We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View of the Fjord”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of the Fjord”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a great balcony with a full view of the fjord.In the room, there is no TV or phone, but the Wi-Fi worked well and was free. The bathroom was a nice size with shower/tub combo. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, inquiring about our plans and offering suggestions. There was an included breakfast which had good variety. One strange thing I saw was in the late afternoon a guest was in the breakfast room using the iron and ironing board. These were not in the guest rooms, so I guess if you needed them, that is where you could use them. The town itself is very quaint. It was lovely to walk around in the evening, get some dinner and sit by the water. There is a small movie theater there open only certain nights. I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    107
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
222
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were on the fourth floor and the views from our balcony of the fjord were amazing.
Staff were helpful with information of local area and dining options.
Surprised (and pleased) bathroom had a bath as well as shower.

Room Tip: Its worth paying for a balcony room to get a fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a room with an absolutely gorgeous view of the fjord. There was a balcony that you could sit out on and enjoy the view from. The room itself was an average room with two comfortable beds, two chairs with table in-between and a desk. There is no TV, phone,clock,mini-fridge,or blow dryer (you asked at front desk and they would loan you one). The wireless internet worked fine. The bathroom had soap and shampoo provided everyday. Good water pressure and the hot water worked well. It was very clean. There is an elevator to bring your luggage up to your room. The buffet breakfast was good with a spread of cheese and meat slices, hard and soft boiled eggs, hot croissants, bread for slicing, a selection of preserves, cereal, milk, yogurt, juice and coffee. The lobby was a nice place to hang out in, but if you want something to eat and drink you walk a little way into town to one of the restaurants nearby. The owner, Unni-Marie, was very helpful. She took the time to show us on a map where to go, she called for us to check road conditions, she checked ferry times and helped us form a plan of attack on how to drive the fjords, she called our unlocked cell phone provider to help us figure out why our cell phone wouldn't make a call. She was wonderful! We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others. Don't skimp, get the fjord view! It was like looking at a beautiful painting the whole time.
The nature hike nearby was nice as was the walk down the road from the hotel opposite from the town. Very cute little houses to check out along the way. The Pilgrim restaurant was good as was the Kviknes hotel bar food. (fresh fish in both places)

Room Tip: Get the fjord view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 night in May on our way from Oslo to Bergen. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. Unni Marie and her daughter were extremely friendly and helpful. Unni Marie was also very helpful in answering questions about traveling to and from Balestrand as well as the train ticket purchase issues we were having (we live in the USA). The breakfast was plentiful, the hotel is very cute, and the rooms are very simple. Half the rooms have a mountain view, half have a fjord view. We had a fjordview room on the 4th floor. It was stunning. It was overcast most of when we were there and to see the clouds rolling through the mountains and the snow caps was unbelievable. Our room had 2 single beds combined together and bathroom had a tub for the shower which is great (many places the water floods the bathroom floor). There is free computer to use in the lobby. The hotel is about a 5min walk from the boat dock. The hotel staff also let us check out a bit after the checkout time since we were coming back from Vik at 12 and allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel until our 5pm ferry which was extremely kind and helpful. Also, if you have the opportunity to take the ferry over to Vik definitely do it. The Hopperstad Stave Church and the Stone Church are worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamsterdam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel- while the accommodation is quite basic, each room has a balcony with a stunning fjord view (and very comfortable beds as well!). Run by a friendly and helpful half American, half Norweigan family, and only open in summer. Fresh and plentiful continental buffet breakfast, but no food served at other times. Balestrand is a charming little town with a church, a few restaurants, hotels and shops, but the location right beside a beautiful fjord is what we loved best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is only open over the summer and is run by a family. We arrived from Bergen on the fast ferry and were collected by the owner and taken the short journey to the hotel. The hotel itself is a nice place, the rooms are fairly basic but in our room the view of the fjord was spectular. You can grab a beer in the lounge area, sit outside, and stroll down the road to a handful of restaurants and cafes. There are some nice walks round about and we also did a fab cycle ride around the fjord and got the ferry back, after a late lunch and a few afternoon drinks :)

Room Tip: Go for a fjord room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay 3 night stay at the Balestrand Hotel. The hotel is cozy, clean, and comfortable. Great hospitality. If you arrive by ferry they pick up your luggage. The walk to the hotel is just a couple of minutes from the dock. The owner Unni-Marie is very sweet and upgraded us to a fjord view room for our honeymoon. The breakfast buffet (which is included in the price) consists of hard boiled eggs, an assortment of breads, cheeses, jams, some basic cereals, dried fruits and yogurts. Balestrand is a beautiful small town. I recommend taking a hike (there are plenty near by) and renting bikes to ride along the Esefjord and Sværefjord. If you are a foodie eat at Ciderhuset; it's amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyckirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
98 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
110 reviews
24.7 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
321 reviews
24.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Property: Balestrand Hotel
Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing