We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay for two days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pousada in Alcacer is located in a beautiful environement inside old castle walls. Then, the remodelations made, results in an excellent ambient, modern and antique at the same time. Very good public spaces and rooms. And some of the most beautiful beaches of the western coast (Comporta, Pego and Carvalhal) , just 30 kms away in a road almost empty of cars. In resume, a very quite stay, convinient location and good athmosphere. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado Alvaro T.,

Agradecemos a sua preferência pela Pousada D. Afonso II em Alcácer do Sal.

Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos corresponder às suas expectativas.

Foi para nós muito importante ter partilhado a sua experiência, porque assim permite-nos avaliar os nossos pontos fortes e nível de satisfação, permitindo-nos desta forma manter a qualidade dos nossos serviços.

Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

I always like to spend a night in a Pousada de Portugal. This particular one is excelente, great rooms with a lot of space, a nice view and the service is very good. I really enjoyed my experience and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimada Vanessa M.,

Ficamos muito satisfeitos em ler sua opinião, saber que a V. estadia foi maravilhosa, que V. tenham gostado do compromisso da nossa equipe e da atmosfera histórica da Pousada.

É muito grato para nós fazer parte de todas as experiências magníficas na nossa Pousada.

Será um prazer para nós voltar a recebê-los na Pousada D. Afonso II.

Caso necessite de alguma informação, por favor, não hesite em contactar-nos.

Com os Melhores Cumprimentos,

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the 3rd time I´ve spent holidays at Pousada D. Afonso II and the only thing that occurs me, each year is getting better. The service is great, the building is fantastic and we can enjoy peace and quitness all day long.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEvangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Gerente de recepção at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012
Google Translation

Estimada AEvangelista,

Desde já agradecemos a preferência pela Pousada D. Afonso II, em Alcácer do Sal.

Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos proporcionar mais umas férias maravilhosas.

A Sua apreciação e recomendação é muito valiosa para nós e para todos os viajantes.

Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer novamente ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.

Teresa Rocha
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | [--]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After one year without holidays and with a very intensive work, me and my wife look for a relax place to spend our first week of holidays. And we found it in Alcacer do Sal, more exactly in the Pousada Dom Afonso II.
Sleep in a very hold building above century's of history was nice, the building have lost of places where you can rest, read or see tv. You can stay inside or outside. The building is inside a castle and contains one church and one very nice swimming pool.
The staff is friendly and professional, they know very well the area around and you can ask them some advices.
The restaurant is good, but I consider it very, very expensive if we consider the prices and quality with the restaurants outside the hotel. One thing is true, the typical food in this region is very good, with special remarks for the rice. I really recommend to explore the restaurants in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakethejaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have just returned from my 2nd stay at Pousada D. Afonso II in Alcacer do Sal, and although I can’t summarize the great time I spent there nor the amazing staff from the Pousada in a single comment, it would be unfair if I wouldn’t leave here a message.

The Pousada itself is within the castle of Alcacer Do Sal, surrounded by the ancient castle’s walls and with a great view over the village of Alcacer and surroundings. Although the pousada was built within the castle, the infrastructure is contemporary, but in a way that doesn’t breakthrough with it’s past. The facilities are as modern as you could find in 5-star hotel, although here you can get a real flavour of the Portuguese countryside’s mystic.

The Pousada itself is perfectly located, just 40 minutes outside Lisbon and next to Troia and Comporta, the 2 Best & Trendy beach resorts close to Lisbon. Normally, they aren’t very crowded, as they are still seen as very secluded places. Alcacer’s is a peaceful and lovely village, with a vast and delicious gastronomic offer; still I would also recommend the Pousada’s restaurant and its magnificent food and service…unbeatable.

I have been an SPG Platinum member for some years, but I could hardly get as happy as I get when I visit this place. The Staff ( Teresa, Daniela and the whole team) is very supportive and always carry a smile, they really care about the place and about your experience. The rooms are good-sized and extremely comfortable. As far as I remember, the facilities included a large swimming pool, a kid’s room, a restaurant, a breakfast room, and a church where they organize dinners and events and its pinnacle…the remarkable Cloister.

Pousada D. Afonso II in Alcacer do Sal isn’t just a place to stay…it’s a magnificent experience. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renato_g_marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Manager at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Renato G. Marques,

We are delighted to read your review and to know that once again you had a wonderful stay and that you have enjoyed the commitment of our staff, the historical atmosphere of the Pousada and its surroundings.

It is very grateful for us, to make part of all your magnificent experiences in our Pousada. On behalf of Teresa, Daniela and all the Staff I must be thankful for your kind compliments.

We hope to see you soon again in our company, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate on contacting us.

With my kind regards,
Tânia Evaristo
Supervisora de Unidade | Unit Supervisor
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | 7580 - 197 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
E-mail: tania.evaristo@pestana.com | Telm: +351 961 332 642 | Tel: +351 265 613 070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Dom Afonso II on 30 April 2012.

We arrived at our appointed check-in time of shortly after 2pm but were told our suite was not ready and it would be an additional 30 minutes. We went along to the bar to wait, but could not find any staff to serve us. My husband went to Reception and eventually we were served. After 45 minutes my husband went back to Reception but were told the suite was still not ready however we were given a courtesy drink. Disappointingly it was two hours before we could get into our suite.

The disappointment quickly faded as the suite itself was amazing, exceptionally large taking up the end of the wing above Reception with views on three aspects. Opposite the bathroom, between the spacious bedroom and living room there was a patio with table and chairs accessible from the bedroom, living room and hall. Sadly it was raining so we were not able to enjoy our breakfast on the patio.

The downside was that the furniture was very strange, some old (antique desk) some new (flat-screen TVs in the lounge and bedroom) ... the sofa had different colour seat cushions from the suite itself, but matched the lounge chair as if two units had been made into one!

We encountered not being about to access our suite at the Obidos Pousada two years ago (another two-hour wait) and also could not find anyone to serve us in the bar. Yesterday at the Estoi Pousada where friends were staying, again we could not get service at the bar. Perhaps the delay in accessing the suites and lack of bar staff need to be addressed with Head Office. Something simple like a bell on the bar may suffice. We have stayed in Palmela on five occasions and have never encountered these problems.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseekerAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Manager at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Mrs. Sunseeker Algarve,

Thank you very much for choosing Pousadas of Portugal, namely the Pousada D. Afonso II in Alcácer do Sal.

We are delighted to read your review and to know you have had a wonderful stay and that you have enjoyed the historical atmosphere of the Pousada and its surroundings.

We are sorry for the time you have been waiting in the bar while your room was being done; in the night before the suite has been occupied and the delay on the check out of the guest has retarded our services. At the same time we are glad that it worth waiting, and everything was perfect on your suite.

About the furniture, this Pousada is a Historic Design Pousada, i.e. the concept behind the recuperation of this unit was made on a basis of mixing the old (historical building, furniture, tapestries, etc.) and the new (new building, straight lines of the rooms furniture, colors, etc). Sometimes it might seem strange, although the whole project of this Pousada is being respected.

In order to provide the best service, we have taken your feedback on the bar service and the delay in accessing the suites, into consideration.

We would love to welcome you again, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate on contacting me.

Kind Regards,

Tânia Evaristo
Supervisora de Unidade | Unit Supervisor
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | 7580 - 197 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
E-mail: tania.evaristo@pestana.com | Telm: +351 961 332 642 | Tel: +351 265 613 070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great out of the way and quiet, with great views of the country side. A very comfortable and beautifully restored old castle(Convent) with very helpful staff. Beautiful old art and and artifacts throughout the grounds and a great museum under the hotel. Food good service very friendly and courteous, would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTRAVEL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DAfonso, Manager at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Mr.(s) ANTRAVEL,

Thank you very much for choosing Pousadas of Portugal and for the great review about Pousada D. Afonso II.

Only with our guests opinions, it is possible to us to continuously work on mantaining and upgrading our standards of services.

Hope to see you soon again in Alcácer do Sal.

Best Regards,

Tânia Evaristo
Supervisora de Unidade | Unit Supervisor
Pousada D. Afonso II | Castelo de Alcácer do Sal | 7580 - 197 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
E-mail: tania.evaristo@pestana.com | Tel: +351 265 613 070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcacer do Sal
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
22.7 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Cegonha
Hotel A Cegonha
#2 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
14.6 mi away
Casas da Comporta
Casas da Comporta
#3 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
17 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal

Address: Castelo de Alcacer do Sal, Alcacer do Sal 7580-123, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Alcacer do Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Price Range: $83 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Alcácer do Sal is located inside a Medieval Castle in the town of Alcácer do Sal, just 1 hour from Lisbon. The Pousada sits comfortably upon a hill, with views of the tranquil waters of the Rio Sado. During your stay, you can dine at the restaurant or, if you prefer something lighter, at the bar. Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool surrounded by gardens. The rooms are decorated with warm colours and each has a TV with cable and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Alcacer Do Sal Dom Afonso Ii Hotel Alcacer Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing