We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small city and a good place to spend the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights here using a flash sale for 65 euro/nt including breakfast so it was a great deal. As with the previous reviews, it has a nicely done conversion and I was given a room with balcony (208) that overlooked the walls. Staffing was a bit thin and thus opted not to eat here.

It's a great starting place when arriving Lisbon as it is only 1 hour from the airport.

I'd certainly stay here again at those prices.

Room Tip: balcony is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here two nights on our way from Porto to Estoi. The Castle of Alcacer overlooks the River Sado and has been sympathetically converted with comfortable accommodation, though the AC left a bit to be desired in the living room of our suite. No matter. It was in the mid 30s when we arrived, and a cool, excellent lunch before a lounge by the attractive pool in the pretty garden soon restored us. Fabulous view over the brown, reedy river with its ancient wrought iron bridges, and a plethora of great restaurants down in the cobbled. This Pousada is not as well staffed as some, and you will have to carry your own bags. However, breakfast in the cool cloisters was fine, and staff were helpful and friendly. The Castle has its own (now defunct) chapel , a huge well in the garden with hundreds of little roosting birds, and lots of stork's nests. We were slightly discombobulated by spotting "Jose Mourinho" sitting at the wheel of a rather disreputable-looking, mud-splashed car in downtown Alacacer do Sal until we learnt that his family live nearby...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staying in this delightful castle was lovely experience. Although unattractive from the car park, once inside the elegant public rooms and modern bedrooms make a good combination. The grounds are spacious with a section of castle wall that you can walk along. There is an excellent swimming pool within the gardens and plenty of sun loungers. Our bedroom and bathroom were both very large and well furnished. From our large balcony we had a wonderful view across the town, river and beyond. An excellent breakfast was served in a light and airy room. The town was about a 15 minute stroll downhill but it took a little longer on the return! It was well worth the effort as Alcacer is a lovely riverside town. We ate out in the evenings at the riverside restaurant ‘ Retiro Sadino’ which did very good seafood. This Pousada is in an excellent location and we thoroughly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 310, 311 and 312 have large balconys overlooking the town and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

At the "pousada" you find, a good combination of modern and ancient architecture done with a fine taste. This is a kind of charm hotel. Lots of small rooms, where you can relax, playing chess, or just to read or talk. Even when there are childrens around the ambience is peaceful. The views of the town and fields, the pleasant swiming pool... the restaurant. We have here everything we need for a break, and of course not far the seaside.
I really enjoyed my stay and for sure I will be back soon.
And at last but not at least the friendly staff that do this possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed one night while travelling from Faro to Cascais. It was very quiet which meant it lacked atmosphere. Service was poor, they seemed to be running with a skeleton staff and those that were there weren't that focused on service. The castle is in a great setting and well worth a visit, we ate in the Restaurant which was good. Definitely worth wandering down to the river, great little narrow streets. The archeological museum under the hotel is very impressive and definitely worth a visit, very impressive and well done under the central pool on the cloisters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fanstastic hotel and views to the city of Alcácer do Sal. It's in the Castle of the city and it's near Troia and Comporta beaches (Pego recommended). The hotel's quieteness and tranquility is the most remarcable thing to notice.it's a family friendly hotel & i've been there a dozen times (2 adts+2chld) always with a high standard of service.

Room Tip: Last floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Mr. Pennygang,

Thank you for choosing Pousada D. Afonso II in Alcácer do Sal, for reviewing it here in TripAdvisor and for the cool tips for another visitors.

We are glad to be part of your favorite Historic Hotels, it is very important for us that our guests feel good in our company.

We hope to having you again staying with us.

If you need anything feel free to contact me.

With my best regards.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | 7580 - 197 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
E-mail: teresa.elias@pestana.com | Tel: +351 265 613 070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pousada in Alcacer is located in a beautiful environement inside old castle walls. Then, the remodelations made, results in an excellent ambient, modern and antique at the same time. Very good public spaces and rooms. And some of the most beautiful beaches of the western coast (Comporta, Pego and Carvalhal) , just 30 kms away in a road almost empty of cars. In resume, a very quite stay, convinient location and good athmosphere. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado Alvaro T.,

Agradecemos a sua preferência pela Pousada D. Afonso II em Alcácer do Sal.

Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos corresponder às suas expectativas.

Foi para nós muito importante ter partilhado a sua experiência, porque assim permite-nos avaliar os nossos pontos fortes e nível de satisfação, permitindo-nos desta forma manter a qualidade dos nossos serviços.

Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcacer do Sal
22.7 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
24.3 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Rio Art Hotel
Rio Art Hotel
#1 of 17 in Setubal
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Cegonha
Hotel A Cegonha
#2 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
48 reviews
22.5 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#3 of 17 in Setubal
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal

Address: Castelo de Alcacer do Sal, Alcacer do Sal 7580-123, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Alcacer do Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Price Range: $89 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Alcácer do Sal is located inside a Medieval Castle in the town of Alcácer do Sal, just 1 hour from Lisbon. The Pousada sits comfortably upon a hill, with views of the tranquil waters of the Rio Sado. During your stay, you can dine at the restaurant or, if you prefer something lighter, at the bar. Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool surrounded by gardens. The rooms are decorated with warm colours and each has a TV with cable and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Alcacer Do Sal Dom Afonso Ii Hotel Alcacer Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing