We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, pleasant hotel in gorgeous setting”
Review of Midtnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midtnes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple, pleasant hotel in gorgeous setting”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Balestrand is a sleepy, charming little town in a heart-stoppingly beautiful landscape. So calm and peaceful, so relaxing. We took a decent length day hike up in the mountains (picked up a simple trail map at the tourist office and got some basic advice from the guy there) which was one of the highlights of our trip through the fjords - just lovely. Many of the hiking trails start from the elementary school up in the hills above the town - was quite something to see the kids having recess, exploring in the woods unsupervised, the kind of thing that's long disappeared at home.

Anyway, so back to the hotel. The manager, Jon, is friendly, and it's worth asking for advice - he pointed out a place to stop on our drive up to Geiranger that we would have blasted right past otherwise, where you can walk out on a steel bridge over a fast-moving creek. The common areas are in a charming, old house with antiques and family mementoes lying about. The views from all around are just stunning.

The rooms are in a modern addition to the home, and as others have described, they are pretty sterile. This is where they could have improved things - a little Scandinavian design sense could have rendered the modern part a lot more attractive while still being minimalist and simple. It's worth getting the fjord side room with a balcony so that you look at the stunning landscape instead of the non-stunning room.

We opted for the breakfast + dinner meal plan - I think it's a good thing to do, because the food is good, and there seemed to be few to no restaurants around in town. However, if you're picky, it's not a menu system; dinner is whatever dinner is. Basic, good homestyle cooking. May depend on who is cooking - for us, a young Baltic woman (who lives nearby - her daughter along with another girl staying at the hotel provided our daughter with some much-needed non-adult company for a few days) was cooking, and her food was simple but tasty.

We would stay here again - I sure hope we make it back to this part of Norway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom-and-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a great hotel at a great price in a great location with great service. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable The view from the dinning room where a wonderful breakfast is served is amazing. You can watch the boats on the fjord. The service was great and very helpful with advice on exploring the region.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here enroute to Flam. Balstrand is a great place to stay and the hotel overlooks the fjord and is an very short walk from where the boat will drop you off (if you come by boat). The whole place has a tranquility about it and is not a cruise ship stop. The Hotel has basic rooms but was excellent value for money compared with many other places and the service was great. We did half board and the 3 course no choice evening meal, while simple was hearty and just what we wanted. The service was great and very helpful and friendly. The tourist office is near by and was great and very helpful and we arranged a glacier and kayaking trips. There is a small super market near by to buy lunch at and great walks behind the hotel - We would highly recommend and wished were had been staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesecondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Midtnes Hotel is placed in the middle of the idyllic Balestrand which is a small village at the Sognefjord. You have a gorgeous view over the Fjord. It's a very nice and peaceful spot. The hotel itself offers an atmosphere which makes you feel moving back in time. The funiture and rooms could be improved. The rooms weren't equipped with TV. But everything was clean. The breakfast was pleasing with a good choice of food. We found out, that there were rooms of a higher category (but of course more expansive).

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

After taking a train to Flam and then boarding an Expressboat to Balestrand, we were very happy that we decided to stay in Balestrand instead of Flam. Balestrand is a very quiet, friendly, peaceful place situated at the edge of the Sognefjord. We were there 2 nights. There were easy walks and we even rented bikes to go to Dragsvik. The road by the fjord is pretty level and we were able to ride easily. Renting bikes is expensive though! We were a little disappointed that there was not alot of fish available at the restaurants(mostly salmon, which I am allergic to). We were lucky to get fabulous weather. My only complaint is I packed for 50-60 degrees F and it got warmer than that! The fjord waters are a beautiful dark blue--like the deep waters in the Caribbean! I would reccommend anyone going to Norway to visit this lovely village.

Helpful?
3 Thank travlingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was small (as opposed to the enormous Kviknes nearby). We booked direct some months ago and my husband queried the no credit card rule but was assured this would be okay. On arrival, the manager said Oh sorry no, we don't accept credit cards. You will have to go to the cash machine at the bank and pay me in cash. When reminded of his assurances back in January, he made some excuse about the machine being out of order. The room was basic and simple, with a bed like rock. But a lovely view. We had requested a table at 8, but on arrival was told dinner was at 7 prompt. There was no choice and we were offered no bread to go with the meal, or any drinks other than a jug of water. The main course was generous but the dessert was tinned fruit and artificial cream, worse than school. No television in the room, despite the socket for one. It was okay for a one night stopover, but only just. The worst place we stayed in a fortnight in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This was the second hotel me and my best friend stayed in as part of our tour of Norway and it was by far the best accomodation we had over all of the trip. The room was basic but the view far made up for this - straight out onto the Fjords. It was truely breathtaking and if not for the pouring rain we could have stayed out on the bancony all evening just staring at the sights. John the hotel manager met us straight from the ferry and also dropped us back two days later at 7:00am for which we were very grateful. The food was amazingly homely and the whole family made us feel very welcome. In the evening we sat around in the living room drinking tea and playing board games. We also found not having a tv in the room made the experience much more relaxing although being two young girls, we would have liked a hair dryer in the room rather than having to book one out from reception. However this was never a problem as only a few other guests were staying at the same time as us. I would definately recommend this hotel to others, especially if your aim is to relax

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123abc123_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
228 reviews
9.0 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtnes Hotel

Property: Midtnes Hotel
Address: Kong Beles veg 33, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtnes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Midtnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtnes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing