We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay June2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Ranked #1 of 4 Redondo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My stay June2012”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This was a fantastic discovery, we found this hotel on hotels .com. We booked our room for one night and departed Seville not knowing what to expect. On arrival we knew we had a special place to stay. I can say this is the most peaceful place I have ever stayed. From the pool surrounded by greenery to the centre court garden where you can dine or relax with a book. It is all great. Internet access works well in the courtyard area. Our room was very spacious and clean. The entire property is full of atmosphere and history. The food was good and service was great. If you are looking for a unique place to stay look no further than this property. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to family and friends. We also added a second nite to our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank filmguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
90
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked for 1 night and stayed 2. They have turned this once convent into a quirky hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and entered through the original Monks doors.
The food was ok, breakfast was shared with loads of flies! but the staff were on hand with sprays...
Off the beaten track but well worth the effort

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Impressive convent in the middle of nowhere. Quiet. Excellent atmosphere and superb staff. Two good swimming pools, various hiking trails, although the mountain bikes were not in very good shape. You can visit Évora, Vila Viçosa, and you are near to the Spanish border.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavitolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ancient convent partly turned into hotel, with very succesful adaptating of the cells to comfortable if somewhat small rooms. Beautifully at harmony with the surrounding mountains this is truly one for total quiet and getting away from .. pretty much everything.
Very helpful trilingual staff, more than decent food and very good prices. And so very quiet and relaxing. I stayed a weekend, all by myself - but I suspect I could have brought the whole family and stay for a month and no one would complain of boredom. The ideal place to recharge batteries. Or paint. Or write. Or explore the nearby villages that seem to be living (as opposed to being ghostly) in another century... But with mod coms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingVeidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Nice and historic place !
Problem is that it is not suited for people that have breathing problems like astma because the rooms are moist ! If you walk in the corridors you smell the moist in the building.
My wife had an astmatic attack because of the room-climate, but to be honest ; we got a suite offered the second night with no surcharge ! So service etc is excellent.
The restaurant is good but not more than that ; if you want a nice and real portugese meal go to redondo - across the church is a small bar (not in the side street, but really across) the church ... if you walk through the bar there is a small restaurant in the back ... had a hughe fish (dorade) for 9 euros and try to get also Bochechas (pigs cheeks) ...
Also nice place to eat is in Evora Restaurante Cozinha de ste Humberto in the Rua da Moede (sidestreet of the main market square).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny metro
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I've visited this hotel twice and although it is not on the typical tourist route I look forward to visiting again. A member of the Hoteles del Arte and Heritage Site Hotel associations, Convento has a full schedule of art exhibits, dance and music concerts amid lovely accommodations including the largest collection of Portuguese tile in the country (world?); the contemporary art collection of the Henrique Leote Foundation; a lovely on site restaurant; an accommodating staff and beautiful surroundings with small day trips throughout the region.. THERE IS A PHENOMENAL OFFER FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PACKAGE!!!! WISH I COULD GO......I KNOW IT WILL BE A PARTY! check it out!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Fantastic ex-convent, now hotel. The decor is amazing, the scenery is fantastic, the rooms are lovely. It has retained the old convent look, but has added in modern art. Sounds weird but it seems to work!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed_killie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo
9.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
18.8 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
9.3 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo

Property: Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Address: Aldeia da Serra, Redondo 7170-120, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Redondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Convento De Sao Paulo Portugal/Redondo, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing