We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This pousada is special in many ways and quite a surprise.
First, when entering through the gate and the door, we felt rather weird. We did not feel very welcome... - but this was built as a fortress, and the architect managed to keep the feeling. The reception was very friendly, the most efficient in any pousada on this trip and also helpful with luggage.
What we fell really in love with was the room (suite 201). The design, furniture and space is nothing but perfect late 1960 style. Very clean, modern but warm and cosy. Space is well used, and we enjoyed the little terrace for smoking cigars and drinking port. The bed was the best we had in any pousada.
The view from this room is wonderful, as it goes on three sides. Spectacular are the swallows ballet around it at sunset, and the nightingales concert at night.
Wireless was free and worked perfectly in the room where I was sitting (the pousada has enormous walls - this might depend where one sits). We were welcomed with sparkling wine and a fruit platter which was renewed daily.
All the staff was very friendly. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent; breakfast was served outside on the terrace which we enjoyed.
What makes this pousada truly spectacular are the huge and well thought common rooms. There are reading rooms, terraces, a fire place, a bar, a place for playing chess. Architecture and design are a true masterpiece. As this pousada is only one hour from Lisbon, we will certainly not miss it on our next trip.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites - they are a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montecristo-no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 350 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This Pousada is located on a hill top 10 minutes walk from the village center. be prepared for a rather exhausting walk back to the Pousada after visiting the local restaurants. Not recommendable for disabled people, then you have to use a car. The Pousada has very nice staff, a really good restaurant that was recommended by Guide Michelin in 2013. Remember to close the windows over night, the local roasters will wake you up at 04.00 am otherwise. You can park your car direct outside the entrance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with river view, they have very nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed in suite on 3rd floor. Very spacious with high ceiling and nice view over the river. The pousada features a fantastic blend of architecture of old and modern. Suite had a comfortable sitting room with view through half-round windows and a small balcony. Queensize bed, separate toilette. Clean, friendly staff (but spoke almost no English). Breakfast nothing special, but home-baked cake delicious. Restaurant good with specialties from the region, maybe a bit noisy when full. Internet only in common areas and slow. Motor cross track on our side of the castle provided a somewhat irritating noise level during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had stayed in a number of Parador and Pousada on our way to the Algarve and unfortunately this was the least impressive although it has a wonderful setting. No one to help with luggage and whilst reception itself was helpful you got the feeling you were staying in a modern chain hotel.
Our room was good and large with a wonderful bathroom with a balcony and views over the old town and river. As this is an old convent the rooms with potentially the best views do not have balconies and small windows.
We did not eat in the restaurant and breakfast was fairly basic.
Altogether not somewhere we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorsettraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wonderful setting above the old Alcácer do Sal, Reception was good. Our room looked very good too, but was extremely cold and no heating to be had, only in the hallways outside!
We tried the food in the restaurant and we very disappointed. We had a simple pasta, tasteless, and served indifferently. The wine was okay, luckily! Breakfast also not bad. But not a hotel I would recommend in winter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

It is hard to resist the temptation to compare with the Pousada in Sagres since that is where we were travelling from. The rooms were larger and slightly more modern at Alcacer but there was little storage space and the quality and finish of the furniture was not great. The breakfast room was charming and the food quality slightly better than Sagres. We ate at the restaurant once - quality was good but the price a little high. But the building itself was beautiful and fascinating. Around every corner was an alcove or a room to rest and enjoy the peace. Every one unique. The architect must have had so much fun! Visit the museum that is, basically, an integral part of the hotel/castle. Marvellous! Compared to Sagres there were less staff and they were not quite so friendly mainly, I think, because they were less fluent in English.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night to break our drive from Porto to Lagos. The view across the Sado valley from this highpoint is really impressive and you can start to appreciate what made this such an important defensive position in days gone by.
Although the staff were very helpful & enthusiastic, they seemed to be slightly short handed, and this showed when we had dinner. The meal was very nice, but the presentation quality & the service were not quite up to our expectations for the price.
The museum displaying the archaeological history of the site is excellent.
Our overall impression was that Pousada management need to focus more resources on the hotel operation - about time for a makeover/upgrade. A bit expensive, but we're glad we went there!

Room Tip: What makes this place is the view across the river valley - we had to upgrade from a 'standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcacer do Sal
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
22.7 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Cegonha
Hotel A Cegonha
#2 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
107 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
22.9 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Setubal
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal

Address: Castelo de Alcacer do Sal, Alcacer do Sal 7580-123, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Alcacer do Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Price Range: $83 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Alcácer do Sal is located inside a Medieval Castle in the town of Alcácer do Sal, just 1 hour from Lisbon. The Pousada sits comfortably upon a hill, with views of the tranquil waters of the Rio Sado. During your stay, you can dine at the restaurant or, if you prefer something lighter, at the bar. Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool surrounded by gardens. The rooms are decorated with warm colours and each has a TV with cable and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Alcacer Do Sal Dom Afonso Ii Hotel Alcacer Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing