We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
292
127
32
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
127
32
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunni mariefjord view roomyour luggageyogurtfamily runhard boiled eggsamerican husbandsmall hotelhiking trailslovely hotelwonderful hoststwo nightssmall townfourth floorferry dockan amazing viewowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 460 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017

We only stayed one night. Not much to do in Balestrand. This hotel is very basic, not fancy at all. But the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast filling. The star of the show is of course the view. And what a view it is. It costs just a couple more dollars for a room with a balcony and a view. Under no circumstance should you pass this up. Simply breathtaking view of the fjord.

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room with a balcony and view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

We had a one night stay at this hotel and really wish we had stayed an extra night to explore more of the area. Based on other reviews, we had requested a room with a fjord view and were assigned a great room on the fourth floor with both a fjord of you and a balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable. While not luxurious, the hotel has a great sitting area in the front first floor and serves a tremendous breakfast buffet prepared by the owners. Outstanding service starts at the moment you walk off of the ferry where you're greeted by the proprietor and his daughter. Luggage is brought up to the hotel and you are free to walk around and explore Balestrand before you check in. Lots of suggestions are provided on where to hike, where to eat, and sites to see. Would definitely return and stay another night to enjoy spending much more time both in this town, hotel, and with the owners.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

This small hotel, 36? rooms, half facing the Sognefjord, one of the most beautiful settings anywhere! Small size, large gracious lobby or living room, with fireplace, books, games, comfortable chairs and sofas, overlooking the Sognefjord - Norway's longest, deepest, incredibly beautiful. Buffet breakfast appropriately generous, carefully presented with fresh baked bread, fresh coffee. This is a place to spend considerabel time, taking it easy, reading, hiking, taking side trips. The management and ownership are family, gracious, fun, with deep history in Ballestrand. Knowlegeable about the small town, and excursions. The first time that we came, we stayed for one night as part of a "Norway in a nutshell" package. Not enough! Had to come back for longer. We did and enjoyed.

Room Tip: facing the Sognefjord
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

The lower star rating concerned us, but this place is GREAT! Super clean, quiet, fantastic location, and great service. We haven't moved our car since arriving three days ago. Every morning we go down and bring back coffee to enjoy from our fjord side balcony as the clouds wear off, we catch up on the news at home, and get ready for a fine-enough breakfast. We would for sure stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a fjord side room... BYO wine (no wine store in Balestrand); enjoy happy hour on your terrace every evening.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackieR8918PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Our group of six, including four adults, a 5 year old and a 5 month old, had a wonderful time at the Balestrand Hotell. The owner and her whole family was welcoming and kind. The views are out of this world. Even if you don't have a room with a fjord side view, just spend some time in the common living room - or just outside the hotel - for stunning sights. Breakfast was one of the highlights of our day, including fresh fruits and vegetables, local dairy products, and sumptuous breads. We highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews