We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to eat”
Review of O Alpendre

O Alpendre
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Arraiolos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The best place in Arraiolos to eat and have a taste of the good Aletejana Cuisine! The decor is rustic, bucolic and perfect for the atmosphere. The staff is nice. The only negative point is the price: as they are a known restaurant in the vicinities, they push up on the prices! But somehow it is worth!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cipereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    173
    45
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Real alentejo kitchen ”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Annoying seeing the reviews here of those ignorant tourists who do not really know what they are talking about... but those simple of tastebuds may indulge in fastfood...
This restaurant has some original dishes on the menu.... but migas and asparagus or sopa de cação is no food for the simple of taste...
Very good ... the lamb chops are divine

Helpful?
3 Thank Bearchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was one of the worst experiences we ever had in a Portuguese restaurant. The service was super slow (it took more than one hour from we ordered until we were served) and although it was a typical restaurant, the served food was extremely primitive (the traditional food in Portugal is simple, but this was worse).

The waiters were rude, maybe because we didn't want the entrees. Note: in Portugal the restaurants place entrees on the table, even if you don't ask for them, and they are not for free. If you eat a tiny portion, then you must pay for all of the plate.

Also the bill had a mistake in their favour and we had to ask for it to be corrected.

Last but not least, in Portugal it is possible to drink one of the best coffees in the world - probably the best. It is just not acceptable that the restaurant served espresso from a nespresso kind of capsule, instead of one from a real espresso machine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LE-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is worth every penny...but still quite expensive from a Portuguese standpoint”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hors d'oeuvre are delicious (and as one is hungry....). I would recommend "cação" (typical small shark fish) and "migas" and, if you don't have to watch your HDL and LDL Choles. please do indulge in pork....and desserts (esp. those made with yolks, for gourmands)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marygla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We read good things about this place, and drove out from Evora to see the carpets in the town, and eat here. Things started very well. They brought out a tray of "cogumelos" (mushrooms), quail eggs, some usual but nice sliced ham, and cheese. These were all quite good (which, it turns out, was good, otherwise we would have gone away very hungry). The menu had a lot of English, but there were still question marks, and the waitress, though friendly, couldn't help much. By recommendation of the waitress we ordered two dishes, the asparagus "migas" and the "bacalhau," or cod. The migas were asparagus mixed with bread, in a kind of bread pudding consistency. This would have been fine, but it came also with way overcooked pieces of pork. The dish was also far too much for one person. As was the cod, a huge piece of fish that was grossly undercooked. We sent it back to be cooked more. They cooked it more, but it was also not a very good cut of fish, with much gristle/fat, and what was "tender" was so salty it was practically inedible. We should have sent both dishes back to the kitchen, as unacceptable, but with no real way to communicate we didn't want to start an internatiional incident. So it was easier to just chalk it all up to the inevitable bad meal on the road, and pay the bill. The whole thing was a bit of a fiasco, which was unfortunate because the people were quite nice. Cook's day off? New one? I don't know.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Alpendre also viewed

Arraiolos, Evora District
 
Arraiolos, Evora District
Arraiolos, Evora District
 
Arraiolos, Evora District
Arraiolos, Evora District
 

Been to O Alpendre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing