We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Midtnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midtnes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were in Balestrand a little ahead of the tourist season and enjoyed the serenity of Balestrand. It felt like we had the village all to ourselves. The Midtnes Hotel was a perfect spot for us. We paid the extra for a room with balcony facing the fjord and it was money well spent. The views were hypnotic. The breakfast is very good with a little of everything from muesli to meats. Our host Jon was very busy with pre-season preparations but was always available to answer questions. The beds in our room were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. Of course everything was clean and neat as a pin. Jon has original art throughout the public spaces and it is worth lingering with them before or after breakfast. One night we took the dinner at the hotel and it was very good. While it is true that the rooms are not in the quaint white building featured on the website, the rooms are in a connected building and sit above it affording better views of the fjords. Walk out the back door and up to school and start hiking up the mountain.

High speed internet is charged per half hour; no need for a fitness room - just walk out the door and cycle, hike, walk, swim (if you like cold water!).

You can pay more to stay at the Kviknes Hotel, but why? Midtnes will give you a warm welcome and you can use your savings to buy a drink in the fancy hotel and admire the carvings there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaveCasesWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

Like most hotels in Balestrand you don't actually stay in the building advertised on their website. The quaint photo is generally of the reception and breakfast area and each hotel has a 1960's type block attached. The room was OK, although the curtains were paperthin so that 4.30am morning light comes flooding in, and by 10am the room is so hot you need to go walking - which is easy in this lovely town. The view from the hotel room though was sensational. The breakfast was good and the owner was quiet but friendly. There is not a lot of choice in this location and it was reasonably priced.
Beautiful town and well worth a visit if you want a nice easy day.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Balestrand is a sleepy, charming little town in a heart-stoppingly beautiful landscape. So calm and peaceful, so relaxing. We took a decent length day hike up in the mountains (picked up a simple trail map at the tourist office and got some basic advice from the guy there) which was one of the highlights of our trip through the fjords - just lovely. Many of the hiking trails start from the elementary school up in the hills above the town - was quite something to see the kids having recess, exploring in the woods unsupervised, the kind of thing that's long disappeared at home.

Anyway, so back to the hotel. The manager, Jon, is friendly, and it's worth asking for advice - he pointed out a place to stop on our drive up to Geiranger that we would have blasted right past otherwise, where you can walk out on a steel bridge over a fast-moving creek. The common areas are in a charming, old house with antiques and family mementoes lying about. The views from all around are just stunning.

The rooms are in a modern addition to the home, and as others have described, they are pretty sterile. This is where they could have improved things - a little Scandinavian design sense could have rendered the modern part a lot more attractive while still being minimalist and simple. It's worth getting the fjord side room with a balcony so that you look at the stunning landscape instead of the non-stunning room.

We opted for the breakfast + dinner meal plan - I think it's a good thing to do, because the food is good, and there seemed to be few to no restaurants around in town. However, if you're picky, it's not a menu system; dinner is whatever dinner is. Basic, good homestyle cooking. May depend on who is cooking - for us, a young Baltic woman (who lives nearby - her daughter along with another girl staying at the hotel provided our daughter with some much-needed non-adult company for a few days) was cooking, and her food was simple but tasty.

We would stay here again - I sure hope we make it back to this part of Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom-and-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a great hotel at a great price in a great location with great service. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable The view from the dinning room where a wonderful breakfast is served is amazing. You can watch the boats on the fjord. The service was great and very helpful with advice on exploring the region.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here enroute to Flam. Balstrand is a great place to stay and the hotel overlooks the fjord and is an very short walk from where the boat will drop you off (if you come by boat). The whole place has a tranquility about it and is not a cruise ship stop. The Hotel has basic rooms but was excellent value for money compared with many other places and the service was great. We did half board and the 3 course no choice evening meal, while simple was hearty and just what we wanted. The service was great and very helpful and friendly. The tourist office is near by and was great and very helpful and we arranged a glacier and kayaking trips. There is a small super market near by to buy lunch at and great walks behind the hotel - We would highly recommend and wished were had been staying longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesecondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Midtnes Hotel is placed in the middle of the idyllic Balestrand which is a small village at the Sognefjord. You have a gorgeous view over the Fjord. It's a very nice and peaceful spot. The hotel itself offers an atmosphere which makes you feel moving back in time. The funiture and rooms could be improved. The rooms weren't equipped with TV. But everything was clean. The breakfast was pleasing with a good choice of food. We found out, that there were rooms of a higher category (but of course more expansive).

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

After taking a train to Flam and then boarding an Expressboat to Balestrand, we were very happy that we decided to stay in Balestrand instead of Flam. Balestrand is a very quiet, friendly, peaceful place situated at the edge of the Sognefjord. We were there 2 nights. There were easy walks and we even rented bikes to go to Dragsvik. The road by the fjord is pretty level and we were able to ride easily. Renting bikes is expensive though! We were a little disappointed that there was not alot of fish available at the restaurants(mostly salmon, which I am allergic to). We were lucky to get fabulous weather. My only complaint is I packed for 50-60 degrees F and it got warmer than that! The fjord waters are a beautiful dark blue--like the deep waters in the Caribbean! I would reccommend anyone going to Norway to visit this lovely village.

3  Thank travlingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
847 reviews
0 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Kringsja Hotel
Kringsja Hotel
#1 of 2 in Balestrand
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtnes Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 33, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: $142 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtnes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Midtnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtnes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing