We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Reviewed September 21, 2012

At the "pousada" you find, a good combination of modern and ancient architecture done with a fine taste. This is a kind of charm hotel. Lots of small rooms, where you can relax, playing chess, or just to read or talk. Even when there are childrens around the ambience is peaceful. The views of the town and fields, the pleasant swiming pool... the restaurant. We have here everything we need for a break, and of course not far the seaside.
I really enjoyed my stay and for sure I will be back soon.
And at last but not at least the friendly staff that do this possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 350 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed one night while travelling from Faro to Cascais. It was very quiet which meant it lacked atmosphere. Service was poor, they seemed to be running with a skeleton staff and those that were there weren't that focused on service. The castle is in a great setting and well worth a visit, we ate in the Restaurant which was good. Definitely worth wandering down to the river, great little narrow streets. The archeological museum under the hotel is very impressive and definitely worth a visit, very impressive and well done under the central pool on the cloisters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fanstastic hotel and views to the city of Alcácer do Sal. It's in the Castle of the city and it's near Troia and Comporta beaches (Pego recommended). The hotel's quieteness and tranquility is the most remarcable thing to notice.it's a family friendly hotel & i've been there a dozen times (2 adts+2chld) always with a high standard of service.

Room Tip: Last floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Mr. Pennygang,

Thank you for choosing Pousada D. Afonso II in Alcácer do Sal, for reviewing it here in TripAdvisor and for the cool tips for another visitors.

We are glad to be part of your favorite Historic Hotels, it is very important for us that our guests feel good in our company.

We hope to having you again staying with us.

If you need anything feel free to contact me.

With my best regards.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | 7580 - 197 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
E-mail: teresa.elias@pestana.com | Tel: +351 265 613 070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pousada in Alcacer is located in a beautiful environement inside old castle walls. Then, the remodelations made, results in an excellent ambient, modern and antique at the same time. Very good public spaces and rooms. And some of the most beautiful beaches of the western coast (Comporta, Pego and Carvalhal) , just 30 kms away in a road almost empty of cars. In resume, a very quite stay, convinient location and good athmosphere. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado Alvaro T.,

Agradecemos a sua preferência pela Pousada D. Afonso II em Alcácer do Sal.

Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos corresponder às suas expectativas.

Foi para nós muito importante ter partilhado a sua experiência, porque assim permite-nos avaliar os nossos pontos fortes e nível de satisfação, permitindo-nos desta forma manter a qualidade dos nossos serviços.

Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I always like to spend a night in a Pousada de Portugal. This particular one is excelente, great rooms with a lot of space, a nice view and the service is very good. I really enjoyed my experience and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimada Vanessa M.,

Ficamos muito satisfeitos em ler sua opinião, saber que a V. estadia foi maravilhosa, que V. tenham gostado do compromisso da nossa equipe e da atmosfera histórica da Pousada.

É muito grato para nós fazer parte de todas as experiências magníficas na nossa Pousada.

Será um prazer para nós voltar a recebê-los na Pousada D. Afonso II.

Caso necessite de alguma informação, por favor, não hesite em contactar-nos.

Com os Melhores Cumprimentos,

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the 3rd time I´ve spent holidays at Pousada D. Afonso II and the only thing that occurs me, each year is getting better. The service is great, the building is fantastic and we can enjoy peace and quitness all day long.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEvangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimada AEvangelista,

Desde já agradecemos a preferência pela Pousada D. Afonso II, em Alcácer do Sal.

Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos proporcionar mais umas férias maravilhosas.

A Sua apreciação e recomendação é muito valiosa para nós e para todos os viajantes.

Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer novamente ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After one year without holidays and with a very intensive work, me and my wife look for a relax place to spend our first week of holidays. And we found it in Alcacer do Sal, more exactly in the Pousada Dom Afonso II.
Sleep in a very hold building above century's of history was nice, the building have lost of places where you can rest, read or see tv. You can stay inside or outside. The building is inside a castle and contains one church and one very nice swimming pool.
The staff is friendly and professional, they know very well the area around and you can ask them some advices.
The restaurant is good, but I consider it very, very expensive if we consider the prices and quality with the restaurants outside the hotel. One thing is true, the typical food in this region is very good, with special remarks for the rice. I really recommend to explore the restaurants in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakethejaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcacer do Sal
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
22.7 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Cegonha
Hotel A Cegonha
#2 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
107 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
22.9 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Setubal
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal

Address: Castelo de Alcacer do Sal, Alcacer do Sal 7580-123, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Alcacer do Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Price Range: $80 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Alcácer do Sal is located inside a Medieval Castle in the town of Alcácer do Sal, just 1 hour from Lisbon. The Pousada sits comfortably upon a hill, with views of the tranquil waters of the Rio Sado. During your stay, you can dine at the restaurant or, if you prefer something lighter, at the bar. Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool surrounded by gardens. The rooms are decorated with warm colours and each has a TV with cable and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Alcacer Do Sal Dom Afonso Ii Hotel Alcacer Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing