We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniquie, Warm and Inviting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Ranked #1 of 4 Redondo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uniquie, Warm and Inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are anywhere near this area, this is the place you have to stay! From the spectacular tilework to the the chapel to the grounds, this hotel is amazing. We at dinner at the restaurant, where the waiter at the restaurant told us stories about the origins of the dessert recipes dating back to the monks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pescadero, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

spectacular buildings, tiles, art, gardens. attentive staff, and dining in an old chapel. stay a couple of days and explore the alentejo towns, countryside nearby. nice walks on the property. famous pottery artisans in nearby towns.

Room Tip: a wide variety. ask the desk personnel for guidance in choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Comfortable; reasonable yet somehow seems like a very extravagant stay at a totally full service hotel-though not a spa. Full service in that anything is possible under the direction of Eduardo Bon Sousa, the multi-dimensional Hotel Manager/Director. He manages a flow of events and unique groups of tourists in a masterful way. Groups of weekenders for a (50) birthday celebration were never imposed on other guests (well, I don't think so). 2 pools; side day trips and an on-site lovely restaurant with European service, local foods,and style. Very well presented meals amongst a large gathering. Oh, did I mention party 24-7? Great for destination wedding or gathering.

Room Tip: I love Room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is fantastic--excellent staff, beautiful grounds, fantastic food, and great views! They also have wifi in the main cloister, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. I was there with a large group and Eduardo (I assume he is the manager) gave us a very interesting tour of the grounds and various patios and terraces. Staff were very friendly and professional. Also they have a lot of different kinds of art throughout the monastery.

I would recommend it as a great place to go with a group, family, or for couples. Also great food and breakfasts there as well. My only regret--I forgot to tip for dinner! One day I'll have to go back I guess.

Room Tip: They're all good, but within the main building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freecycle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

While travelling through Portugal, we found this amazing place by coincident in the evening. Our room was very nice (not in the main-building) with a fireplace, etc. The most interesting thing for us was to "explore" this old monastery with its old artworks.

Service is very attentive and the food (dinner & breakfast) good (and served in unique places). We will definitely come back, but then for a longer time (this time, we needed to leave after one day :-( ).

Room Tip: Any room is good, just take a look at the different styles, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanW_Sgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We visited in may 2012 with a large double room with en-suite bathroom for only 60 euros including breakfast!! The hotel was very quiet and both swimming pools were empty - except for us. The building was beautiful with fresco's and an original chapel. The pools were nice and the staff were friendly. Our car broke down so we were stuck here for 2 days but we couldn't have been stuck in a nicer place. The food was also quite good at the restaurant.

Room Tip: We slept in an outhouse which was very spacious. I think the rooms in the old building are smaller a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night during a trip through Alentejo, beautiful building worth exploring,
good food, nice and clean rooms.
Relax oasis in the middle of nowhere.
Little swimming pool.
Ideal for travellers passing from Alentejo to the south of the country (don't forget to visit Estremoz walking through the poussada), Marvao in the North, very interesting horses in Alter Real in Alter do Chao).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo
8.1 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
9.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
18.9 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
21.2 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo

Property: Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Address: Aldeia da Serra, Redondo 7170-120, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Redondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Convento De Sao Paulo Portugal/Redondo, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing