We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kviknes Hotel(Balestrand)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtnes Hotel(Balestrand)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balestrand Hotel(Balestrand)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sognefjord Hotel(Leikanger)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Sogndal(Sogndal Municipality)
$175
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
14
19
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
19
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfully stocked kitchensample hot waterbreakfast startslaundry facilitiesferry dockfantastic viewspleasant stayno elevatorcommon areasfirst floorone nightwasherreceptionistbalconymeatsaccommodationsbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 42 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We stayed 1 night in room 204 on our drive around the fjords. The room itself was average, with a hard bed, flimsy pillows and average bedding and towels. However, the view from the room and our little balcony was stunning. We made use of the tea and coffee facilities provided in the room and enjoyed our drinks out on the balcony whilst admiring the fantastic view.

The bathroom was compact with no storage but a very good shower (ample hot water).

The hotel reception was excellent, very friendly and helpful. We made use of the suggestions of venues for a pre-dinner drink (Kviknes hotel) and dinner (at the cider house - a lovely 20 minute walk) and were not disappointed. Unfortunately the weather was too wet for us to try out the walking trail suggestions (that start from the town, very close to the hotel).

Wifi was free but we didn't use it (we used our UK mobiles for data with the new roaming rules).

Breakfast was OK and another opportunity to enjoy the spectacular views.

Balestrand is at a lovely point along the fjord with beautiful views in all directions. We used it as a one night stop to join our drive along the tourist scenic drive called Gaularfjellet with taking the car ferry cruise from Kaupanger to Gudvangen that takes you through the UNESCO listed Nærøyfjord.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We found if difficult to find accommodations for 6 people in Balestrand during the peak season so booked this hotel only due availability and Rick Steve's recommendations. It does have fabulous views of the harbor/fjords and since we had balcony rooms, it was most enjoyable just to sit outside and enjoy the views. The staff here spoke good English and were very helpful - especially when we tried doing some laundry. Rooms were small but included comfortable chairs and beds slept well. No elevator so must be able to walk up stairs, and no AC but you don't need it anyway. Breakfast okay but not huge selection or very fancy. Very quiet location! Only negatives were the steep approach to the hotel - can be a challenge if you're not in shape. And be careful in showers as they drain uniquely and can be slippery - you have to squeegy the whole bathroom floor when you're finished. Wi-fi was off and on at times in the rooms. This isn't a fancy hotel, more like a hostel, but the views make it worthwhile. We enjoyed our stay here but don't book this hotel if you're looking for luxury - it's a basic stay place.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have the best fjord/harbor views
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

As hotels go, in terms of a place to sleep on your holiday, this is fine - rooms are small, toilet/bathroom musty smelling and poorly drained but clean for all that, fairly typical European twin-single bed configuration, but comfortable and pristine, with a small but nice balcony, with good guest kitchens and laundry facilities, lounge area and dining area - all with FANTASTIC views of the fiord!!! The view from our room is breathtaking!

You forget and forgive any minor accommodation shortcomings - the location (it is about 400-500m uphill walk from the boat wharf), quiet ambience and tremendous receptionist Amelia trump everything!

It is a very personalised, pleasant and helpful service from all the staff we encountered. The breakfasts are largely 'help yourself' but are quite comprehensive and wholesome, and again can be taken on a balcony with a view that can't be beaten!

The laundry was a very welcome facility having been travelling for around 10 days - a good opportunity to refresh during our two night stay.

Balestrand is a beautiful, tranquil base and the Kringsa Hotell matches the ambience perfectly. A charming, tranquil and totally pleasant stay with a real Norwegian flavour.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank OneMoreTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This is a large, old hotel. It has some interesting history and unique public rooms. We had a room with twin beds, so one of them was up against a wall. We were in the "new" section. The hallways were dingy. Our bathroom had no shampoo or lotion, and a fan blew all night in the bathroom. It was not the fan IN the bathroom, so we were never sure where the noise was coming from. The towels were thin, and beds were not very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good (as is the case everywhere in Norway) and was served in a huge dining room. There are LOTS of tour groups. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking area is quite small, but we did not have a problem finding a spot while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmama753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

A small family run hotel, warm hospitality, beautiful views of the fjord.
Stayed for one night in July, and was not enough, longing to be back there as soon as one can.
Nice little town to walk around.
The hotel a little slightly steep walk from the jetty where we got down from the express boat from Bergen.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the fjord
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews