We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly shabby Grande Dame”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Although a bit worn around the edges (e.g. scratched doors, plastic plants) staying in this hotel, with it's perfect locale, is a real treat. Fantastic fjord views from guest rooms and especially the huge dining room. Lavish buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbowein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 847 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Fjord Travel Norway package, so I can't refer to the price of the accomodation or meals. We stayed in the modern wing, which was fine and we had a nice view. The common areas of the historic hotel are very nice, the staff is attentive, and we enjoyed dining at a table by the windows. I looked at some of the more critical reviews before writing, and those comments did not reflect our experience. We enjoyed our stay, and expect that you will as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pug-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this fine hotel. It has a great location right on the Sognefjord. The restaurant is very large with great views of the water from many angles. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Norway. Excellent variety and quality. The room quality in the new wing was very good with a balcony. The hotel is very convenient to the ferry and harbor where alot of activities originate. Parking is a little tight, so keep your spot and walk.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a fjord view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved this hotel! We recommend you stay in the historic part of the hotel with a fjord view. The buffet dinner was excellent. The best buffet that we have ever had. The hotel is located right where the ferry docks.

Room Tip: We recommend you stay in the historic part of the hotel with a fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a wonderful week in Kviknes Hotel in late May. I was with my 90 year old mother and we both loved it here. The staff were very friendly, the evening buffet was delicious and we loved sitting in the historic lounges with their paintings and carved furniture. I had the bike and hike package and enjoyed some cycling and hiking in the spectacular surroundings while my mother enjoyed the beauty and peace of Balestrand and sitting on the Kviknes hotel terrace in the sunshine with its amazing views overlooking the fjord. Had a great bike and very nice to cycle along the road beside the lovely small Esefjord. Can't wait to come again to Balestrand and this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Balestrand is beautiful and there are hiking trails in the area. We arrived in the late afternoon and walked for about an hour through the town. Hotel has nice grounds and views and location can be a good base for day trips to nearby areas.
Our room in the new building was a good size with a balcony looking over the fjord on the west side, we enjoyed the sun and beautiful views. The decor is dated and the bathroom needs shampoo, soap, lotion and other small items one would expect in the hotel of this class. However, the plate of fresh fruit with a welcome note was a very nice touch that we appreciated.
Service at the front desk and in the dining room was highly professional and extremely helpful - the best experience we had in Norway. Dinner buffet is excellent although pricey, although not our preferred choice this was a great experience and the food was very good. There are large tour groups but this is handled well and we were given a table in a smaller room away from the noise. Common areas with comfortable seating and a nice art collection are a great place to enjoy tea/coffee after dinner - which is what we did!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Kvikne's is a great hotel. I was initially put off by the sheer size and the horrible modern extension at the rear. And on occassion the sheer number of people can also be off-putting. However, the benefits outweigh that.
It must be said that I use this hotel for groups (classic car tours) of up to 36 people. I have stayed here 3 times. I do think this hotel is more suited to those travelling with friends or a group rather than as a couple.
The old building is stunning and the rooms there are beautiful. Having said that the rooms in the modern part are large, well designed and have great views, from either side of the building.
The buffet is incredible - so much variety and very, very good quality - and all delicious. Superb meats and amazing seafood and fish. It is really hard to have a buffet of this size - yet it is all very well laid out and all excellent. And the restaurant manager and staff - wow they are slick and professional. Excellent service.
This is a very well-run hotel and very popular. Yes, there are coach tours here, but they are avoidable. Eat late to miss them!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
415 reviews
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: $208 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing