We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrim Restaurant

Pilgrim Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Norwegian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic but nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

There are two alternatives to the Kviknes hotel restaurant, the Pilgrim and Gekkens. We ate at both and would say they were about the same in their offerings and quality.
Pilgrim offers some more interesting dishes and the service is warm and friendly from the two owners, Arthur and Bjorg, who love to chat with you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavH965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trollensup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Outstanding! This is by far the best soup ever. Every day fresh with local ingredients. Trollensup, only at Pilgrim at the harbor of Balestrand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeroen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a large-ish lunch here, with salad and fish and cake. The presentation is a higher quality here, than one might suspect. I had the pasta salad for my starter and the salmon with potatoes for my main, both delicious. Rounded off with a local cake, layered with merengue and crime, yum. The chef and hostess very friendly and helpful with local advice. The wifi was a nice treat, even if the best reception happened to be outside on the shadier side of the house. This restaurant is coupled with an interesting small gallery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our food was well cooked , very tasty and came in generous portions at very reasonable prices. We would highly recommend the Troll Soup in particular.

The extra dimension was the wonderful hospitality from our hostess Bjorg. She invited us to examine the fascinating collection of curios held in several private rooms above the restaurant , and to admire the spectacular view of the Sognefjord from the transparent observation bubble on the roof. We were also able to visit the art gallry to admire her lovely watercolours.

All in all , we felt as though we had had dinner with a friend rather than a visit to a restauarant , and we would thoroughly recommend the Pilgrim to anyone visiting Balestrand

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mark_salter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Authentic Norwegian Food in a Welcoming Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

During my travels to eight European countries over five weeks, the meal I had at the Pilgrim Cafe topped all the others. We wanted to try authentic Norwegian food during our stay in Balestrand, and got it at the Pilgrim Cafe. I ordered elg (moose) and reindeer topped with a delicious sauce. It was also served with deliciously seasoned potato wedges and pickled beets. The meal cost 185 NOK (about $30 American dollars), and although expensive by American standards, was worth the money. We were seated upstairs and enjoyed a fjord view while eating our meal and learned more about Norway by chatting with our waiter. Service was great, and while we waited for our meal, we toured the upstairs art studio and museum-type display of artifacts. Excellent service and a delicious, authentic meal from the Pilgrim Cafe improved our Balestrand and Norwegian experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sgs0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Restaurant also viewed

Balestrand, Sogn og Fjordane
Balestrand, Sogn og Fjordane
 
Balestrand, Sogn og Fjordane
Balestrand, Sogn og Fjordane
 

Been to Pilgrim Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing