do nothing whatsoever except laze around, come to that.

Room Tip: Old building, top floor, looking towards new wing: quiet, convenient, good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for a friends wedding. Amazing venue. A great building that has been tastefully renovated. The rooms we large and well finished with a great view. We found all the staff to be excellent and happy to help with and requests. We would have liked to stay for a bit longer, it feels like a great place to sit back and relax in.

It represents great value for money in comparison to other European hotels.

Hope to get back one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed a couple of times in this hotel and had several lunches in the restaurant. It's standard pousada comfort, lot of concrete, modern decoration and spacious rooms. very quiet ! Nice swimming pool. Outstanding staff ! very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is quite good, but not of equal standard. We had very good lunches, but also one which was a little bit disappointing, very likely due to the lack of staff in the off-season.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioJulioNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned from a fab two week stay near Burgau in Portugal. We decided to head north for two nights, to visit the historic city of Evora and Lisbon, choose this Pousada because it was in the middle. We stayed two nights in the suite, a family of four. The room was amazing, historic, trendy and functional. Our two small boys had a separate adjoining room all to themselves. Breakfast great, lovely pool with breath taking views, general atmosphere of this historic venue fantastic, calm and quiet. Service great, the staff were lovely with our children also (3 and 6 years). Highly recommended, call you get better rates than the website.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigDavyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arraiolos
11.9 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
22.7 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
10.5 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
11.6 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
11.6 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Arraiolos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Arraiolos

Property: Pousada Convento Arraiolos
Address: Pousada de Arraiolos - Nossa Sra. da Assuncao, Arraiolos 7040-093, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Arraiolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arraiolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento Arraiolos 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Arraiolos, Nossa Senhora da Assuncao, is situated in a sixteenth century convent presenting itself as an example in the art of recovery of historical buildings which combine traditional features with the concepts of modern architecture. The union between tradition and modernisms is celebrated in this Pousada with innovated luxury. During the middle ages the convent served the local evangelistic population. With the restoration into Pousada, the austerity gave way to joy, the simplicity of comfort and to penance to life's pleasures. Staying at this Pousada is a fantastic pretext for getting to know the town of Arraiolos, whose cultural heritage is world renowned, through its carpets which are a true work of art of tapestry. Guests of the Arraiolos hotel park for free on location. The centre of Arraiolos is 1.2 Km from Pousada de Arraiolos, Nossa Senhora da Assuncao, and 25 km from Evora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento Arraiolos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Arraiolos
Pousada De Arraiolos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing