We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Convento Arraiolos
Nearby Hotels
Casa do Platano(Arraiolos)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Antiga Moagem(Arraiolos)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa D. Diogo - Turismo de Habitacao(Arraiolos)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa do Castelo(Arraiolos)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Couto do Cacador / Hunter's Cottage(Arraiolos)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
177
130
29
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
130
29
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomshort walksmall townbeautiful viewbuffet foodindoor poolthree nightshistoric hotelwonderful placereception staffhot weatherguest roomsnorthern portugalrestored conventa la cartewhole buildingwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 348 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was one of four pousadas we stayed at on a recent tour, and a place it would be a pleasure to return to. Arraiolos is a small town and the hotel is a kilometer or two out into the countryside, so you should probably count on eating and drinking 'at home' in the evening. The bar will prepare a (rather basic) sandwich if you had a substantial lunch somewhere and just need a snack after you get in. Architecturally this is a great blend of restored convent (including an in-house church, unusually blue-tiled throughout) and a stylish modern wing with sun terrace and pool. We stayed in the old part (cheaper?) but our room had been adventurously revamped: it was interesting in design, had two separate spaces as well as a huge bathroom, was peaceful, comfortable and very appealing, and looked out over a very large courtyard. Just great. This is a good centre for trips out, handy for the motorway but not too near it, should also be OK for walks and cycling, and has pretty extensive grounds where horse-riding seems to be on offer. Probably a good place to do nothing whatsoever except laze around, come to that.

Room Tip: Old building, top floor, looking towards new wing: quiet, convenient, good value.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for a friends wedding. Amazing venue. A great building that has been tastefully renovated. The rooms we large and well finished with a great view. We found all the staff to be excellent and happy to help with and requests. We would have liked to stay for a bit longer, it feels like a great place to sit back and relax in.

It represents great value for money in comparison to other European hotels.

Hope to get back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed a couple of times in this hotel and had several lunches in the restaurant. It's standard pousada comfort, lot of concrete, modern decoration and spacious rooms. very quiet ! Nice swimming pool. Outstanding staff ! very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is quite good, but not of equal standard. We had very good lunches, but also one which was a little bit disappointing, very likely due to the lack of staff in the off-season.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioJulioNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned from a fab two week stay near Burgau in Portugal. We decided to head north for two nights, to visit the historic city of Evora and Lisbon, choose this Pousada because it was in the middle. We stayed two nights in the suite, a family of four. The room was amazing, historic, trendy and functional. Our two small boys had a separate adjoining room all to themselves. Breakfast great, lovely pool with breath taking views, general atmosphere of this historic venue fantastic, calm and quiet. Service great, the staff were lovely with our children also (3 and 6 years). Highly recommended, call you get better rates than the website.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank BigDavyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The first thing about this hotel is that the building itself is amazing. It has a beautiful old church attached and the cloisters and ceilings in the old convent have been beautifully preserved. We stayed there midweek and it was very quiet with very few other guests. All you could hear were the birds chirping, the buzz of crickets and in the evening the bells on the local goats.
We booked a standard room but it was smaller than a normal standard room so we upgraded to the next size which was fine but still not very big. There was a small sitting area and a small balcony and a nice size bathroom. The hairdryer is not really a proper one as it is just a tube on the wall that blows hot air - so if you are fussy about how you look bring your own. The pool was grand as it was quiet and pool towels were provided.
Breakfast was just average and dinner was quite overpriced and also just average. I would not choose to eat there again unless I was stuck.
We walked to the local village - the walk is all uphill and in the hot weather this proved to be quite a walk! We joined the villagers in the evening for a beer on the square and were pleasantly surprised that it only cost 70cent a bottle and the village atmosphere was nice.
If you want a completely quiet and peaceful retreat this is the place for you (unless they are hosting a wedding) but if you like a bit of entertainment or night life give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit. The rooms in the older part are all different and some have only small windows, the rooms in the new purpose built part are more like standard hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews