We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food hygiene”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food hygiene”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I do not quite understand the reason why it was voted the best service hotel in 2013. Nothing about this hotel stands out as being excellent other than the fact that it faces the fjords, therefore, offers a spectacular view. The rooms are clean but desperately outdated and need an overhaul. However, it is not a big deal, just expect it to be a clean motel with a stunning view. I do have concerns with the food safety. Breakfasts are of buffet style. They are served for 2 - 3 hours in the morning. Everything is laid on the table in room temperature. By the tail end of it, the only edible food was bread and water. The milk and juices were of room temperature. The cheese and cold cuts were sweating. I ended up with an upset stomach.

A tip for those who intend to stay in the region for a few days - most attractions such as Nigard glacier, Hopperstad and Urnes stave churches are not in Balestrand. We stayed in town for 2 days and had to take a ferry out of Balestrand both days. We could have saved a lot of time and money by staying in Sognal, although not as picturesque and too commercialized to my taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F0rtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    115
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
88
233
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,400 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose the Balestrand Hotel mainly because it was the most affordable option in Balestrand. We really wanted to spend at least one night, because we had read that the town was so charming (which it is!). Our stay at the Balestrand Hotel was fine - nothing amazing, and a little disappointing for the price, but fine.

As seems to be typical in Norway, there was no air conditioning - which would be ok if there was any real window. Our room on the 2nd floor had only one little window at the top of the ceiling. It was nice to have a door to the patio, but it was a shared patio, so we couldn't leave it open. We happened to be here on one of the few bright sunny days, so when we arrived our room had to be 90 degrees. Luckily it cooled down a lot once the sun went down. But, we were still stuck with our THICK down comforters (why can't Norwegians figure out to switch to thinner comforters in the summer???). As with most nights we were in Norway, we ended up sweating. The rooms were very quiet, and so is the town; even with the window open, there was no noise.

The breakfast in the morning was great - so was the staff. They kindly drove our luggage to and from the harbor so we didn't have to wheel them. The harbor is not far, but it was nice to walk unencumbered. The hotel had free wi-fi, also nice. The lounge area downstairs was cozy and large. They also had a TV in the lobby, so if you need a TV fix (none in the room), here you go.

* If you like this review, I hope you'll click the 'helpful' button; those of us who write reviews live for helpful votes and it motivates us to do more :) *

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have larger windows; ask for a fan at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skipitgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent once night here in 2012, and it was most enjoyable. Balestrand at the back of the largest fjord in Norway is quaint and charming with stunning fews. This family run hotel is a good value, clean and has excellent views. Within walking distance to everything in the small town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Balestrand is definitely worth an overnight stop on a tour of the fjords. And a lovely place to stay is the Balestrand Hotel. Even though the town is tiny and you can walk to the shops and restaurants in just a few minutes, the Balestrand Hotel feels apart from the tour groups at the ferry landing and larger Kviknes Hotel. The family-owned Balestrand has simple, clean rooms with balconies directly facing the fjord. They also have a lawn area and lounge chairs by a private swimming area where you can watch the ferries come and go. The owners are happy to give you all the information you might need for local hiking (lots of well-marked trails of varying degrees of difficulty) and details on other area attractions (stave church, fjord tours, glacier hikes). Overall, a comfortable, warm place to make your home on the beautiful Sognefjord.

Room Tip: Definitely request a fjord view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermary2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The stay almost rated a four because the room had a bathtub. The facade and stairways are in need of upgrade. We had a room on the second floor at the back. Quiet. The village itself isn't a great destination but breaks up a Flam to Bergen trip nicely. Service not as friendly as Oslo, and this is a small town! Interesting sign on the door barring consumption of alcohol in the room. Breakfast pastries were nice, but overall breakfast was adequate at best. Would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Balestrand is a great stop if you're touring the fjords and want to experience a smaller, quiet town. Balestrand Hotel is the place you should rest your head on your visit! It's a family owned hotel opened only for the summer and it's a very comfortable and warm stay. There's a great breakfast in the morning, free WiFi and you'll be proud to have supported a family business operating from California to Balestrand! We really enjoyed the view from front patio, the free umbrellas, and the spacious room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sectravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a twin room with balcony for 1 night. The view from our room did not disappoint. If you are driving, they do have adequate free parking. WiFi is free and breakfast included in room rate. Our room was modest, but clean. Breakfast buffet was adequate. The owner is very friendly, speaks excellent English and provided us with several good ideas for fjord tours and other activities. They do not serve lunch or dinner, but there are several good local dining options nearby. We arrived on the express boat & were greeted at the dock along with many other guests. One guest with a mobility issue was given a ride to hotel in their station wagon. They loaded up all the luggage & transported bags to the hotel. Guests walk to the hotel which is about a 5 minute walk. We were satisfied with our stay & would recommend to others. If you are looking for a bigger hotel with more services, then opt for the Kviknes Hotel. There is not aTV in the room which seems to bother some reviewers. We didn't miss the TV - too busy touring.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lov2TravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
112 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
227 reviews
9.0 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
103 reviews
19.0 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Property: Balestrand Hotel
Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing